We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of Hotel Isla de Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Isla de Cuba
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid tour. The hotel is in a good location and has no elevator, so be prepared to carry all of your luggage upstairs. Our room was large enough and clean, had air conditioning and a TV, but it was quite noisy, with loud music playing across the street until about 10 or 11pm. We found the staff friendly enough, though did not need to have much interaction with them. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meagsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
2
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was perfectly fine, there was air conditioning, a TV, good pressure in the hot shower and it was clean.

However the roof balcony closed at 7.

The staff were what made this place so awful. We needed help to make a phone call, and they would not let us use the hotel phone, nor would they recommend or suggest how else we made a call. The cleaner tried to charge us a CUC to make a call off a payphone(would have cost 1/24th of this). Then when we asked for a taxi at 1am to the coach station it arrived early, then did not arrive when we asked. The staff were so rude and lazy and unhelpful.

I would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisOdessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camaguey hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is located in walking distance to the centre, it is quiet and has a big, colourful lobby. The rooms are clean with A/C and hot and cold water in the bathrooms, but dark and not charming (windows could not be opened). The breakfast buffet is average. The staff is friendly and they have internet access in the hotel. Good value for money, but not much atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel 2 nights as part of a tour.
The room was a twin room, but not big enough for two seperate beds, so we had problems shutting the door.
The room had no windows and no bed lights, only a light bulb in the ceiling.
A/C worked and the bathroom was clean and all fine.
I was on top floor, so I wasn't bothered by the street noise.
Breakfast was aweful. Stale bread, the mango juice was most def off and staff could not be bothered to serve advertised eggs, not even upon request. They would rather just stand there talking to eachother, drinking coffee.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayah1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Would not recommend staying here as the bathroom was dirty (found a floating turd in the loo) and the staff were impolite and unhelpful. After complaining, our room was changed and it was marginally better. As other posters have mentioned the décor is dated and the place is not so well maintained. The AC unit was functioning but broken in places. I know this is a budget hotel, but wouldn't have expected such a poor level of service. The breakfast was poor (I got a little sick and so did other people in our tour group)- bread was stale, eggs didn't taste too good and other things generally had an off-ish taste (like the fruit).This place has so much potential as the rooms are a decent size as is the bathroom, but it needs some renovation. The staff could also do with a few lessons in hospitality. Agree that it's also on the noisy side (but this is partly to do with the location as it's centrally located).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JassiLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
347 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Make sure you bring your ear plugs as its a really really noisy hotel, regardless of what floor youre on!!!!!! The rooms are basic, small and in need of a full makeover. Its in a good location.

Room Tip: Very Noisy!! Maybe try to get a room on top floor or away from street (not sure thats possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I recently spent several nights here. The rooms are small, decor is older, noise filters in from the street (window openings in Cuba generally do not have glass) and the showers usually have warm water. But, the staff was friendly and helpful and the food was fine. All in all, once you consider the surrounding area and the other lodging options, this hotel is a good choice. I had a great stay and will be back for another week in the near future.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms help with the street level noise, but then you have to walk stairs to get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
57.8 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#7 of 11 in Camaguey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#4 of 11 in Camaguey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
313.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
310.9 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isla de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isla de Cuba

Property: Hotel Isla de Cuba
Address: San Esteban, No. 453 | esq. a Popular, Camaguey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Isla de Cuba 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Isla de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Isla De Cuba Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing