We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The better place to stay in Camaüey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camaguey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy
Ranked #38 of 46 Camaguey B&B and Inns
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“The better place to stay in Camaüey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Staying at Casa Ivan and Lucy was a fantastic experience. They both couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful across our stay, and their house was spotless and in a great location. We had two private rooms with air conditioning and a private bathroom. The homemade breakfast was delicious and huge. My family and I are so glad we chose to stay here rather than a hotel. It definitely made our visit to Camagüey more authentic and I so glad
to have met Ivan and Lucy. If we returned to Camaüey, of course we would choose this house again. We would like to thank them for their hospitality and a special greeting to the gentleman who attend the garden and home maintenance.
like to thank them for their hospitality and a special gr

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leog16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were allocated the top floor of the house which was rather luxurious to other casas we had stayed in. We had a lovely bathroom with a power shower and a huge sunken bath; I love a nice soak in the bath so I was instantly happy.
The bedroom was adequately & nicely furnished and the beds were very comfortable. Two nice terraces to sit on although we never had time to use them.

The maids are dressed in pink uniform (its a casa for goodness sake, not a five star hotel) and their purpose is very apparent...to service almost every need of the casa owners who clearly feel they are above the daily chores - that kinda left a bad taste in our mouths and made us feel like we were party to some kind of snobbish upperclass "slavery" !!

We weren't allocated a key to the house so had to ring the bell to be let in which made us feel uncomfortable about staying out too late. Upon arriving back to the casa at night you weren't made to feel particularly welcome, a kinda icy silence greeted you.

Breakfast was serviced by the uniformed maid in the outside courtyard whilst under heavy scrutiny by the lady of the house! the court yard is pretty and houses many caged birds which makes a tranquil setting for breakfast.

All in all we had a comfortable stay, its not an overly friendly place by any means but nor is it hostile, if you want to use this casa for a nice clean, comfortable stay and just come and go as you please from a convenient location then casa Ivan & Lucy will fit the bill.
Restaurante 1800 in the plaza of San Juan de Dios offers good quality meals at very reasonable prices all day long so you aren't compelled to eat at Ivans y Lucys.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoonyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This casa is well situated for the city centre, 5 min walk.Although the room which comprises the entire top floor was very clean & spacious and the food was excellent and plentiful with friendly and helpful staff we have mixed feelings about this casa because of the indifference of the hosts and the fact that you are locked in and have to ask to go out, you are not offered a key.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Though the room upstairs was spacious, clean and well enough equiped, the atmosphere in the casa was not pleasant: friendly welcome by the maid, correct by the owners - no help with the luggage on a difficult staircase - front door permanently closed, so someone had to open it every time when we were going in or out - long wait before front door was opened when arriving at 9.15 PM (and there was no maid available) - door of 'private' terrace was locked around 8 PM and not opened before 8 AM. Because of this unfriendly atmosphere we took no meals except breakfast, which was ok. The great advantage of this casa is its situation very near the town centre (other casas in Camagüey tend to be situated at a considerable distance). However, the 'neutral' attitude of the owners and the fact of being denied a free entrance to the room and the terrace caused a certain 'prison-feeling'.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were in March 2012 there and we can not recommend it, because they claimed a horrible price for washing some of our clothes (about 30 CUC for 20 parts!!!). Our mistake was, that we didn´t talk about the price for cleaning before.
The room itself was nice but noisy. Breakfast and dinner were good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We only stayed one night in this casa whilst in transit, and the family were wonderful. The room and bathroom were top notch, and it's a 5 minute walk into the centre of town. We had to get up really early the next morning and the family made us a very early breakfast which was superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniabalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camaguey hotels
0.0 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#6 of 11 in Camaguey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#3 of 11 in Camaguey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#2 of 11 in Camaguey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy

Property: Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy
Address: Alegria # 23 / Ignacio Agramonte y Montera, Camaguey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Camaguey
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing