We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Hotel but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chic Hotel but very noisy”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was traveling by myself and stayed at this hotel on March 2014

The minus and it is a very big minus: I cannot give this hotel a good review because of the constant noise at night. There are bands playing in the plaza until midnight and there is a bar across the street on "Republica" that plays electronic music until 2:00 am in the morning. If you cannot sleep at night everything else goes out of the window.

The hotel manager was rude. I was trying to make a local call. (I speak Spanish fluently). There was a phone in the room but no phone service. I asked the manager how to make a call. He told me to go up front (just like that, no more details). So I went up front to the restaurant and they told me there was no phone service out of the hotel. I came back to the manager and then he told me to go across the street to the "Santa Maria" hotel. Which turned out to be a lie, because they also told me there was no phone service out of the hotel. All the interaction with the hotel manager was without him looking at my face. I ended up buying a phone card and making calls from the public phones.

The staff of the restaurant were clueless how to provide good service. (This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel)


Hotel decoration: It is very nicely decorated in a colonial style.

Rooms: My room had two big beds with plenty of room. There is a very nice tile floor. There was hot water but when you were showering the hot water would go away and then would come right back. The AC was ok. (no complaints). Although the weather was nice so I cannot tell when the weather is real hot how it will function.

Room Tip: There are only about 10 rooms in this hotel and I could hear the noise wherever I went in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    36
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
19
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Renovated some two years ago, the entrance was through the dining area at the front. this took us into a small courtyard area, where we enjoyed a refreshing drink. Our room was in this courtyard...Room two...whilst it was all decorated in a chic fashion with lots of wrought iron work, our room on the ground floor was noisy, no window as it was straight onto a pedestrian street only, so we got the noisy from late night/early morning revellers passing. ( I appreciate this is an old colonial building, and not all rooms have windows ).....It felt airless despite affective air conditioning if kept running. No chairs at all,, Positive aspects of the room were it was a reasonable size with double bed, TV, safe, blankets and plenty of hot water.
The dining experience was nothing special, be prepared for a wait as all food is prepared fresh as ordered...breakfast was average, but evening dinner didn't come anywhere near too expectations one might have for such an establishment.....although the location was great as you could watch the world go by....Well presented front of house, looking directly onto square, immaculately set tables, staff pleasant and polite with impeccable etiquette manners....Very little English spoken

Room Tip: Try to obtain an upstairs room, even with the steps up, it appears more conducive to what I would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The plusses: This is a small, centrally located hotel with ten rooms that are beautifully restored. The building has a very colonial feel and the furnishings are done in style with wrought iron lamps. Rooms look out over the square with a lot of activity and the beautiful church of the Soledad. The rooms all have a balcony and a little table with two chairs. The rooms and bathrooms are quite spacious with clay tile floors.
There is no official parking nearby but we were able to squeeze our car in a spot just opposite the entrance, and paid a guard to keep an eye on it during the night.
The minusses: The 10 rooms are all on the first floor, which requires a steep staircase to get to, and no elevator. Because it is on a busy corner there is music coming from all directions, and this can be quite nosiy. Double rooms have one bed that is quite narrow. Such a shame because there is plenty of room to put a king size bed. Lighting is sparse and it is difficult to read a book in bed. No chairs to sit on inside the room, only a small stool. The room has shutters, but no windows, so daytime airco means sitting in the dark. No stool for luggage. No hot water in the shower.
The hotel restaurant serves nice food, but I noticed that all unused cutlery (or at least that looks unused) remains on the table for the next guests. I sure hope that is not the case with their towels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed there on February 2013.On the plus side, this small hotel is centrally located in walking distance from all the charming places of Camaguey, overlooking a square which at the time we arrrived was under reconstruction.The hotel is a renovated historical building,with a charming,well decorated main entrance- restaurant, a small patio and a few tables on the street. Οur room was rather small,without any character,without a window,but it was very clean and everything was in a good condition.Breakfast was usual,tasteful but nothing special,eggs made in different ways,juice,toast with marmelade,coffee.So,we could say that this is a good hotel,nothing special and very expensive,unlike other hotels we stayed during our 35 day travel in Cuba.But the real problem was none of the mentioned above.The second day,when we returned to the hotel in the afternoon, after a drive to Santa Lucia,we found out that our things were packed during our absence,and were transfered to another nearby hotel!!Hotel manager told us very naturally that there had been a mistake in the reservation system,despite the fact that we had made a reservation about a month ago and we had payed in advance and despite the fact that the previous day when we checked in everything was ok! Apparently, a small group of tourists had just arrived,so it was preferable to throw us out in order to lose a better bargain.To be fare,we were send to Grand Hotel,where we were given a suite whith no extra money,they offered us a bottle of wine which we refused,but this is not the point.If we had known the situation in advance,we would not probably cause any problem,but we were left whith no option,and most of all ,we would have packed our luggage ourselves.We think it was a big indescretion from their side and a really annoying lack of professionalism.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikonas1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camaguey hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a tour around Cuba and it was without doubt the nicest hotel we stayed in. Clean, comfortable, good sized rooms, lovely balcony overlooking the square perfect for watching the world go by. Really friendly staff who were very helpful. You can use the pool at a nearby hotel if you show your room key. The breakfast was standard Cuban fare, but good. Didn't eat here at night, but all in all definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We loved this hotel, is has bags of charm, was very clean, had a superb bathroom and lovely balcony overlooking one of the main squares in Camaguey. We also ate at the hotel and really enjoyed our evening meal - good food well prepared. The fruit juice on offer with breakfast is only papaya juice - OK if you like it, personally I don't and would have liked the option of orange juice. The only minor problem was as commented on by other people the bed had single sheets on a double bed! Good strong hot shower with plenty of water - always a bonus in Cuba. Taking all into account this was probably our favourite hotel on this holiday - we also found the staff to be pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 6 had double access on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneandNye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Location is literally right in the centre of town - drawback - no parking. However the rooms are delightful. Huge room with lovely furniture and fittings and lovely bathroom with great fittings and nice towels and toiletries. We had 2 rooms - we were in #5 and our daughters in #4. I suspect #5 is the best in the house, it has two double doors leading onto a narrow balcony overlooking the square.
The only drawback is noise. As it fronts a square there seemed to be a coomotion late at night -presumably around closing time just after midnight and then there was plenty of noise again around 6.00 in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Islazul Hotel Colon
#6 of 11 in Camaguey
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 11 in Camaguey
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 11 in Camaguey
12 reviews
34.3 mi away
Hotel E La Sevillana
Hotel E La Sevillana
#4 of 11 in Camaguey
4 reviews
57.6 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel E Camino de Hierro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Camino de Hierro

Property: Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Address: Plaza de la Solidaridad No.76, e/ Maceo y Republica, Camaguey 70200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel E Camino de Hierro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel E Camino de Hierro Hotel - built in the XVIII century and located in the former Plaza de la Soledad, now Plaza de la Solidaridad, also known as Plaza del Gallo, which used to be the place where the main train lines converged, this fact, is the origin of the hotel name. The place offers a warm atmosphere enhanced by beautiful artistic and architectonic values that make it ideal for individual clients and tour programs. Accommodation 10 rooms (8 with three quarters beds and 2 with personal beds). All rooms have air conditioning, hairdryer, phone, mini bar and satellite TV. Nearby places of interest Parish of Nuestra Señora de la Soledad: 60 mts Birth place of the poet Gertrudis Gómez de Avellaneda: 150 mts Birth place of the National Poet Nicolás Guillén: 300 mts San Juan de Dios Square: 500 mts Museum Ignacio Agramonte: 600mts Santa Lucía beach: 120 km ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel E Camino de Hierro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel E Camino De Hierro Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing