We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islazul Hotel Colon
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was a delightful hotel,the only drawback being the very small room,like one of the other reviewers we had problem with the flushing system of the toilet,which we discovered was held together by string, the handyman just tied it up again,problem solved. The eating and drinking areas were very nice,and open. Although only there for one night it was probably the nicest hotel on the whole tour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I'm glad we stayed here - it was a local hotel with all of the "old Cuba" charm that the big hotels miss. The hotel is "Colonial" with an amazing old fashioned "wooden" reception/bar area. On arrival we got cold towels and a mojito!! Rooms are for the most part located around a central open courtyard and from the first floor you look down onto the bar area/restaurant area. You also then look up at the sky!!

We had room 212 which was absolutely tiny - any smaller and you'd have to sleep standing up. The beds pretty much filled up the room - it had an A/c that was located round a corner but was effective enough. Furniture was dated. There was also a mini fridge - but we could not get it working. Windows were very small and as a result the room was "dark". Regardless it was fun and the beds were comfy enough. There were no tea/coffee facilities.

Toilet/shower was also very small - water was warm but with little pressure. As the room was just above the bar/restaurant and you could hear a bit of noise from it. We had rocking chairs just outside the room on the on the verandah and it was a great place to "chill". Dinner and breakfast were buffet style with limited choice - they were not that great, however. I was not bothered by noise as I always use ear plugs - but the cockerels did wake me up at 4.00 am!!

The bar was very efficient and I found all of the staff to be friendly/helpful.

We did not do any of the "bicycle" tours but just walked out the hotel, turned right and went up the street to the first corner and went into the local bar on the opposite corner. Beer was 1CUC!!

All in all a quaint, botique hotel with lots of character and a pleasant change from the large hotels we stayed in. We stayed a night - any more could be a problem as you can't lay much of you clothes out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel. It is amazing, situated in the centre of the town, right on the street.Step across the threhold and you enter a time warp. We were greeted with cool refreshing face towels and a welcome cocktail. The service was excellent The rooms are built around an open courtyard where you can relax, have a cocktail or just eat. Very relaxing...a real haven . There was a good selection of food at both buffet breakfast and dinner. It was lovely taking your meals in the courtyard. The rooms are very high but very small...almost cell like but ideal for a night. They have everything you need and it all wotrked !!They overlook the courtyard and this adds to the attraction.
It was great to have visited this hotel and seen just how quaint it was.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent and the first impressions are very favourable. The room we had was disappointing. We were expecting a small room so that was OK but the toilet didn't work properly and it was fairly obvious that this was an ongoing problem as when we phoned to say the cistern wasn't refilling after flushing the maintenance man was there within 5 minutes each time. I think it is unacceptable to put guests in rooms when something as basic as that has not been sorted out. Only one electrical socket so had to choose between the air con and the fridge.
Other than that the bar in the courtyard is very pleasant for a quiet drink and the breakfast was good. It's an easy stroll to the town from here.

Room Tip: There are (according to guide books) some larger rooms.... could be worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackys014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Hotel Colon has a great location in Camaguey and for that alone it is worth staying here. As others have said the rooms are small and the air conditioning noisy, so not for a week long stay, but for one or two nights its adequate.
The bathroom door did not close, but of the 8 places we stayed in Cuba we had only one fully functional bathroom door.
It's not great, but you will share your (not bad) experience of this hotel for years to come.

The visit to Cameguey was topped by our best meal in Cuba in the '1800' ...... Go there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catgshropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is a very atmospheric old hotel with lovely public areas. Amongst our group the rooms soon became known as 'cells', yes they are tiny. We must have been lucky because our air-con was modern & quiet, bathroom & shower were fine too. The only noise we heard was from the trains that run nearby, the drivers seemed to love using the horns but ear plugs took care of that. Good location in large and very 'Cuban' town.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Stayed in Rm 214, one of the rooms off of the hotel's courtyard. Room was small with two single beds, en-suite, TV and air conditioning. No space to unpack our cases but as we were only staying one night this was not too much of an inconvenience. Although small it had an very high ceiling. The window overlooked the walkway around the atrium so if the shutters were open other guests could look in, though not many guests passed due to our room location.
Buffet style evening meal and breakfast, food was okay although some of our group found the choice limiting. On the ground floor of the courtyard was a sitting area with the bar alongside. Noise did travel up to our room but did not disturb us as much as the cockrel did at three in the morning, (nothing to do with the hotel though). No lifts were at this hotel so porters carried our cases to the relevant rooms, very helpful.
As a one night stay this hotel was okay but I would think twice about a long stay.

Room Tip: No tips for a better room although the ones along the corridor might be slighty quieter but cannot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.1 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 12 in Camaguey
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#4 of 12 in Camaguey
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 12 in Camaguey
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.5 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel E La Avellaneda
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 12 in Camaguey
20 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#37 of 52 in Camaguey
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Colon

Address: Republica 472, Camaguey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islazul Hotel Colon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Islazul Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Colon Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing