We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cuban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islazul Hotel Colon
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Cuban”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was a fascinating hotel and one if you are travelling around Cuba you must stay at. Its old the rooms are small but you will never stay in a more Cuban Hotel. Food selection was very limited, what we had was good. The courtyard for an after dinner drink was lovely. A lovely old character hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendshipSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    73
    105
    52
    29
See reviews for
29
131
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

The lobby of the hotel is spacious and beautiful. That's all the positive to tell. Staff was not interested, parking needed to be paid additionally, the rooms were incredibly small, not clean, filled with worn down furniture and noisy (airco and traffic). Unfortunately, there is not much better to get in Camaguey. The Gran Hotel is marginally better. We stayed one night as stop-over on our way to the east of the island. If it's not strictly necessary, don't stay in this town or pick a casa particulares.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IrisWevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camaguey hotels

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

this hotel is a real experience. Situated on one of the main thoroughfares you enter through quite a small doorway into a magical reception area ,tiny in comparison with a small bar area. You walk along a narrow passageway to find yourself in a delightful courtyard with table and chairs all around and also another bar. Across the way is the small buffet restaurant which is very basic but adequate. Food is acceptable. Rooms are situated on the ground and first floors and from the latter you look down onto the courtyard. The rooms are tiny, in fact they are larger floor to ceiling than wall to wall. They have a shower room and also safes, although ours was broken. We were only there for 1 night and I think that would be enough.it is a place that you must experience.

Room Tip: don't forget to get your cold towel and free mojito on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. We were lucky to have been given a corner room on the backside of the first floor. This room was not as small as the others (for which we were prepared after reading the Tripadvisor comments). Besides, the hotel is clean, service is good. Breakfast was rather poor, compared to those served in casas particulares.
This hotel made a better impression on us than the Gran Hotel, in which we had lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik-1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was a delightful hotel,the only drawback being the very small room,like one of the other reviewers we had problem with the flushing system of the toilet,which we discovered was held together by string, the handyman just tied it up again,problem solved. The eating and drinking areas were very nice,and open. Although only there for one night it was probably the nicest hotel on the whole tour.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
991 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I'm glad we stayed here - it was a local hotel with all of the "old Cuba" charm that the big hotels miss. The hotel is "Colonial" with an amazing old fashioned "wooden" reception/bar area. On arrival we got cold towels and a mojito!! Rooms are for the most part located around a central open courtyard and from the first floor you look down onto the bar area/restaurant area. You also then look up at the sky!!

We had room 212 which was absolutely tiny - any smaller and you'd have to sleep standing up. The beds pretty much filled up the room - it had an A/c that was located round a corner but was effective enough. Furniture was dated. There was also a mini fridge - but we could not get it working. Windows were very small and as a result the room was "dark". Regardless it was fun and the beds were comfy enough. There were no tea/coffee facilities.

Toilet/shower was also very small - water was warm but with little pressure. As the room was just above the bar/restaurant and you could hear a bit of noise from it. We had rocking chairs just outside the room on the on the verandah and it was a great place to "chill". Dinner and breakfast were buffet style with limited choice - they were not that great, however. I was not bothered by noise as I always use ear plugs - but the cockerels did wake me up at 4.00 am!!

The bar was very efficient and I found all of the staff to be friendly/helpful.

We did not do any of the "bicycle" tours but just walked out the hotel, turned right and went up the street to the first corner and went into the local bar on the opposite corner. Beer was 1CUC!!

All in all a quaint, botique hotel with lots of character and a pleasant change from the large hotels we stayed in. We stayed a night - any more could be a problem as you can't lay much of you clothes out.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Whilst I have to rate the hotel as poor, in international traveller terms, it is however an absolutely amazing experience, not to be missed if you would like to feel you've had a taste of real Cuba. Indeed, if you've read some of the accounts of travellers to Cuba in the 1880s, you'll feel you are experiencing some of what they did. You are off the main tourist trail here, and our Havana Tours guide told us that the company has tried all the hotels in Camaguey and found that this is the best, so for the last two years has only used this one. The design is pure Colonial, unchanged, with most rooms arranged, on two floors, around an open, colonnaded square: from the first floor you look down onto the bar area with enclosed restaurant behind it - and you look up above the columns to the sky. As a result it's shaded and airy in hot weather - but must be a very different experience in the rain! The dinner and breakfast buffets were simple, with limited choice as expected in a small hotel, but surprisingly good. The rooms are very small, very shabby, very old in furnishings with antiquated en suites. There is a choice between: noisy air conditioning; a very hot room; or an open window to let in some air (and probably mosquitoes) along with the noise of passing freight trains and a very loud cockerel who doesn't seem to realise he's in a city. There is more noise from the two bar areas: voices talking and calling, cupboards clacking; feet resounding - all echo into the rooms - even those off the first floor corridor as the open flag- hung wells in the corridor deflect the sounds upwards. It went quiet around midnight (apart from trains) and re- started around 6 pm with staff making breakfast preparations. Most guests gave up, and got up around 6.30am. So, unless you are a very heavy sleeper you won't get a good night's sleep, but it will be in a hotel with great character and friendly staff. Take ear plugs, DEET, a travel plug for the wash basin and your own shampoo and bath gel. It is the only place in Cuba we were advised not to go out after dark, the streets are narrow and complicated (originally designed as a protection against pirate incursions inland) and some months earlier a tourist had her bag snatched by bicycle riders. But do go out in a bici-taxi for a day time tour - that's not to be missed.

Room Tip: Can't recall a lift, so if you don't do stairs, ask for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamb00zled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.2 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#3 of 11 in Camaguey
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
47 reviews
57.5 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
165.5 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,304 reviews
34.3 mi away
Hotel E La Sevillana
Hotel E La Sevillana
#4 of 11 in Camaguey
4 reviews
170.7 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Colon

Property: Islazul Hotel Colon
Address: Republica 472, Camaguey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islazul Hotel Colon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Islazul Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Colon Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing