We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$106
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
4
21
47
52
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
21
47
52
40
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Hotel is far away from the historic city center and not easy to find in the darkness. Hotel and room have been in a reasonable clean & good condition.
Nice lounge / bar with acceptable food for diner.
I have seen only a single lift to reach the upper floors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fritz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Room was ok, but located on the streetside which generated quite some noise that disturbed our sleep. The restaurant is a dump which serves food that we did not enjoy at all. They have an internet PC in the lobby, but do not sell the card needed to use it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Hotel Camaguey of Islazul chain could be a good efficient 3 stars hotel if it was not that far from the center. It is located by the national highway in the outskirts of the historic city. The rooms are acceptable and the food also efficient. BUT the noise of the highway does not stop not a minute and 500 metres away is the railway line were noisy trains pass at around 4 AM. We had very difficult night .

Room Tip: Try a hotel in the city center or at least ask rooms in the back side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here as part of a 10-day Cuban tour and it was definitely the worst hotel we stayed in. The building was an ugly concrete block reminiscent of former Soviet bloc countries and the pool was so full of locals there wasn't room for any hotel residents to get in, let alone swim. Our room was small, scruffy and dark, with an ancient and noisy air-con unit fitted into the bottom of the window, thereby blowing onto the face of the person sleeping in the bed nearest to it.
The hotel appeared to be almost empty and there was a eerie atmosphere in the corridors. Dinner and breakfast were not buffet style, presumably due to the lack of guests, and there was a choice of 2 options for each. Breakfast was omelette or cheese and ham sandwich made of thick slices of white bread, dinner was a choice of chicken or pork with, you've guessed, rice and beans. The air-con in the "dining room" was so fierce I needed a cardigan! I really wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Don't go here!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in the hotel as part of a Cuba tour. There is not a lot of good to be said of this old roun down hotel. The pool was crowded with locals an very dirty, There is not a real garden just some grass around the hotel. The rooms are mediocre with have a balcony (without a pretty view). The restaurant is hardly deserves that name. We all had stomach trouble the following days. The only plus might be the small bar with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews