We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aternative to a Casa Particular for solo travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Islazul Hotel Plaza
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you are a single traveler.
Will it be cheaper to live in this hotel, than a Casa Particular.
Since the price is from 19 to 20 CUC a night., including breakfast.
Think it is over 30 cuc for a couple.

This is a old hotel , but big rooms and even if you travel alone will you get a double room.
AC, television, before could I get some foreign channels , but in my last visit, was I told the satellite was down, maybe it is permanent . you get normal Cuban channels.
And also a refrigerator in some room..
So don't expect to much for so cheap price.

The snack bar open to around midnight, has some food and it is cheap, like 1.30 cuc for a ham and cheese sandwich. Good enough ..
And the restaurant has also cheap food, like a 1/4 chicken with french fires for 2.60 cuc.
I could take my plate to my room....

Has also this dark piano bar, with cheap drinks..
It is also a small store there.

Just outside the hotel is the outdoor railway station cafeteria, open 24 hours...
Has also cheap beer and drinks , and cheap simple food.

Just outside the hotel to the right is the meeting place for private taxis, they will always ask you..Remember to bargain.
This hotel is little outside the main downtown.
But if you go to the railway station cafeteria can you walk down this main street Republica, with a lot of stores, bars, restaurants...Will take you little more than 10 minutes to walk down to where the main city core are, with restaurant and disco is Plaza de guia and plaza de trabadores..
Or take a Bicycle taxi from Railway station cafeteria down the road to one the Plaza for 1 to 2 cuc..

A cheap hotel with cheap simple food, located little outside city core.
And it can be some noise form the street, or the lobby bar or when a train comes into town.
My rating is mostly based on what value you get from your money..
In high season when some Casa particulars want to charge you 25 cuc or higher, is this a good alternative if you are a single traveler.

In my review about Hotel Isla de Cuba, will I tell more about where to eat and go out in Camaguey. .
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrismic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part if a tour package and although it has obviously seen better times and was very clean it needs a complete refurbishment and moving into the town centre . There were only 4 others staying there when we did despite it being a large hotel and this was reflected in the food and service generally although the staff did do their best.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djne11026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

No charm, way outdated furniture and decor, clean bedsheets, but bed spread has not taken care for a while, markings on the wall, basic clean-up of the room. My single room was facing internal hall - very noisy. Staff were very friendly and willing to help. Markings, dirt and cracks in the corridors and communal areas.
Travel agent in the lobby had "no" answer to any question for a potential options of daily activity. And this is the region which needs tourist investment far more than Trinidad or Havana...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

You can tell this used to be a great hotel, but that was probably 80 years ago. These days it's a little seedy, a little rundown, and not up to first world standards. Food is as bland as elsewhere in Cuba, but plentiful. Water is not safe to drink. The elevator is for baggage only. Expect to climb stairs. No Internet access of any kind. Still it's clean, air conditioned, and central (not that central Camaguey is a major tourist destination). There seem to be better hotels in Camaguey, but if you have to be here, this hotel suffices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed a part night waiting for a plane as part of a sunwing tour. It is not a place for a good nights sleep for sure as the train whistle does blow on a regular basis. The place had a decent buffet meal and our room was okay with 2 small beds and appeared rather clean and everything worked not much different than the resort we stayed at. Lots of people hanging around the train station but did not appear to be causing any problems. I stood around outside for awhile giving away some clothing items I had to people who appeared to need them the most. I did not feel threatened in anyway. If you are tired and need a place to lay your head you could likely do much worse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTMres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed one night while driving across Cuba. Hotel rather worn and run down, but the price wasn't more than a casa, so then I guess it's to be expected. They had satellite with a range of US channels, incl HBO. So good if you want to watch a movie. The location is a bit of a walk away from the city centre, but it is very convenient for the train station (just opposite). If you're having breakfast, try their snack bar/restaurant on the corner: good food and extremely cheap compared to rest of Cuba!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oslostudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Not the best place i stayed on a recent trip to Cuba. The hotel had a seedy atmosphere and we were warned not to go into the all night piano bar after dark, as it's a haunt for local prostitutes. However, two of us (both female, in our 30s) did venture in during the day, assuming it would be alright in daylight. It was dark, with curtains drawn, and was clearly no better by day than by night, although as the prostitutes hadn't arrived yet, the chaps in there were pleased to see us - we got our Tu Kolas and fled!

I agree the water pressure was iffy, but after two days' camping, at least it was hot!

Stayed: March 2009
2  Thank TheBlackWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camaguey hotels
0.8 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#6 of 12 in Camaguey
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel E La Sevillana
Hotel E La Sevillana
#4 of 12 in Camaguey
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 12 in Camaguey
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy
Casa Hostal Ivan & Lucy
#37 of 52 in Camaguey
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Particular Miriam Guerra
0.9 mi away
Casa de Alba Ferras
Casa de Alba Ferras
#40 of 52 in Camaguey
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Plaza

Address: Calle Van Horne No. 1 e/ Republica y Avellaneda, Camaguey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range: £29 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islazul Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Islazul Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Plaza Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing