We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden of Eden in Santiago de Cuba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roy's Terrace Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roy's Terrace Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Scharbeutz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garden of Eden in Santiago de Cuba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My short review about this wonderful casa in Santiago de Cuba.

I stay 2 whole months in Cuba as a backpacking tourist, so that I reach Santiago at the end of my trip.

I was very glad that a family in Camaguey act as a broker, so that I find this lovely casa.
When I reach Santiago with the Viazul, a taxi driver bring a friend and me to the casa in the heart of Santiago de Cuba. It's very central and every important tourist feature (sign) it's nearby. Boulevard, Casa de la trova, casa de la musica, you just need 2-4 minutes to reach the places. So it's perfect if you want to go out in the evening.

The owner of the casa (Yisel & Martin) are very lovely and allways willing to help you. If you have any question or any problem, you can speak with them. So the service is quiet perfect.

The accomoodation is quiet good. In every Room you have 2 bed, an air conditioner and a beautiful bathroom with a hot water shower. In front of your house u have an internal courtyard where you can sit, relax, read a book or do somethign else.

But the most amazing place in this casa is the roof top patio (terace), which you reach by stairs. It's on top of the house and looks like a gardin. You have a small waterspout fountain and flowers everywhere, so that you can escape from the metropolitan jungle. You have 3-4 tables and chairs and a great bar, so that you get the feeling of a restaurant. I really enjoy every breakfast, every coffee i take in this wonderful place. I often invite some friends to take dinner with us, which wasn't a problem for Yisel. She offers us the best food, which i get in Santiago de Cuba! After that we relax there and drink some Cuba Libre.
Breakfast you can take whenever you want, you just tell Yisel or Martin the time and they will handle it for you!

In the end, I'm very glad , get to know Yisel & Martin and the whole family and I hope to stay there one day in the future. But if i come back to Cuba and especially to Santiago de Cuba, CASA YISEL is my first adress!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ForrestFunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyPerez, Owner at Roy's Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear ForrestFunk,

Thank you for taking some time to write about Hostal Las Terazas (aka Hostal Martin y Gisel). It is indeed very rewarding that you have shared all the good experiences you had at our house.

It is a perfect reason for keeping up the hard work that yields always nice feedback like yours.

Many thanks.

We really hope to have you staying at our hostel again some day soon.

Best regards,

Hostal Las Terrazas Team, Santiago de Cuba (aka Hostal Martin y Gisel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    30
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
55
197
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room was adequate with a window into the patio area where the washing machine is, so keep the curtains closed. The shower is a drizzle but adequate. It is a bit noisy from next door's cockeral. We can highly recommend the breakfast and the dinner was of good proportions served on the roof top patio, overloooking the city. The hosts speak very good English but Spanish would help to communicate with the girls that work there. There is no toilet seat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Well_Travelled37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyPerez, Owner at Roy's Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear Well_Travelled37,

Many thanks for your nice review. We very much appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at our hostel.

We have recently done some refurbishing works, and our hostel is now more adecuate and comfortable.

We are very happy to know that your stay was nice and that, perhaps, that will make you come back some day.

Kind regards,

Hostal Las Terrazas Team, Santiago de Cuba (aka Hostal Martin y Gisel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We initially booked for 2 nights at the casa, and were informed that they were doing construction works. When we arrived, Martin informed us that unfortunately the people who had booked the room for the night before had not checked out, and that they could not lodge us that night. We had to stay at the casa opposite, and would have dinner and breakfast at Martin & Gisel.

While not on review here, the casa opposite does not have a private bathroom, and is pretty loomy.

Then for the second day, again, the people in "our room" were late checking out (checked out around 5 PM!) so we could only get in around 6 PM, the room had just been cleaned, and was very, very humid.

They didn't offer us any discount for not having honored the reservation as made and having only access to our room the second night after 6 PM.

You can feel the hosts get a lot of guests. They are courteous, but don't go out of their standard and don't go the extra length. Lots of courteous "standardized" answers where you can feel that they don't really care about what you're asking, but are there for you if you need them.

The good now, the food was to Cuban standards excellent, the hosts were friendly, beds were good.

I think we would have had a better stay if the construction works had not been ongoing and if our reservation had been honored. It would have had a "very good".

Room Tip: Difficult to say which room is best nowadays, as they were in construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuckyLuke_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyPerez, Owner at Roy's Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear LuckyLuke_wine,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write that review about our hostal, it definitely had an educative value as we were able to understand how things could have been done otherwise to accommodate your needs a lot better.

Now then, we are making a statement by letting you know that construction days are far behind in our hostal and refurbishing works have been made in order to improve our service and the overall experience of our guests.

We hope that you visit us again soon and see for yourself how much we have learned and how better our service is after your stay with us.

Many thanks.

Best regards,

Hostal Las terrazas Team, Santiago de Cuba (aka Hostal Martin y Gisel).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights over new year.
The food we had was amazing, the best in cuba by far!!!!!!
Martin and Gisel were lovely hosts and did their best to make our stay good.
The room was lovely and the ourdoor courtyard where we ate was beautiful, the room was spotlessly clean.
The only downside to our stay was they ran out of water on our second day meaning we could not shower or flush the toilet.
More water did arrive but as we were leaving so we had to get our bus very sweaty.
Overall and dispite the water incident i would recommend this casa.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niknoks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyPerez, Owner at Roy's Terrace Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear niknoks82,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice words about our hostel. The fact that the water insident didn't change your mind about us shows how well you felt at ours.

Many thanks and, please, know that we will be utterly pleased should you ever decide to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Hostal Las Terrazas Team, Santiago de Cuba (aka Hostal Martin y Gisel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
1.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
476.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,207 reviews
38.5 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roy's Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roy's Terrace Inn

Property: Roy's Terrace Inn
Address: Santa Rita 177, Santiago de Cuba 90100, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Martin y Gisel)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Roy's Terrace Inn and casas particulares, in Santiago de Cuba city center, you can stay in any of our four comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. You can also relax, have a delicious Cuban coffee, read your favorite book, have a drink or share with family and friends at our two terraces decorated with beautiful exotic plants, like a rain forest right in the heart of the city. Our main terrace is a convergence point for travelers of all nationalities, where you can enjoy our good breakfasts, our tasty Cuban traditional home-cooked food, the view, refreshing cocktails and Cuban music. Located in Santiago de Cuba city center, at only 4 min walk from main square Parque Céspedes, banks, ATM's, the cathedral, restaurants, bars, night clubs, art galleries, museums, local bus stops, markets and other city landmarks. We will make sure that your stay at our casa will be a memorable one, as we are delighted to make you feel at home. Stay with us and step into real Cuba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roy's Terrace Inn Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing