We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Azul,look no further!”
Review of Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Revfulop, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casa Azul,look no further!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Awesome place! This casa is cozy, modern, and close to the center. Norka, the host is very welcoming and helpful. The room is upstairs, with private spacious bathroom, and very cute balcony overlooking the inside yard and the street. We only tried breakfast there, but it was very delicious, and the atmosphere is so friendly in the little courtyard. I personally liked that the hosts were open and helpful, but did allow us to enjoy our privacy , unlike some other cuban curious hosts. I would definitely return , and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
81
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Highly recommend Casa Azul. Norka is a very helpful, welcoming, and professional host who has an attractive modern house situated within 5 minutes walk of Parque Cespedes. Our bedroom was reasonably quiet by Cuban (and city centre) standards. Decent food and unlike other casas we stayed in we didn't feel like everything was "measured", or that the casa owner was eager to sell us "extras" (tours, drinks etc). Instead we felt we received honest impartial advice from Norka which was conveyed in a genuinely enthusiastic manner. Norka's use of clear and uncomplicated Spanish aided our communication in light of our own very basic Spanish language skills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Like an oasis of calm in the midst of busy Santiago city centre we could retreat to a comfortable room with fan and cooler and wonderful meals. Norka was away when we arrived but her sister and friends looked after us until she returned just before we left. The courtyard was full of hanging plants and a lively parrot. We stayed for 5 nights as there was a lot to see in the city and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinkenszand, Holland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Casa Azul is well located to visit this city of music and dance.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. We parked our car in front of the neighbor who kept an eye on it.
Norka runs her casa with the help of her friends, all very kind and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are very good. They are served at the small and cozy courtyard of the house with lots of plants and a parrot. Norka put me on track of the great Santiago de Cuba-rum which she serves after dinner.
Norka, her friends and the house make you part of their family but give you privacy as well.
We enjoyed the very kind help of –English speaking- Nicole. She guided us through Santiago, showing us al lot and telling us about life in Cuba.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanssenRien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This casa is well situated, just 5 mins walk uphill to the centre of Santiago. A warm welcome from Nicole greeted us on arrival and it just got better from there. Norka invites you into her family with great affection. The food served in the courtyard garden was both excellent and plentiful, some of the best we had in Cuba. Although Norka has limited English, we managed to have long and interesting conversations after dinner accompanied by a shot of rum ( Nicole speaks excellent English). This casa is a modern gem, designed by the owner and is exceptionally clean and quiet.There is only one room so book early or you will miss staying at this gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here only for 2 nights but enjoyed our stay. Location wise it is excellent and only a stone's throw from Parque Cespedes. The casa is lovely and clean and has a wonderful terrace/garden area ( plus very cute parrot!). The food here was delicious and Norka was a fantastic and profession host, helping us with the orientation of the city by lending us maps and a guide book and informing us of rough taxi prices to various places. On our last morning, Norka packed us bananas for our bus journey and some Cuban cigars to take home. Served excellent coffee. We would recommend staying in this calm and artistic casa!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Staying at the Casa Azul was one of the most memorable times of our Cuba trip. Only a few blocks from the center of Santiago it was a wonderful place to retreat to after a day in the hustle and bustle of city life. A beautiful, green and tranquil oasis run by a wonderful woman who absolutely knows what she is doing. We had the privilege of being invited to spend Christmas Eve with Norka, her family and friends. An experience never to be forgotten - a thousand thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinhardmajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Cuba hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#10 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Girasol
Hostal Girasol
#1 of 40 in Santiago de Cuba
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Yoyi
Hostal Yoyi
#7 of 83 in Santiago de Cuba
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Azul

Property: Casa Azul
Address: Calle Jaguey 121 | Entre Padre Pico y Escudero, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Cuba
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing