We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house, great host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a wonderful Casa in a great location close to the main sights the city has to offer. My partner and I speak very little Spanish which we feel may have hindered us slightly, however all the Casa owners we stayed with made great efforts to overcome this barrier and Norka was no exception. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and the owners are clearly art lovers. The room is reasonably sized, impeccably clean and wonderfully cool after a day in the at times intense Santiago heat. We stayed here for three nights and twice had dinner which was prepared by Norka. The food was some of the best we ate in Cuba and Norka gave us plenty of choice in terms of the menu which was a welcome surprise. There is also a well stocked fridge outside the room which is incredibly helpful.
During our stay, Norka arranged two taxis for us, one to take us to Del Morro Fort and a nearby island (Cayo Granma) and one to the airport. On our last day, we had a late flight to catch and so we were at a bit of a loose end toward the end of the afternoon. However, Norka was not only kind enough to allow us to leave our bags at the Casa (fairly standard, I guess!) she also invited us to use all the facilities and even made us a coffee as we sat on the upstairs terrace waiting for the taxi. In short, our experience of Casa Azul was incredibly positive and we would not hesitate in recommending it to fellow travelers looking to sample the delights of Santiago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RDAD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
80
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Revfulop, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Awesome place! This casa is cozy, modern, and close to the center. Norka, the host is very welcoming and helpful. The room is upstairs, with private spacious bathroom, and very cute balcony overlooking the inside yard and the street. We only tried breakfast there, but it was very delicious, and the atmosphere is so friendly in the little courtyard. I personally liked that the hosts were open and helpful, but did allow us to enjoy our privacy , unlike some other cuban curious hosts. I would definitely return , and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Highly recommend Casa Azul. Norka is a very helpful, welcoming, and professional host who has an attractive modern house situated within 5 minutes walk of Parque Cespedes. Our bedroom was reasonably quiet by Cuban (and city centre) standards. Decent food and unlike other casas we stayed in we didn't feel like everything was "measured", or that the casa owner was eager to sell us "extras" (tours, drinks etc). Instead we felt we received honest impartial advice from Norka which was conveyed in a genuinely enthusiastic manner. Norka's use of clear and uncomplicated Spanish aided our communication in light of our own very basic Spanish language skills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Like an oasis of calm in the midst of busy Santiago city centre we could retreat to a comfortable room with fan and cooler and wonderful meals. Norka was away when we arrived but her sister and friends looked after us until she returned just before we left. The courtyard was full of hanging plants and a lively parrot. We stayed for 5 nights as there was a lot to see in the city and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinkenszand, Holland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Casa Azul is well located to visit this city of music and dance.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. We parked our car in front of the neighbor who kept an eye on it.
Norka runs her casa with the help of her friends, all very kind and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are very good. They are served at the small and cozy courtyard of the house with lots of plants and a parrot. Norka put me on track of the great Santiago de Cuba-rum which she serves after dinner.
Norka, her friends and the house make you part of their family but give you privacy as well.
We enjoyed the very kind help of –English speaking- Nicole. She guided us through Santiago, showing us al lot and telling us about life in Cuba.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanssenRien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This casa is well situated, just 5 mins walk uphill to the centre of Santiago. A warm welcome from Nicole greeted us on arrival and it just got better from there. Norka invites you into her family with great affection. The food served in the courtyard garden was both excellent and plentiful, some of the best we had in Cuba. Although Norka has limited English, we managed to have long and interesting conversations after dinner accompanied by a shot of rum ( Nicole speaks excellent English). This casa is a modern gem, designed by the owner and is exceptionally clean and quiet.There is only one room so book early or you will miss staying at this gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here only for 2 nights but enjoyed our stay. Location wise it is excellent and only a stone's throw from Parque Cespedes. The casa is lovely and clean and has a wonderful terrace/garden area ( plus very cute parrot!). The food here was delicious and Norka was a fantastic and profession host, helping us with the orientation of the city by lending us maps and a guide book and informing us of rough taxi prices to various places. On our last morning, Norka packed us bananas for our bus journey and some Cuban cigars to take home. Served excellent coffee. We would recommend staying in this calm and artistic casa!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
1.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#8 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Azul

Property: Casa Azul
Address: Calle Jaguey 121 | Entre Padre Pico y Escudero, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Cuba
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing