We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unforgettable experience”
Review of Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It is our second time at Casa Azul and really I advise you this accommodation if you visit Santiago.
The house as always was clean and we felt very comfortable. We appreciated a lot the food & the cocktails but especially the good times that we spent speaking with the owners Norka and her daughter Isabel in their marvellous courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisset_boggiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
81
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Norka and her daughter, supported by a maid, run this casa. We ended up here, because the casa we should have stayed (Casa Laudelina) was overbooked. Norka is very friendly and very helpful. She took the time to explain how everything works and what places are nice to visit in and around Santiago de Cuba. This was of great help for us. Breakfast is served in the patio and the casa looks fantastic. We can tell Norka loves art. Inside, it is not a typical Cuban casa, very modern, which is nice to experience. Although the bathroom is not actually in the room, it is a private bathroom. The room as well as the bathroom are very clean. Casa Azul is located just outside the busy center of Santiago de Cuba, close to Parque Céspedes. After all, we are more than happy the other casa was overbooked.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean-Marleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Set very close to the main plaza this is a pretty house with lovely rooms. Norka is a lovely host you helped us out with travel issues and things to do around the city. Rooms were large and clean, giving good value for the area. Its nice to have a quiet spot so central yet feeling away from he busy centre. The dinners are also very good with some generous portions, particularly the mountain of prawns we each had!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a wonderful Casa in a great location close to the main sights the city has to offer. My partner and I speak very little Spanish which we feel may have hindered us slightly, however all the Casa owners we stayed with made great efforts to overcome this barrier and Norka was no exception. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and the owners are clearly art lovers. The room is reasonably sized, impeccably clean and wonderfully cool after a day in the at times intense Santiago heat. We stayed here for three nights and twice had dinner which was prepared by Norka. The food was some of the best we ate in Cuba and Norka gave us plenty of choice in terms of the menu which was a welcome surprise. There is also a well stocked fridge outside the room which is incredibly helpful.
During our stay, Norka arranged two taxis for us, one to take us to Del Morro Fort and a nearby island (Cayo Granma) and one to the airport. On our last day, we had a late flight to catch and so we were at a bit of a loose end toward the end of the afternoon. However, Norka was not only kind enough to allow us to leave our bags at the Casa (fairly standard, I guess!) she also invited us to use all the facilities and even made us a coffee as we sat on the upstairs terrace waiting for the taxi. In short, our experience of Casa Azul was incredibly positive and we would not hesitate in recommending it to fellow travelers looking to sample the delights of Santiago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RDAD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revfulop, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Awesome place! This casa is cozy, modern, and close to the center. Norka, the host is very welcoming and helpful. The room is upstairs, with private spacious bathroom, and very cute balcony overlooking the inside yard and the street. We only tried breakfast there, but it was very delicious, and the atmosphere is so friendly in the little courtyard. I personally liked that the hosts were open and helpful, but did allow us to enjoy our privacy , unlike some other cuban curious hosts. I would definitely return , and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Highly recommend Casa Azul. Norka is a very helpful, welcoming, and professional host who has an attractive modern house situated within 5 minutes walk of Parque Cespedes. Our bedroom was reasonably quiet by Cuban (and city centre) standards. Decent food and unlike other casas we stayed in we didn't feel like everything was "measured", or that the casa owner was eager to sell us "extras" (tours, drinks etc). Instead we felt we received honest impartial advice from Norka which was conveyed in a genuinely enthusiastic manner. Norka's use of clear and uncomplicated Spanish aided our communication in light of our own very basic Spanish language skills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Like an oasis of calm in the midst of busy Santiago city centre we could retreat to a comfortable room with fan and cooler and wonderful meals. Norka was away when we arrived but her sister and friends looked after us until she returned just before we left. The courtyard was full of hanging plants and a lively parrot. We stayed for 5 nights as there was a lot to see in the city and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Cuba hotels
1.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#10 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#7 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Girasol
Hostal Girasol
#1 of 40 in Santiago de Cuba
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Azul

Property: Casa Azul
Address: Calle Jaguey 121 | Entre Padre Pico y Escudero, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Cuba
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing