We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

OMG was my first reaction upon seeing this hotel from a distance. In one way, its design is diametrically opposed to the Frank Lloyd Wright philosophy of architecture: it sticks out so dramatically from the surrounding countryside and buildings that it will make you gasp. Whether it's a positive gasp or a negative gasp, you'll have to decide. The opulence is such a contrast to the surrounding poverty that it made me somewhat uncomfortable. In another way, the design of this hotel is very like the buildings of Wright: during heavy rain, the strikingly modernist glass atrium leaks badly. I got used to seeing people with mops wiping up puddles in the lobby and stairwells.

Some reviewers have commented on the fact that the rooms smell damp when the A/C is not on. That was true for my room the first time I walked in, but I was there for four nights, and the smell quickly dissipated.

The mattress had a somewhat cardboard feel to it, but there was plenty of hot water, the toilets flushed, and the grounds were quite grand; many restaurants and bars, shops, three large, attractive swimming pools, lots of places to sit, lounge, enjoy a drink in the open air, and the breakfast buffet is spectacular. I was blown away by its size, and by the fact that if you like, you can sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.

One warning: my room was wonderfully quiet, but friends in rooms on the odd numbered side of the floor got very noisy because of a club in the hotel that plays very loud music until midnight.

Room Tip: One warning: my room was wonderfully quiet, but rooms on the odd numbered side of the floor got ver...
Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bdinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Subdirector General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Bdinmadison:
We appreciate very much your review and we are thankful for your comments. Sharing your opinions is an excellent opportunity for us to improve, evaluate our doing and move on.
We respect your point of view regarding the architecture of the hotel; however, we would like to make reference very briefly to its design. The person in charge of the design of the hotel is a very well known Cuban architect that intended to recreate the irregular sloping plans of Santiago de Cuba city. On the other side, both, the base and the tower of the building were constructed according to a system of exposed metal structures. The result is unconventional and the large tower is a landmark of the environment in terms of its height. Other constructions of the kind in the city are The Heredia Theatre, the rail station, the airport and Tropicana Cabaret. The red, blue and white colours represent our flag and the Cubanacan logo, our proprietary.
We are very happy to hear that you felt comfortable in your room and that the rest of the services were highly appreciated. Good to know our buffet was spectacular, quoting your words, which, for us is a superb compliment.
We would like to point out a very important detail, any loud music that your friends could hear in the rooms from the outside did not come from the hotel night clubs, it could probably come from any festivity in the street that might have taken place during those days. We are extremely careful about these issues and would not affect our clients in such way.
One more time we would like to express our gratitude for your lines and would love to have you back with us again. May this New Year all your dreams turn into reality and all your efforts into great achievements.
Kind regards,
Wifredo Villaverde
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
There are newer reviews for Melia Santiago de Cuba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. We were really tired when we arrived and unpacked our bags from the coach. We then learned that the hotel had overbooked and we had to get back in the coach and go to another hotel. When we complained we were met with indifference. The next day we came back but there was no apology. We did get a free bottle of wine at dinner however but we had to bargain for that! The hotel is not in a very good position being out of the town and the service in the restaurant was slow and unfriendly. The food was good however and the rooms were clean. There are towels for the pool which is a bonus but that's about the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. There are other more interesting places to stay in Santiago which are in a better position with more acceptable welcome and service.

Room Tip: check that you have a room even when you have booked one!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dizzydeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Subdirector General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We are very sorry your perception of our hotel staff and services was not the way you expected. In fact we were really upset to let you go the first day when our intention since the very beginning was to accommodate you in our hotel and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
However, our hotel was ready to welcome you the next day. When you arrived the check-in was ready and a receptionist, plus a member of the Customer Service Department made a speech for you to apologize for the inconveniences that moving to another hotel has caused you. We as well as provided the usual important information related to the different services of the hotel. As compensation we accommodated you in our best rooms that belong to The Level service, all of them with a special comfort and advantages. Besides the hotel offered some drinks on the house that were served with pleasure during dinner.
One more time we would like you to know how we regret about this incident and trust that you will give us new chance to make it up to you.
Best regards,
Wifredo Villaverde
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Santiago de Cuba is quite a sprawling city and so having the hotel on the outskirts was not too much of a problem - the distinctive shape and colours make it a landmark so you can never get lost!
We travelled as a group and I have to say the check in was a little slow mainly due to the fact the staff kept changing their mind as to what information they wanted the tour guide to provide despite her having prepared a comprehensive list of all passport details names etc etc. However, the welcome drink and art exhibition gave us something to do whilst waiting.
The room was very good by Cuban standards and certainly clean and comfortable. We had no issues with it. Everything worked, even the hairdryer. Room was a good size and being quite high up we had a good view.
The rooftop bar is good for views but seating outside is limited. Bar prices are good. Staff were efficient if not the friendliest we had come across but certainly nothing to complain about.
We were on a half board basis and both dinner and breakfast were good. I especially liked the fact you could choose fish, seafood and a selection of meats to be cooked in front of you so everything was hot and done to your preference. Staff were very quick to clear plates - sometimes too zealous!
Pool bar area at happy hour (17.00-18.00) is busy and only certain drinks are in the happy hour but staff make it clear to you what is and isn't. There is also a list of drinks.
The pool area seems a bit small for the size of hotel but appeared clean if a little "tired". There is a selection of small shops around, including bureau de change and pharmacy.
Take a walk out from the hotel - it's worth it to people watch. There are a few bars nearby plus residential areas to walk around. Downside is the amount of petrol fumes in the air. Taxis around (car, bike) if needed.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give better views. Air con is quite noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy119186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Subdirector General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Ms.
We are very thankful for your review and we are very glad you had a nice experience among us.
We are very sorry your check in lasted longer than usual and we have been analyzing the possible reasons of these situation.
It was very pleasant to hear you liked your room and you found inside the comfort that you were looking for. We are glad to know you enjoyed the food at the Buffet restaurant La Casona, where you can choose the food of your preference and they prepare it to the order. In fact, this is the section that our clients like the most during dinner.
We hope we gave you enough reasons to be the chosen ones whenever you feel like coming back to Santiago de Cuba city again. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you one more time.
Best regards,
Wifredo Villaverde
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

During our stay in Cuba, this was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at. Great food at their restaurant (buffet with a great variety), big swimming pools, clean rooms. But one big disadvantage: cockroaches. I know this is Cuba, but it is unacceptable to have a cockroach of about 7 cm 2 meter away from your room door. When I told reception, the guy went up and put his foot on it to kill it. And he didn't even clean up the mess. After our stay at this hotel, I heard that the terrace at the roof of the hotel, was filled with cockroaches...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Review_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Subdirector General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Mr. / Ms.:
We would like to thank you for your compliments related to the fact that our hotel was the nicest one of your trip in Cuba, a quiet place where you enjoyed of the several services that we offer.
Thanks for mentioning the quality and variety of the food at the buffet restaurant as well as the rooms cleanliness. Those are the main aspects that we focus on every day and pretend to keep the same way.
In respect to the disadvantage that you have mentioned we can guarantee that it was reported to the enterprise in charge of these affairs and it was properly addressed and supervised by the hotel management. We are very sorry for the inconveniences this incident could cause you.
We do trust all the positive points you found in our hotel will make you decide for us again.
Best regards,
Wifredo Villaverde
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Melia is an unmissable feature on the Santiago skyline with it's Soviet style architecture and gaudy colour scheme based on the Cuban flag, however inside it offers something approximating the facilities of a decent Western business style hotel. I enjoyed my stay here, the rooms were excellent and spacious with great views over the city and plenty of hot running water (a welcome surprise after a week of cold showers!) The pool was great and the views from the rooftop bar were impressive (although I did get short changed there so be careful....). We enjoyed the live music in the lobby and had a more than passable Italian meal. This is not a spectacular venue and lacks the character of many Cuban accommodations, but it is safe, clean and, by local standards, relatively luxurious.

Room Tip: Obviously, the higher up you are the better the views!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Subdirector General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Mr. / Ms.:
It was a great pleasure to know that you found in our hotel a very comfortable place to make your holidays really worthy. We are very glad you loved the views over the city from your room and are content with the idea that you could finally enjoy the hot water for a shower in our facility. Those are precisely the comments we like the most, taking into account that we are constantly in the struggle to make the difference and outstand our values.
We always recommend our clients to visit the bar at the 15th floor because of the marvellous picture you get from the city and the outskirts. It is lovely to recreate the places you have been and find others you would like to get closer to.
We would like to welcome you back in our hotel and will be looking forward to it.
Regards,
Wifredo Villaverde
Vice Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel purports to be 5 star. It's not! But it is the best hotel option in Santiago de Cuba. Hideous building could be overlooked if interior was properly maintained and greater care was taken with standards. Rooms OK, but public areas (with exception of pool) all need work and a little tlc. Whilst 'good' by Cuban measures, this international joint venture should be excellent, and one cannot help but wonder why the Spanish partners are not paying closer attention to its investment. The buffet breakfast (and dinner) are mediocre in the extreme, with food not refreshed or monitored by the numerous staff who clearly prefer to stand about chatting. The food is awful as well as unhygenically presented. Unlike other reviewers, I found many staff rude and unhelpful. It's a shame that this potentially good hotel is not good, and would deter me from staying in the area on future visits.

The location is quite removed from the town centre, it's too hot to walk, and one thus feels a little isolated or 'trapped' in the hotel. Look for a good Casa in the area instead - you'll at least be treated courteously and hospitably rather than as a troublesome pest!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Mr. /Ms.:
It is quite disappointing every time we are not able to gain the satisfaction of a client. There is a moment, then, in which we think over and determine where to take actions and where to focus the attention. It has to do also with the perception of the one who judges, but we always give credit to our clients opinions and overlook, and try to be in his/her place.
Concerning the food in the buffet restaurant we would like to affirm that it is completely fresh and hygienically treated. We are responsible for its safety and all the norms are properly followed and supervised. The quality of the food is the best and usually praised by the reviewers and clients of the hotel. We are used to receive positive comments related to the staff and the services; however we will pay special attention to the aspects you have mentioned.
Our hotel is at all quite removed from the centre; we are only one kilometre away from The Cuartel Moncada, Plaza de Marte, the Revolution Square, San Juan hill, Heredia Theatre, and two from Céspedes Park and the shopping area.
We will continue to be the best option in Santiago thanks to the importance we offer to our clients’ feedback.
Thanks for writing.
Best regards,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked the Presidential Suite, which is a beautiful accommodation on the 9th and 10th floors; our reward for managing to get to retirement in one piece! Staff were professional, attentive and smart. The entertainment was varied - bands, pianists, singers, dancers and even a magician. Food was excellent and I really wish I could have enjoyed it more - sadly I was ill for much of our stay (absolutely nothing to do with the Melia!). The hotel is a bit of a blot on the landscape but the interior is modern, well designed and the air conditioning is efficient - an escape from the exterior heat/humidity. I enjoyed the nightly dance lessons available and the bar on the top floor is fantastic. The pool is beautiful and as there were few hotel guests, there was plenty of space to relax and swim. Just a couple of criticisms; 1. the VIP lounge was closed and locked for well over half our stay (we were able to call for snacks/drinks at no cost, but because the computer was located in the lounge we were unable to go online), 2. the many requests for guests to buy the CDs produced by the entertainers. In all however, a really enjoyable stay and if in Santiago again I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book one of 'The Level' suites if within your budget.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzietwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Ms.:
We are very pleased with your review and we should say it was very nice to have you in our hotel those days.
Many thanks for your rewarding phrases to describe the hotel staff and service. We are grateful for all the suggestions, points of view and elements you use to let the people know about your experience among us.
We are really sorry you were sick and hope you have recovered very well. But we are happy you could enjoy of the different entertainment activities we prepared for you during your stay, specially the dancing lessons.
We expect you will choose our city one more time in the coming future for vacations, and hopefully we will have again the pleasure to see you around.
Kind regards,
Manuel Martínez-Corbalán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
476.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#7 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
473.0 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
475.5 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,700 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: £120 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing