We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not so central, but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“not so central, but ok”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

clean, nice pool and a pool bar, a good restaurant but not close to city center. 16:00 happy hour at pool bar but that does not mean that you'll get a %50 percent discount. you'll pay the same and must take 2 of the same drink :)
you need to take a cab for 19 usd one way.
and wen coming back at late night, you cannot find proper taxi but could use personal car's working as a taxi. +2 usd, all safe

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenginKoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rengin K:
We appreciate very much your review.
Thanks for your comments related to our pool area. This is one of those spaces that our clients love the most due to the nice environment surrounded by palm trees and beautiful gardens.
Concerning the Happy Hour, it is exactly as you refer. The offer includes two drinks per the price of one, which is a great deal.
We hope to receive you very soon in our facility.
Best regards,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    582
    169
    41
    14
See reviews for
152
574
82
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
792 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As part of a two week tour of Cuba we stayed in a variety of hotels ,though this one wasn't colonial or typical Cuban I did enjoy my two night stay .We were on the sixth floor and had very good views over Santiago De Cuba .
Our friend wasn't feeling very well and the hotel allowed her to check in early which was much appreciate .
The pool area is well set on and clean,enjoyed sitting here after an afternoon on sight seeing .This is one of my favourite parts of the hotel .
Happy hour ,we enjoyed the first one around the pool and the next one in the rooftop bar which has wonderful views .
Dinner which was a buffet in the restaurant was enjoyable a wide range of food .
The location of the hotel is good to be able to go for a walk after dinner as woman we felt safe and were not hassled and then listen to the singers in the reception bar .
Room was up to international standards at I had a very good nights sleep .
Breakfast was excellent buffet style with everything you would want including water ,coke or champagne !!!
Dinner the second evening was in the outdoor restaurant which would have been lovely if all the coach party could have sat together ,the rude manageress refused to allow us to put the two tables together !! Maybe she needs some training in customer services as all the other staff were friendly and polite .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mary38677:

Thanks for your kind review. We are happy your stay with us was as expected and hope you keep us in your memories for a long time.

It was our pleasure to have contributed to your friend satisfaction. Our intention all the time is to treat all our guests in such special way that they never forget their days in our facility. We hope she is much better and wish her the best.

We liked to hear that you loved the pool area. It is indeed a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the fresh air. Great you found our location quite good, our buffet breakfast very nice, and the rooms up to the international standards.

We are sorry about the incident with the manager at the outdoor restaurant, and hope you forget and forgive this situation that we will definitely take care of.

Kind regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed on the ninth floor with a corner window view of Santiago de Cuba, amazing! Clean and fully functional. Internet (Lan) in the room sort of worked but not really dependable. Internet at most hotels in Cuba blows and Melia was just as bad with it's "wiffy" wifi. You have to situate yourself in the proper spot in the lobby and hope not many others are on the network at the same time. The buffet was good, not great. The gourmet restaurant was a bit of a disappointment and we saw a cockroach on the wall. The pool area is amazing.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear RNokes:
Many thanks for your time and for your lines. Thanks as well for your wonderful punctuations, which means your stay in our facility was very nice and you enjoyed most of it.
We are very sorry we could not fulfil your expectations related to the wifi connection, but we hope that won’t prevent you from coming back. There is so much to see and so much to discover around, that there will always be reasons to return.
It is fantastic to know you loved your room, the spectacular view from up there, as well as the pool area. Concerning the incident in the Gourmet La Isabelica we have already taken the necessary measure and have it under control.
One more time, and honestly, we would like to thank you for offering us the chance to be your hotel in this beautiful city.
Kind regards,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in January 14 during our motor tour round East Cuba. Everything was going ok until I went into the toilet at 5 am to find water pouring through the ceiling from the room above. I tried telephoning reception but there was no dialling or ringing tone so i got dressed and went down to the ground floor where I woke several of the night staff who were sleeping in the reception settees. Eventually someone found a receptionist and I explained the problem. She tried the room phone, she claimed, and pronounced it in order. Funny. They wouldn't have switched off the phones so as to get a good nights kip would they?
Advised to go back to our room and await a service engineer who appeared after about 3/4 hour he arrives armed only with the largest screwdriver I have ever seen and tries to pry down the suspended ceiling that has been well and too well silicone cemented to the walls. He gives up and disappears. Phone rings later and we are to be moved to room on the 11th floor where the rooms appear not to have been upgraded for a long time. We wait for a porter to come for our luggage but no one arrives. Asleep? No. we are expected to drag our suitcases down to the ground floor and collect the new key. We manage to persuade them that we need a porter.
by this time it is too late to go back to bed so we shower and go for an early breakfast.
Now we all know that anybody can be unlucky but in all the time we were there nobody seemed concerned enough to offer an apology or express some sort of regret. Next afternoon we met a manager in a lift and when we explained it to him he seemed unconcerned and even unaware of our problem.
The Melia group asks all its guests to complete a customer satisfaction survey form in which they state that any concerns will receive individual attention and a personal reply. No acknowledgement or reply has been received in the 4 months since which bears out our experience at another of the group's Cuban hotels.
Apart from that everything with the hotel was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors unless they have been done up since January 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGHatWhitchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear PGHatWhitchurch:

We would like, first of all, to offer you our sincere apologies for the situation you went through that night in our hotel. As you very well say this incidents might take place anywhere, but it is precisely the way in which we handle the situation what makes the difference.

After we received your review, we dedicated ourselves to investigate very carefully the staff involved and would like you to know that serious corrective measures will be taken. What we would like to point out is that the telephone service was completely activated and by no means we would dare intentionally to damage the communication.

We deeply regret not contacting you the following days you stayed with us. We lost the best opportunity to show you how sorry we were. But we ask you please to give us a new chance to show you that we do care about our guests, their satisfaction and wellbeing.

Kind regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The breakfast buffet has a wide selection, but it's somehow hard to get excited about this enormous hotel. It's a way out of town and, if you leave the front of the hotel without jumping straight in a cab, there's quite a hassle-factor from the locals (this was the only place we experienced this to such an extent as we travelled around).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normski99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Normski 99:

We are thankful your review.

Thanks for your compliments to our breakfast buffet in La Casona Restaurant. It is indeed one of those services that our guests recommend the most.

We appreciate your comments related to the locals and would like to tell you that our Security Management will report it to the Police to be able to avoid such uncomfortable situations for our guests.

Kind regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is not a budged traveler hotel. Expensive (over $100/night) but comfortable, good quality and service. In our three day stay we mainly used it for sleep, breakfast and gone. The bar on the top floor offers a great view of the city and spend the night. Be aware that there are no balconies. Also keep in mind that everything else in the hotel costs more. Beer, coffee, snacks... etc. We only had breakfast on our last day and was good. Due to being a higher end hotel, higher tipping is expected. Overall Santiago was a blast and well worth weekend getaway. We arrived Friday evening and things went pretty smooth. Taxi rides go for 3cuc to central park (the cathedral). As in my other reviews, I would like to emphasize how helpful it is to speak the language and know your way around. Cuba still remains a country where you can get by easily. My perfectly looking and Spanish speaking girlfriend got it all sorted out. We had dinner at a paladar (private restaurant I believed it was called Caribe or Caribeo). Good impression, nice atmosphere good food and lot of mojitos. Don't let yourself carried away. We believe a few mojitos were added to our bill. But it was a good time, Friendly staff and one waitress kind of guided us what to do for the rest of our weekend. We killed the night at Club 300 (tres cientos). 2cuc cover charge. Good time, but again if you get carried away, the cost of drinks tend to go up as the night moves on. My first round was 6cuc, then 8... then I don't remember... Hopped in a dead beaten lada and back to the hotel. The next day, the taxi driver waited for us in the lobby and we decided to hire him for the rest of the stay. 40cuc a day. On Saturday we spent time at pre-historic park, (parqueo pre-istorico), natural water recreational pool, and in the end Siboney beach. I would recommend to spend a whole day a natural water recreational pool, up in the mountain. We spend the night with the taxi driver and his wive at some local place. Damn, the cubans know how to party. Good time, some food, and unnoticeable cheap. On Sunday, we visited the monastery, the fortress and spend the rest of the day at pool, as we were exhausted. Cubans are friendly people but don't fall for their pleas, cries, and whines. You are not their for that and you also don't know how they spend their money either. After all you work harder for your money then they do for theirs. Cubans feel good to outsmart the tourists. They will forget to bring you the salad but they won't forget to add it on your bill. Basics like, don't run a tab, or carry lot of change, or have the as exact change as possible, remain valid. Cuba has a very good coffee but if it says Serano on the bag, doesn't mean it's serano inside. Plan everything ahead and stick to the plan. Like any traveling, something will frustrate you. Our itinerary also included the cities of Holquin and Las Tunas. We took the Viazul bus and it cost 11cuc from Santiago to Las tunas. Five and a half hours ride. Have a nice holiday!

Room Tip: take a look before you move in. keep in mind that there are no balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobratarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Mr. Cobratarget:

Many thanks for your kind review in which you let us know about your experience in Santiago de Cuba and in our hotel.

We are very happy you could enjoy of a pleasant stay among us and hope you decide to visit us again in the coming future.

Good tip to everyone the great views from the Bello Bar, photos from up there are spectacular.

Best regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of Cuba and it had the best food of any of the hotels we stayed in during our trip. I would in particular commend the evening buffet meal which not only included a very wide variety of choices but also had a range of both fish and meats that were cooked freshly for this, one did not have to queue a long time for this either. The bar area was also very good and had some excellent music with piano accompanied by flute and violin, for example.

As mentioned by another poster, the lifts can be a problem at busy hours and if stuck then try and use the service lifts. The swimming pool area does not compare to its sister hotel in Havana.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director G, General Manager at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mr. Tim W:

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed our delicious evening buffet meal and are flattered with your sincere words to express that it was the best food of the rest of the hotels that you visited in Cuba. The music in the bar is absolutely unique and the artists are the best from the eastern part of the country.

We expect you will be able to visit us really soon. The Meliá Santiago team will be waiting to offer the best service and unexpected surprises.

Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
476.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
37.8 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
474.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,497 reviews
475.5 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,509 reviews
23.7 mi away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Property: Melia Santiago de Cuba
Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing