We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Unimpressed with this hotel. At 32 CUC/night, we were expecting something a bit better than this. The door hardly locked, the guy at the front desk charged us 0.50 CUC for a phone call, the windows didn't open (and were covered!), and the room was tiny. For half the price, I went to the Casa across the street, and stayed for 20 CUC in a WAY better room. I would not bother with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smfische
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have stayed at Hotel Libertad on a few occasions, usually for a quick night or two. The Libertad is in an excellent location, across from Plaza de Marte and roughly half way between the Melia hotel complex and hotel Casa Granda. There are many restaurants and drinking spots within walking distance and the walk around this neighborhood is not at all boring being that it is centrally located and in one of the busiest parts of town.

The hotel has an "old charm" character to it being housed in a century old structure similar to the Casa Granda hotel but at a fraction of the price. There is a lobby bar and a large rooftop terrace (when it is open) to wet your whistle. The restaurant on the main floor is one of the better ones in Santiago in my opinion and the same kitchen serves dinner on the rooftop, again when it is open.

The rooms are well furnished but somewhat small & disappointing considering that a few have no windows and the ones that do, can be loud with commotion seeping in from the outside neighborhood.

A quaint, decent hotel except for some of the loungers who hang out in the lobby. It seems to be a hang-out for some of Santiago's not-so-finest. Watch who you deal with here. Recent renovations now have the lobby coloured pink. I don't know what that is all about and would rather they paint it back again.

A recommended place to eat or sleep if location and value is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We organised our own city break during a 2 week all inclusive in Guardalavca. We travelled by Taxi from Guardalavca with a wonderful taxi driver called Oro (if you are in Guardalavaca and need an English speaking driver to take you on a tour, ask around for Oro - he is great).

We loved this hotel as it was Cuban, Wanted a break from Europeans and Canadians at the all inclusive buffets and this hotel did not disappoint. The hotel is simple but clean, the building has an old sytle charm. Best of all for us was that there was entertainment on the rooftop bar on the Friday night and we got to enjoy and evening with Cubans, cooling their heels on a Friday night,

Santiago itself is a lovely city and if you do need to get away from the package holiday layout for a bit, this hotel is a good and cheap option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonegalKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed at Hotel Libertad in Santiago de Cuba and enjoyed he "experience". It was a doddle to find. We came in on the motorway and kept going straight and that led us into the Plaza de Marte here the hotel is located, without the need to enter the one way system. You can park your car directly in front of the hotel on the Square.

I would preface any of the things I have to say about Cuban hotels that one has to remember that they are "Cuban" hotels staffed by Cubans, and you have to think of them in that light. Frommers say of the Libertad. "Fronting the busy Plaza de Marte...Only half of the rooms here have windows, and you will definitely want a room with a window. No. 214 is the hotel's largest and best room. All have simple furnishings, and small, but functional bathrooms "

Well we were in the said room 214 and that is certainly the room you want. It has a window overlooking La Plaza de Marte, and is great for people watching from your window. On the downside the room is noisy at night from traffic- Cubans tend to use their car horns a lot, and in addition the old engines do make a great deal of din. You would not call room 214 "luxurious" by European standards, but by Cuban standards it was. The hotel foyer had bags of character and had been well restored.

Hotel Libertad is on the edge of the town centre, about 800 meters from the main square, but is conveniently place for most things, and you will not have to walk too far to cover all that the centre of Santiago has to offer

The only problem we had was in the restaurant, where with only one other table and a waiting staff of 4, they managed to avoid coming near us for 15 minutes, and in the end we just left and ate in town. Breakfast was really "standard" Cuban, unmemorable, neither good nor bad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Location. Central.

Rooms. Our room (incl. bathroom) was abt. 20 m2 – too small for 2 people with baggage. No fridge, no safe, lack of water and exhaust gas from the street.

Restaurants. Some breakfast menus to choose between. However, the staff did not understand English, so if you got what you asked for you felt lucky.

Bars. A good bar on the roof top.

Service. In the reception and restaurant - a catastrophe.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Traveller-In-Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, Caribbean
114
Reviewed 5 September 2003

I had a lovely time im hotel Libertad. It's a two star hotel. It has been renovate in the old style. They used wooddecoration (old times). Very nice. It's clean, good service. rate 25 dollar, inclusieve breakfast. There's a restaurant. On the roof a bar. Near centrum. I had a lovely time in Santiago. I met new friends. Very kind people. I want to stay more time in Santiago. This is what I like.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#12 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
1,352 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#5 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
168 reviews
1.9 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#8 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
135 reviews
86.7 mi away
Hotel Islazul Guacanayabo
Hotel Islazul Guacanayabo
#1 of 1 in Manzanillo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Libertad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Libertad

Address: Aguilera No 658 e/ Serafin Sanchez y Perez Carbo, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: £24 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Islazul Hotel Libertad 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Atrapalo, bedfinder AG, Evoline ltd, Stayforlong S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Islazul Hotel Libertad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Libertad Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing