We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,352)
Filter reviews
3,352 results
Traveller rating
831
1,023
741
419
338
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
1,023
741
419
338
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cuban bar superior room adult section main pool cubano swim up bar coffee bar stayed in building michael jackson show big resort a la cartes foam party activity pool beautiful beach cleaning lady hot sauce main buffet
Filter
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 3,352 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We last stayed in Cuba 18 years ago and it was a wonderful experience. At that time, we stayed at Sol Palmeras Varadero and it was wonderful.

We traveled on New Year’s Eve via Sunwing and we arrived at 4 am on New Year’s Day at Grand Memories. We were told that our room was not ready! Unbelievable, but all the parties from our flight faced the same dilemma! Not a way to start a Holiday! We stayed up and had breakfast at 7 am and finally had a temporary room at 10 am. We got to shower and nap. This really set the tone for our stay....

Like some of the previous guest’s reviews, we found the food cold and poor quality. The showers were always cold and the staff was generally surly. Our housekeeper was nice though.

Generally, I try to find a positive to say, but I’m really struggling.

Room tip: We were on the first floor and had some party noise
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerio L, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Derek D,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your opinions on tripadvisor with other travellers.

We would like to apologize for not fulfill your expectations concerning the inconveniences you had. Our staff will check all you comments in order to make improvements in these areas.

Once again, thank you for your trust and we hope to see you again very soon.


Best regards,


Valerio Lanzarotti

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

we went in Nov 2017 if the sun didn't shine there was no hot water, rooms smelled of damp with mould on some fixtures, all inclusive well with a 7 ounce plastic cup your not getting drunk any time soon. they have 5 themed restaurants with a notice that when you book no beach wear flip flops or shorts & T shirts so we put on long trousers & polo tops stood in a queue behind a couple of Canadians with shorts T shirts guess what follow me sir couldn't believe it we were sweating there is a double standard, English NO Canadians YES !!! one of the themed restaurants was doing a Mexican theme night we went with another couple we met there my starter didn't come until I asked twice for it, it took 3 requests for a glass of wine & we were told no bread or rolls with the meal !!! WHAT

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerio L, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Brian T,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Grand Memories Varadero to spend your holidays in Cuba and also for taking the time to post your comments in TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with several aspects of our resort and have already informed the departments involved about your comments and suggestions in order to take a close look into the mentioned matters.

We sincerely hope that you will choose the Grand Memories Varadero again for your next stay, also to give us the chance to correct the image you have received this time.


Sincerely,


Valerio Lanzarotti

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

I will make this short friends.. cold food everyday , cold water for 4 plus days in the bath and no one will help.. broken tv for 3days and it matter because we had our little kids there... never again. $4000 dollars gone on our 1sr family trip.

Room tip: Check the hot water in the bath before taking the room.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank jas0nj0seph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerio L, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for sharing your opinion regaridng your last stay at our resort.

We have taken note about all your comments and we are going to work in order to improve our guests' experience. As you know, your feedback is very important to us and it is the tool we use to make sure we improve every day. We are happy to see that overall you had a good experience.

Thank you once again for choosing us for your stay.

Sincerely,

Valerio Lanzarotti

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We plan to visit this property this Saturday morning. Our Reservation is under the Leech Family and its tenure is January 13th th to the 20th.

I do have some concerns before visiting and this is part of my reasoning for this pre review.

Rooms being not ready, odors in bed linen and cold food are a concern I do hope we, nor anyone else may not have to endure.We have asked for an ocean view and were told this could most likely be afforded to us. We upgraded to a Superior room with ocean view. Fingers crossed. We respectfully requested a early check in so as our young daughter could get comfortable sooner and hope this a reality.

This being said, I have done my homework and have good expectations of this holiday. I do have a friend here in Toronto that is from Verodero and in the Hotel business as I have been for decades and take his advice seriously. Looks like a Resort we will visit again and again. Grand Memories Verodero Cuba here WE come!!!! Looking forward to a pleasant stay.

Michael, Mkayla and Leila Leech January 09th 2018

Room tip: Wait until we return
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank vitaminmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerio L, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Vitamin,


Firstly, thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor regarding your last stay at our hotel.

We are glad to see you had a fantastic experience during your holidays and to see you could enjoy all facilities, activities, shows and services provided by our staff. The good service is our DNA and our priority are our clients. For this reason, our main goal is to take care all guests and making them feel comfortable with us.

Thank you once again for choosing Grand Memories Varadero for your stay. It will be a pleasure to receive you in the following future.

Sincerely,


Valerio Lanzarotti

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Fifth time to Cuba and this was the best for food variety and quality. Pasta bar, chicken pork and fish Grilled while you wait. Lovely housekeeper kept our room clean with fresh towels daily. We left our cell phone on the desk and it Was given to management! I was so happy But Hola Sun has flatly refused to help us get it back, also finding an Hola Sun rep there was impossible. If you travel to Cuba stay away from Hola sun! The bar staff were all pleasant, happy. Servers in the restaurants were excellent. The beach is nice white sand. It was quite windy when we were there so we weren't able to really enjoy the beach too much.

Room tip: Blocks up to 15 around the quiet pool, 20+ loud pool a little closer to the ocean.
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank trudyh398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerio L, Director General at Grand Memories Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Guest,


First of all, thank you so much for sharing your opinion regarding your last experience with us.


It's great to listening you again and all our team is very happy to see you had a fantastic stay in Cuba at our hotel. We work every day very hard in order to provide you the best service. For this reason, we are feel very happy for your review.

Thank you for choosing Grand Memories Varadero for your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in Varadero.


Sincerely,


Valerio Lanzarotti


General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews