We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,139)
Filter reviews
9,139 results
Traveller rating
4,248
3,164
1,076
408
243
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,248
3,164
1,076
408
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet restaurant a la carte restaurants bedroom bungalow fish the main hotel pool bar juice bar plaza america second home great holiday chicken tex mex beautiful beach entertainment staff pizza paella fries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,897 - 1,902 of 9,139 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was there for 2 days 14/6/14 and 15/6/14.I agree with the previous reviewer, if you were English speaking then you were ignored and served last. When we arrived we were supposed to have had one of their best rooms, it was so old fashioned and the decor awful, you still needed a key for the safe which we had to go back to reception to ask for. I was told that it was some of the main hoiidays for the children from South America so it was overrun by these who had no idea of manners, like the previous reviewer said they had no concept of personal space and we were constantly being pushed and shoved. The huge screen that was put in the lobby was a nightmare, for every match there was a huge following so all of the chairs were commandeered, this meant there was nowhere to sit in the evenings and trying to get a drink was a joke unless you were from South America, once I was shouted at by a bar man to get in line! There were only 3 people waiting and I assumed that the barman would know who to serve without forming a queue. The buffet restaurant was a joke, unless you got there when it was opening you would have to stand in queue until the early birds had finished, while standing in this queue again you were constantly bumped into and knocked and of course people pushing in because they allegedly knew the person at the front, management obviously thought this was OK because entertainment was put on just by the door to entertain you while queuing. When you did get a seat you had to walk round and round the restaurant visiting each food station until you found the items required Eg the bread and toaster were together but the jam and butter are on the other side of the restaurant, the same with the cereal and the milk, there were 2 coffee machines but the milk again was over the other side, and again if you were Spanish speaking you got served first and regular with your drinks. By the swimming pool you were overrun with kids jumping on you etc with the parents watching, they were even playing with the emergency life ring with the hotels staff standing there watching. The corridor, stairs and lifts to our room which was on the 4th floor with a sea view, were filthy and made you feel like you were in the staff only areas, on the staircase there were bare wires hanging out of the wall where I assume there was once a light switch. There were huge puddles just left on the floor even though the rain had stopped the night before, staff made no effort to mop these up.Thankfully our GREAT rep helped us to move to Melia Las Americas which I can highly recommend. We reported a problems with our fridge, a workman knocked on our door at 22:50 hrs which woke us up, the same night there were young drunken Spanish speaking adults running around the corridors singing and shouting around 1am, I did not get any sleep that night.

Room tip: Sorry but we had one of their best rooms on 4th floor with a sea view it was terrible
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Witch22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

We regret that you did not like your short stay among us in our hotel, which made you to decide change to another hotel. Therefore, we are grieving for not having achieved your expectations, and we honestly apologize for this.

Regarding your remarks, I would like to tell you the following:

According to some of our English-speaking guests, they say they receive a better service if they speak in Spanish, however, with our Spanish-speaking guests it is vice versa. I assure you that we do all that is possible to please all our guests, no matter what nationality they are.

At the time you were staying in our hotel, there was no school holiday in any country.

I am sure you were the only guests who did not like the big flat screen TV we had at the lobby for our guests to watch the World Football Cup, because the great majority were very pleased with it.

About the line at the buffet restaurant, it happens at certain moments when guests arrive at it at the same time, in spite of being the buffet working ours very convenient for all our guests without necessity of making line. Anyway, we are in a process of remodeling our buffet restaurant to make it bigger.

Thank you for your remark about food at our buffet, we are valuing the best way to place it there.

We also inform you, we have taken the necessary actions to solve the other topics you mentioned on your review, to avoid have similar comments again.

We apologize again for not having fulfilled a minimum of your expectations during your stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I of 13 years decided to renew our love with a vow renewal ceremony and chose Sol Palmeras due to the great ratings on trip advisor.

We contacted the Canadian wedding coordinator on line and she guided us through the process easily (thanks Nanor).

Once we got in we arranged a meeting with our onsite coordinator - Ana Marie (great lady).

We were able to select several options and she helped us out - PS the fresh flower options are incredible.

We were greeted in our room with a bottle of champagne flowers and chocolates - very nice.

On the day my wife had her hair and makeup done by a very capable and attentive stylist (sorry name is forgotten).

We choose a beach site near our bungalow (the rooms were incredible (shower with open roof was great fun). The beach is world class.

The day of our wedding, the groundskeeper (they are always making the site beautiful) - adorned the walkway and set up a beach heart.

The ceremony by the Cuban (lady) official was very nice (you can add your own vows).

We choose blue flowers to accent the gorgeous water backdrop.

The certificate was an excellent touch as was the bottle of champagne that Ana Marie brough for us.

She is a great and capable coordinator and even helped my wife with her dress - like an old friend.

All of the Cuban people that we met were great - loving and cheeful.

We hired a photographer (great value).

We were treated to a huge lobster dinner in the Italian restaurant and were suprised to see how nicely our table had been set up (more flowers) - our blond waitress was doting - very special.

We were treated to a great wedding cake.

Felix (our porter) drove us to our room (raining) despite being busy with new guests (thank you).

The room was like a scene from a love story. Rose petal path way - heart of flowers, bath partially drawn with rose petals, music on, curtains tied into a heart, special pink sheets with heart pillows - and some other special touches.

WOW>

The breakfast the next day was delivered to our room - great food with more fresh flowers.

This was a spectacular treat and very very good value.

If you want to renew the love with your spouse - this is the way to do it!!!!!!

Special thank you to:

Ana Marie
Marie del Carmen
Felix
hair stylist
waitress
groundskeeper who set up our beach ceremony (35 degrees and 100 humidity)

Paradise Found - Amazing - Thanks you!!

Room tip: We loved the bungalows and found the walk minimal. Resort itself is compact and rooms in main resort are close to services.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Crystal E,

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Palmeras, for your renewal of vows.

We are very glad to know that you liked everything, all the coordination for the renewal of vows and your stay in our hotel.

We also thank you for your review published on the Trip Advisor. These complimentary comments are the best reward we can receive from our guests for our daily work, because this encourages us to continue doing our job well.

We will share your review with all the staff of Sol Palmeras, especially with the persons you mentioned, whom we will congratulate personally on your behalf.

Looking forward to welcoming you in another opportunity in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been going to the Sol Palmeras for many years and it is without a doubt the best resort in the area. Food... OMG! Variety, specialty restaurants, it is all great! Boris ( the head chef) is an international chef de cuisine and it shows. The front staff, Lisy, Hugo, Celestino, Armando, and Lianny all make your stay the best it can be. The primary chambermaid on our wing, Maria, is second to none and always goes the extra mile to make our stay something special. My wife & I periodically do some in suite entertaining. Between Lianny and Maria they always do those little extra things to make the event work smoothly for our guests.
In the buffet, the very special people are Idelmis, Rosita, Big Julio and little Julio so we encourage people visiting the Sol to seek out these very special servers. They will make your dining experience fabulous. I cannot forget Madelyn, she used to be the banana flambé gal in the buffet but now operates the ice cream parlour out by the pools. Fabulous little gal.
We have sent many people to the Sol over the years and everyone has enjoyed their stay and many have returned.
You can spend your vacation dollars and time many places (and we do travel the world quite extensively) but the Sol and Cuba is our second home. For us the resort is secondary, it is the people! T. Alcina has a great team.

Room tip: Pick a suite on the poolside. You will have great morning sun and a pleasant, cool afternoon/evening if you like the deck.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjtbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for trusting on us to stay in our hotel, we hope you keep on trusting us for many more years. We assure you we will not disappoint you.

We appreciate all your complimentary comments which were published on the Trip Advisor. We will share your review with all our staff, especially with the persons you mentioned, whom we will congratulate personally on your behalf.

We are also glad to know that the persons you have recommended to stay in our hotel are pleased with Sol Palmeras.

Thank you again for your review, we appreciate it very much.

Looking forward to seeing you among us in our hotel again, receive best regards.

Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We just got back from this hotel stayed 20th to 27th june and it was great. The food was good and the a la carte restaurants was great. Im glad we stayed in the main hotel as some of the bungalows was quite a far walk from the main reception/pool but they do look fantastic the beach was lovely and the weather even more great look forward to going back some time in the near future

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri-LouiseRolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Terri-Lou,

We are glad to know, you enjoyed your stay in Sol Palmeras, very much.

Thank you for all your complimentary comments about our hotel, which were published and shared on the Trip Advisor.

Hoping that, as you expressed, you will come again in a near future, so we will have the opportunity to see you among us in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

i have just returned from yet another trip to my second home the sol palmeras.i have to say they have made many great improvements there in the last few months including a state of the art gym as well as a beautiful out door deck for the smokers.as per usual the staff and management under sr.alcina are the very best from lisy at the front desk right down to the gardeners everyone is just so friendly.i have been at this resort over 40 times and plan many more there.i would say to anyone looking for a super vacation in cuba do not hesitate to try the sol palmeras you won't be sorry.the food is excellent the staff is the very best and the rooms are super .i always hang a canadian flag while i'm there and the people call my bungalow the canadian embassy so as i result i'm asked 1000 questions which i enjoy answering to help folks so if you see me there and you have any questions please feel free to drop by and ask.i hope to be back there for another 6 weeks very very soon.....roy moore canada

Room tip: my personal choice is the bungalows
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear roy m,

Thank you for trusting on us constantly. It is a privilege for us, that you have chosen Sol Palmeras to stay for more than 40 times, and we wish there will be many more times, as you said.

We appreciate with all our heart, all your complimentary comments which were published, on your review, on the Trip Advisor.

We also appreciate, you liked all the improvements we have done. Although our best improvement is our staff, without them, Sol Palmeras would not have the success it has now.

When you come to our hotel and place the Canadian flag floating outside your room, it make us feel proud of you. Many Canadian people are always asking us about you.

Thank you again, for choosing our hotel, we assure you that we will never disappoint you.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews