We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a look before you book”
Review of Sol Palmeras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Palmeras
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take a look before you book”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We had a short visit in Sol Palmeras - it was booked for six nights but we left after two. We had two bungalows which were horrible. They are very far from four star level, whatever standard considered. Bad problems with the buildings themselves (water came in though the windows), ants or some sort of small insects running in the corners, strong smell of mould and the overall condition below any reasonable level.

Don't have much to say about the hotel as a whole, because we wanted to move out as soon as possible and luckily we did. Service, food and the overall impression were not much better. We did get a refund afterwards, but I'm still astonished, how they dare to put their guests in this kind of premises.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bjorkHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing at the Trip Advisor the experiences you had during your short stay in Sol Palmeras.
We are very sorry about what you expressed in your remarks. We would like to tell you that, as we informed your travel agent, it was a computer mistake at our Reception deparment, because thse bungalows appeared as if they were not bloked in the computer system, but they really were.
We apologised to your travel agent then, and as you well said, we reimbursed to them the corresponding quantity of money for two nights.
Please, accept my sincere apologies.
Truly yours,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    2,423
    812
    293
    156
See reviews for
1,806
2,510
244
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Labrador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We travelled with friends and family for 7 days and it was a great trip,the food was great espically at the a la carte resturants--.The staff at the bars were good -espically Francine at the lobby bar--she must have added miles to her shoes looking after us--and Maria Theresa at the buffet resturant--always made sure we had a table for 6 and juice waiting for us.Our maid Ester was another hard working lady who made sure our room was clean with fresh towels and bed linens and tidy early in the am--
The beach was great as was the pool ----I would highly recommend this resort to everyone wanting a relaxing vacation

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labradorsnowgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We just came back from our second trip to Sol Palmeras and it was amazingly even better than the first time! The exceptional staff from bellmen Celestino and Armando, to waitstaff , coffee makers and maintenance people made our trip unforgettable. True friendships were forged and we are eagerly awaiting our next trip to stay at this wonderful resort and visit with our new friends.
The weather during our 7 day stay was good though high waves most of the time. We did get one green flag day and I spent most of it snorkeling which was very good. Just off the rocky end of the beach were some rocky sections out in the water with abundant fish. I saw hundreds of them and it was so fun to use the free resort equipment at my leisure. So much nicer than going on an excursion where you are whistled back to the boat after 30 minutes. I also went across the road from the hotel on windy days because the ocean there was completely calm, used my own goggles and saw some amazing ocean creatures like a giant leopard -spotted sea slug.
The food was exceptional, especially the buffet. My regards to Ihovanny, the omelette cook. We ate at the Italian, Steakhouse and my favorite, the Cuban a-la-carte. I had the fish stuffed with ham and cheese which I would highly recommend there. We were some of the Canadians with the Bubba mugs which were great for the exceptional cappuccino's at the Lobby bar, and for keeping drinks cold at the beach all afternoon. I would not go without a thermal mug and each time we have had several asking for us to leave our mugs with them the morning we left, which we have done each time.
Our deluxe bungalow was wonderful, peaceful, spacious, clean and quiet. I would not want to be anywhere else. I noticed the resort making many of the changes recommended by these reviews. Fresh murals had been painted on the bungalow exterior walls, much touch-up painting was done both interior and exterior to freshen up the buildings. We also had a coffee maker in our room this time.
When you go to a place with an attitude of respect and kindness, you receive the same and more. We anticipate many more years of trips back to Sol Palmeras. Thank you Wilber for your helpfulness. And big Julio in the buffet would really love some "People" magazines to keep his english in great shape.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truenorthtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at the Sol Palmeras for eight nights, after three nights in Havana. Transfer via coach took around two to three hours. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded from the Junior Suites we had booked through our travel agency to seperate bungalows. To be honest we are still not sure if this was an upgrade but we were happier with the bungalows as they were a walk away from the main hotel/pools/restaurants and bars which meant they were lovely and quiet at night and in the morning. The bunglalows were spacious with a seperate living area, large bedroom, walk in closet (which really smelled, in both our and the other couple we were withs room - could do with a good clean out and airing!!) Good size bathroom with outdoor toilet and shower (there was a shower and bath inside as well) Outside toilet seemed bizarre at first but got used to it and was quite pleasant, it is all enclosed, obviously, and part covered on the roof. Fresh water was provided each day by the maid, coffee machine in the room but no tea making facilities. Midweek during our stay we asked the reception if they could do anything about the bed in our room, the mattress was rock solid and we were both struggling to get a decent sleep, We asked if they could change the mattresses or even provide more blankets we could put underneath to soften the thing, we were told at the time that the room service were gone for the day but they would check and let us know next day.... We never heard from them after that which was quite dissapointing so I asked one of the maids myself if we could have some extra blankets. This helped a little but still wasnt the most comfortable of sleeps!

In regards the hotel complex, large reception with two travel agencies within to book tours, three or four bars, buffet restaurant, Italian restaurant and shops, bank. Near the swimming pools are the Cuban and Steakhouse restaurants and out next to the bungalows is the Chinese restaurant. There are also three other bars at pool/beach and places for snacks at lunchtime. The Italian and Chinese restaurants are recommended and as usual with the all-inclusive hotels book early to reserve a table as they are popular and on arrival we couldnt get a reservation until about three days later!

The buffet restaurant is very good with plenty of choice but did get a little manic particularly in the morning with large queues for the toast machine, of which there appeared to be only one?To the queues for omlettes and drinks, tip - the coffee/tea from the machines in the buffet is awful, get fresh coffee from the bar above at the main reception. We had never encountered this before but the masses of Canadians at the resort all had huge flasks they were using to fill up tea, coffee, juice, rum cocktails, spirits etc to take from the bar/buffet to the pool or beach!! We were sitting at times with our small plastic cups as they walked past with their large flasks thinking they are on to something here!

The beach at the hotel is beautiful, plenty of space and never any problem with loungers. During the end of the week it did get quite wavy, which some of us enjoyed surfing the waves! But they don't let you go out to far as I suspect it can be quite dangerous with the currents, they were calling people back in during this time which is good that they are keeping an eye!! We all had snorkels/masks hoping for some marine spotting but in all the time we saw one white fish and one barracuda so don't expect any good snorkelling on the beach.

We also booked a trip to Cayo Blanco, which was a great day on the Catamaran, drinks/lunch all included in the price. There was a stop on the way for snorkelling, the guys running the boat were throwing bread in the water to attract the fish, of which there wasnt a great deal or variety, and if you have to do that to attract the fish in the first place it is obviously not, any more, a decent snorkelling site (signs along beaches with reef everywhere tell you not to feed the fish?) We then arrived at Cayo Blanco, very pretty island, but do not expect blissful isolation, as well as our own there was at least three other catamaran parties there. You have time to relax, swim (again, very shallow waters and very little life) then lunch, relax time and then back on the catamaran to head back to the port. After this the group go on a coach to the dolfinarium, at which point we left as the only place we want to see dolphins are in the wild - and by chance we had seen some on the way to Cayo Blanco on the catamaran. Although it may not sound like it! It was a really nice day out and just cruising on the boat with the tunes was good fun.

We also booked a trip via the onsite diving company to the Bay of Pigs for a days diving/snorkelling. This is a long trip to the other side of the island, which we didnt realise exactly how long it would take! About three/three and half hours one way! Unfortunately for us the conditions there werent great, was quite choppy, noticeable by the divers all falling in the water trying to get to deeper ground! Snorkelling was equably difficult because the waters were so churned up, however the diving included a drop off and shipwreck (small) and we were told this was unlucky weather as normally it was completely calm. The coach ride was interesting to see parts of Cuba you wouldnt normally experience, if you stay within Varadero Resort.

Our must see excursion was to Plaza America, literally minutes from the hotel, to see Buena Vista Social Club. An incredible evening and to see them perform live we would have paid double what we had!! This can also be booked via the tour operators in the hotel and was on every Wednesday.

Tipping the wait staff can go a long way to good service and attention (although we must say they were all very friendly and helpful anyway) but particularly at the bars which can get very busy in the evening. The cocktails are excellent, plenty of choice, very strong! The wine was also very good from Chile and there was even sparkling wine on offer, which was decent, or appeared so after a few cocktails!!

For the price we paid we would recommend this hotel, it is by no means luxurious but sufficient, clean, plenty of facilities, food and drink choice, very friendly staff (asides the reception team) beautiful beach... Overall great time had by all.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Great location, beautiful beach (seems to be the best in Varadero), good services, food, activities... Book bungalow, not a room in the main building!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheremeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

This was our fouth trip. We went with a group of 12 in total. Several had been here before. We keep going back because it's so wonderful. So much variety with the food, turkey, chicken, beef, pizza, burgers, fries, salad, fish, eggs, fresh pasta bar etc etc etc. And the a la cartes - yum yum - especially the chinese and the steakhouse. The italian I could do without though. The staff is absolutely amazing. They treated us like royalty - especially since we'd been before. But they've always been wonderful and treated us like family. The suites are wonderful - the standard rooms aren't too bad either. I've seen people comment about their rooms not getting clean - the maids came around every single day to clean our rooms, give us fresh towels and bedding - the only time they don't come around if you're in your room until 2 - so if you're hung over - well you lose out - but we never had that problem. The management and Customer service staff were amazing - always helpful and available if we needed anything. We're already planning next years trip and wouldn't think of going anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocialOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My partner and i took a two week vacation to cuba at the start of march , with three days in havana and the rest of the time in sol palmeras . We read alot of bad reviews before we left home about this resort , but it is true don't believe everything you read !!
Sol palmeras was friendly , clean , lovely beach and we didn't have a bad meal while we were there , also had no problem with choice of alcohol.
We chose to stay in one of the bungalows , you pay a bit extra but its worth it ! we were steps away from the beach and had our own privacy .
All in all a great first experience in cuba!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasha046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.1 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.4 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,393 reviews
3.4 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Palmeras

Property: Sol Palmeras
Address: Carretera de las Morlas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#9 Family Hotel in Varadero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Palmeras 4*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Varadero Beach, this 4 star, all inclusive hotel offers all of the great dining, activities and entertainment facilities that have made Sol Melia a recognized leader in quality hotels! Ideal for families and honeymooners. 376 comfortable double rooms, 28 junior suites, 4 suites and 200 bungalows with direct access to the beach. 6 Restaurants, 7 bars, mini club and mini-disco, mini-golf. Motorized water sports. Sol Palmeras combines great fun with a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Palmeras Hotel Varadero
Sol Palmeras Cuba
Sol Palmeras Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing