We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Cuban place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Typical Cuban place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great beach, bad food and very typical 3* Staff was very helpful, fun and almost always smiling. There were a couple of restaurants near by, a little store and a small market. You could also go further down into town, and have a nice day out. Worth a go if you're on a budget

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grayzie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    771
    453
    199
    142
See reviews for
299
776
164
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel.Jan 9-23. Walking distance to flea markets (one is right next door) and next to that, Joseph will make you The best mohito! The food is always plentiful, may not be what you are used to at home, but you won't go hungry. Migue makes the best cappuchinos every morning. German took great care of us for breakfast and lunch, dinner time Lillit and Niury always had a smile and our table ready! Lazarito usually had our drinks ready to go! Into the second week, I ended up with hives. My legs looked like tree trunks and the itch was like fire! I could not handle it and saw the Nurse and Doctor. The Nurse gave me a shot, brought all the meds to my room. They took real good care of me, but I did not think that this was a reaction/infection to mosquito bites. My husband had a few bites, but was not like I was. I realize that we were not very vigilant where our towels,beach bag etc were concerned. I am obviously allergic to the sand fleas. Lesson learned. I made inquiries (emailed) to the GM and he very promptly got back to me. Hotels are inspected by the Government, monthly. They are vigilant in any/all pest control. I felt the bites (feet, ankles up to my knees. No where else) but I could not SEE what was using me for a buffet! Make sure you are not putting sand around your bed! Lesson learned! We love the staff, location, entertainment and THE Beach! We will be back again!

Room Tip: Room 135. Quiet, by the tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

From the moment I arrived to the Roc Barlovento I felt at home.. The staff I found to be very friendly and attentive. I was alone the first night as my girl friend I hadn't seen for 22 years and her parents were to arrive the next day. I stayed in Varadero in 1992 so it had changed immensely since I was there last. The Barlovento was recommended by my travel mates as they had been there a couple of times before and raved about the great location. They were absolutely right.. the location was amazing! Easy walking to all the shops. Our room was kept very clean, the hotel was a little dated but kept in tip top shape. Again I rave about the staff.. A big hello out to Mary at the desk, Luis the Bellman, Iris at the Buffet, and to our maid Lucy from Debbie & Karen from Canada!! Jackie at the bar always remembered what we drank and how we liked it!

The Beach was great it was never packed and the Beach Bar had great Cuban music playing all the time. You can walk for miles and miles which I did.. great exercise.

The food is limited, but with a little imagination we made the best of it. We had the cook put the hotdogs on the grill for a nice treat, Cuban sandwiches can be assembled with all the goodies, the spaghetti can be tossed with virtually anything.. we switched it up a lot!

Our room 220 faced the main road and I would not go there again. There seemed to be an after-hours club across the street that was still going one night at 4 a.m.!! Ole Ole! The early morning clip clop of the coaches and the buses were a little too noisy. I would request near the tennis courts next time. No problem with the water or room other than that. A couple of nights we did notice the smell from the oil refinery and it isn't pleasant. however that is the way it is you can't control which way the wind blows!

The weather could have been a bit better but it is always touch and go. I was warming myself on a travel candle one night as there is no heat in the rooms.. don't forget to bring some snugly clothes!
January can be colder sometimes.

The entertainment was fun enjoyable and did not go too late. the Aqua Ballet was really good.
The quality of the goods at the markets have improved a 1000% since I had been there last.. Nice artisan articles.. got some beautiful wooden salad spoons, nice bracelets good price and hand made by the people running the booths. I look for that rather than the mass produced.

I am going to work on my Spanish for the next time I return.. most of the staff can speak some English, but I love the language and would love to communicate on an even level. Will miss the Roc Barlovento!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is the best combination of a great beach, comfortable accommodation and close proximity to the town of Varadero. It's close enough that you can walk to the town and enjoy the vibrant night life of Cuba.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank r l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a great time at this resort would diffidently would go back to this resort staff was great very helpful was very close to downtown and shops rooms very clean this was our first visit out of Canada and really loved it we had 4 in our group and all enjoyed this resort the Mexican restaurant was really good

Room Tip: if you have difficult time with stairs ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aboolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our 2nd trip to this hotel and we vacationed with 6 friends from Western Canada. You can't go wrong with the beach, location and entertainment. This hotel is a little dated, but the dining room, lobby and most times the washrooms were clean. There was always a large variety of food to choose from on the buffet and the Italian & Cuban a la carte's were Excellent! The beach grill opened after undergoing renovations and we really enjoyed eating there for lunch. The wait staff in all of the dining area's and bar's are super friendly and helpful. Kadia at the customer service area is awesome if you need anything. The beach was a popular spot on the days when the weather was superb, and the pool area was also a great place to hang out for the day if the beach was a no go due to wind/weather. The location of this hotel is a real selling point as you are literally a few steps away from a couple of markets and you are safe to go for a walk after dinner. A horse and buggy are always waiting or you could also take a scooter or cab. The Veradero beach bus is a great way to see the city of Veradero, $5 for an all day ride with the ability to get on and off as you choose. If your at the bank on the main drag there is a cute little bistro on the opposite side of the street that serves the best lobster lunch I have ever had....$15 for a HUGE lobster! Took the catamaran trip to Cayo Blanco on a stunning weather day.....fun trip all the way around...finished off by swimming with the dolphins at the Dolphinarium...was a bit pricey for what we actually got, but was an exhilierating experience never the less! One thing you always have to remember is that you are in Cuba and Cuba has it's strong points and downfalls as well. You can expect to have little pressure in your shower, be asked to pay for toilet paper or pee on a toilet with no seat etc etc etc, but it is also a very lovely country and the people are so friendly, it's why people loving vacationing in Cuba.
All in all for the price of this hotel it IS WORTH the $. Tipping of course goes a long way everywhere in Cuba as it does everywhere in the world. We will be back to the Barlevento for sure!

Room Tip: We were in room 209 facing the street, which I thought was excellent because I could watch all the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LorieRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I picked this hotel mainly based on location. We stayed about halfway down the peninsula last year and found it too far from everything we wanted to do and hated having to pay or wait to get anywhere so for this reason alone this hotel was a great pick. It is right near the beginning and is really close to alot of shopping, bars, and some good restaurants. The hotel itself is very nice, older but they definitely try to keep it nice. Rooms are very dated but we don't go to hang out in the room. Had no problems with water pressure and it was always hot or at least pretty warm. Air conditioner worked great. Staff was very nice and our maid Noelle was awesome. Some of the staff only seemed interested in you if you tipped well but overall service was good especially Rafael at the Italian ala carte. Beach was amazing with lots of chairs, same with the pools. I'm not sure how full the hotel was but we never had much trouble getting a spot or a chair. My only real problem came with the supper buffet. Breakfast was fine and the omelet guy is really good but there can can be a lineup so be prepared. We mostly had lunch at the beach bar with hamburgers and bbq, even icecream. The supper buffet was, well, disappointing. Selection was never very good and alot was cold, it looked identical to lunch. I felt bad for the staff because they were really trying but they didn't have a lot to work with. Try to book the ala cartes as much as possible for supper as they are a definite improvement. If you get hungry late night there is a really nice lady cooking burgers and pizza at the main buffet. Drinks were good and it was never a problem to get Havana Club in them, and Javier at the amimacion bar makes a killer mojito.
It was a great spot overall, especially for what we paid. Be warned though that sometimes at night on the peninsula you get a bad gas smell from a refinery some kms away depending on the wind but that is the same for all the resorts. I had a good time and I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Laffinsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#43 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#39 of 63 in Varadero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
3.3 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Barlovento

Property: Hotel Roc Barlovento
Address: Ave 1ra e/ 9 y 12, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roc Barlovento 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roc Barlovento is located on beachfront and just a few meters from town centre of Varadero only 25 km away from the airport.This large Caribbean-style resort is in perfect harmony with its natural surroundings along an extensive, fine white sanded beach and turquoise waters .Adults only hotel, over 16 years.Services Around the gardens, there are a tennis court, a solarium, three swimming pools and one jacuzzi. 3 Out Door Pools Sunbeds & Umbrellas Reception 24 hrsStores, shops Air Conditioning Tourism office GardensInternet, with charge Telephone and fax, with charg eMassage, with charge"All Inclusive" Services Buffet service for breakfast, lunch and dinner 3 á la carte restaurants (prior reservation required and upon availability) Fast food, snacks, grill y paellas. Cocktails, beverages: national and international brands. 24 hrs Service. Non motorized water sports (upon availability), snorkel, windsurf, kayak, pedalboatl, catamaran, windsurf . Voleyball, football, tennis, ping pong, billard, petanca, dards, archery and table games. Basket, beach volley, water polo- Gym Sunbeds andbeach/pool towels Day time entertainment programme: aerobics, yoga, dancing lessons, Spanish lessons, pool/beach games. Evening entertainment with a variety of international shows and theme nights (resident band and dancers)GastronomyThe All Inclusive offer includes, in addition to the three complete buffet meals per day, à la carte meals in the 3 specialty restaurants (with reservation) snacks, alcoholic as well as non-alcoholic drinks throughout the day. A great variety of gastronomical treats awaits our guests in the hotel’s 4 restaurants and 4 bars . The hotel offers a 24 hrs service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roc Barlovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barlovento Hotel Varadero
Barlovento Cuba
Gran Caribe Club Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
Barlovento Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing