We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Tortuga - you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked last minute trip for 2 weeks all inclusive and it was a good value vacation.
The hotel is nice and clean, it has vast open spaces and green gardens.
The location is good, just a few minutes from the center and soooo close to the beach. The beach was fantastic - white sand, very quite, enough of sunbeds.
At first we were placed in a room with leaking AC, but were moved to a different room without any problems. We did not stay in the oceanfront property, but our room (close to the reception) was really specious and full of light. It was actually way bigger than rooms close to the pool. Several times we had issue with the electronic door keys to the room and we did not have hot water few times but it was always fixed the same day.The food is ok and there is plenty of choice, but repetitive. However people should realize this is Cuba, communist country, therefore the food will indeed be different.
If you are used to luxury, make sure to book a 5 star resort.
Overall we had a good time and would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nice and clean hotel. I stayed there in March 2008. Good food, drinks and unforgettable magnificent turquoise sea! The Hotel has a great location. Just a few minutes walk from market place. Don´t need to use a bus. Very safe country. You must visit Havana and all those wonderful places there - Capitol, Bar El Floridita, La Bodeguita etc... I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ada7401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is our 3rd time at Villa Tortuga and unfortunately we noted a worsening particularly regarding restaurant and food:
Floor in the buffet restaurant was always soaking wet and the restaurant was always dirty and with a lot of flies; food is bad even for Cuba standards, each day the food selection was poor, similar and very repetitive and lineups were pretty long for food at times, especially during week end days.
A part from food this hotel is still a good cheap options in Varadero
Staff: great friendly people from reception to bartenders… for sure you won’t find your favorite whisky selection at the bars but you will be always served with a great smile
Rooms: basic and clean; fridge was not working on our arrival but they fixed it quickly.
Beach: is always the best in Varadero.
Final Tip: If you are looking for a 4-5 Star this is not your place: upgrade to another hotel if you can afford it or go without high expectations and you will probably have an nice time there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ForeverDyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

A cheap vacation. We cose this place because only the flight was 849 and a 2 weeks all inclusive here was 1000€. We had an luxe room at the sea side. This room is larger than standard ones and has a view of the blue sea. Only it was dirty. Cleaning was making the beds and cleaning the flor but for the rest was DIRTY: wals, toilets, shower. We gave tip every day but the cleaning laydies were making animals out of the towels than clean! The beds were clean and good to sleep into. The restaurant was even more dirty. The table cloth was turned in place of changed , the bain-marie to keep the fiid warm was not changed for weeks, the coffee machine was never cleaned. Dirty all over! The food itself was kind of OK. I think you cauld find each day something to eat and the sweets were realy good. Only there were flys all over! Nobody from the staff were keeping the flys away. We went outside the resort to eat as well but the foid is no better!The beach was kept kleen and for out of seson time were enough chairs.
In Cuba is comunism, meaning people dont have money or material stuff. They don't work hard since they are paid all the same. If I will go again in Cuba I will chose an resort with at least 4 stars! I will never go again or advise somebody to go to Vila Tortuga!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarmenEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good hotel this is my family, living within 5 miles of the hotel but it takes a few days of vacation,my son's birthday in Cuba, good attention, good price,day at the beach wonderful, the room good according to the price,

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank varadero2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed here in Apr 2013 for two nights. As our first experience in Cuba is was a bit of a disappointment. This is a tired facility lacking much charm, but functional. The staff tried their best to help out and take care of issues, but they don't seem to have good training or many options. Once we checked out the other hotels on the strip we realized that Tortuga is not unusual in Varadero. If you are looking for an inexpensive place to just enjoy some beach time this will work, but don't expect much. We played tennis and ping pong everyday and they have exactly 2 racquets (from the 1980's) for each sport and I think maybe 1 tennis ball. So if you hit the ball over the fence, you'd better not lose sight of it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bookedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This all inclusive 7 day trip through Air Transat only Costed us $600USD after taxes. The hotel was small; surprisingly clean & very quiet in January. The rooms are old fashioned, but clean; the view nothin to brag home about, but the lovely weather made up for it. The staff were helpful & friendly (the young male staff, very flirtatious). the bars don't have much variety in drinks, although plenty of Havana club was available, so can't complain.

I loves that the resort complex had the feel of an open air; adobe coloured; faded grandeur of a Cuban villa. The hallways were actually open verandahs, so the walk in and out of our hotel rooms were always a treat with the breeze & swaying palm tree views! This was definitely a pleasure.

The buffet food was surprisingly delicious and some nights the chicken dish and the bean rice were the highlights! Would suggest don't try the cut fruits on display: there were fat flies sitting on the fruits & it looked like the fruits were out for days.

The pool was very cold, hence the pool area was mostly dead.

Also, look for a gentleman by the name of Alain, who mainly hangs out in the beachside bar. He arranges the volleyball tourneys. He also arranged for a day trip to Havana & Matanzas (Alain was also our tour guide that day), traveling in the museum-worthy 1950's style American cars. The beauty of this was trip was that it cost us exactly 50% less than what the air conditioned bus trip to Havana tour costs through the hotel.


  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#21 of 64 in Varadero
1,963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#55 of 64 in Varadero
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#43 of 64 in Varadero
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#46 of 64 in Varadero
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#53 of 64 in Varadero
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga

Address: Calle 9 e/ Boulevard y Ave. Kawama | Matanza, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £63 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accepts VISA, Mastercard, and AmEx from non-US banks only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga Hotel Varadero
Tortuga Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing