We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think you will get the picture”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Ranked #26 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I think you will get the picture”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This will tell you everything, male bald bartender has a bad attitude and if I were his boss I would fire him. Lets kind of sum up the food - watery scrambled eggs (with the odd noodle and pea in there??) for breakfast, soggy french fries at lunch and voila at supper the left over eggs were layered with left over french fries and then covered in disgusting cheese and it now is a casserole - I think you get the picture. At the bar dont dare ask for a mojito as they will tell you that you have to go to Havana for that. I think you get the picture

Room Tip: Stay any where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    1,254
    834
    479
    426
See reviews for
1,099
1,197
135
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I was just at Brisas Del Caribe for Christmas 2011! I have been to this hotel a few different times and I keep going back because the hotel staff are great( Love Daura), the food is typical for Cuba and the Hotel is beautiful! I would recommend this hotel to other travellers!

Room Tip: Air conditioner worked too well! I had to turn it down it worked so good!! I like the north rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank reginasask123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Went for some much needed rest and relaxation and tried to go with an open mind that the food would not be top notch, but could not have anticipated the poor quality. The buffet food was bad and not even warm unfortunately. Cheese used in pasta and pizza is so smelly and gross, makes pizza inedible. Breakfast you can at least get an omlette made, fried eggs or crepes. Scrambled eggs watery and bacon so fatty and floppy. Once saw the smoothie lady motioning to one of the male employees and trying to not attract attention to what was on her cutting board. Couldn't see what it was but am pretty sure it was not something good (looked like giant bug or even worse from my view)? He grabbed it nonchalantly and then they noticed me watching and shrugged it off. Watched to see if she would wipe off that cutting board..unfortunately no... Lunch and dinner you can get pasta made up. Hamburgers at the beach grill were all right at least. Ate at the Italian 3 times. First time the minnestrone soup was hearty and fantastic. Figured we would stick to what we liked. Second time ok too, third time it was like consomme and had no flavor or vegetables. Guess it depended what supplies were available? Salad too would change from day to day. Oh and you can't make dinner reservations or order their lobster special on Sunday which was our last dinner, not that they ever told us that at check in. We talked out way in the door a couple of times at a la cartes. They say they can't take you but when you look around the place is almost empty. Do some sweet talking? Same at all resorts even in Mexico it seems? Checked out a few rooms before settling in. First floor room smelled so bad and musty just like the zoo's tropical house. Buggy too. Second room looked into trees, third at least looked over the pool on the third floor. Bathroom not too appealing. Water in tub dripped non stop and sink, tub etc. not in good repair or very clean. Take shampoo, shower gel of your own, theirs is not good. Hair dryer ok but the only regular plug is under the tv and would not really hold whatever you plugged in to charge; had to prop it up with a shoe to keep stable? Maid's room right outside door loud in the morning and pool music blasts from 9a.m. on. Saw someone's room way in the back and it was much bigger and bathroom nicer, but long walk to the beach and no view at all is a tradeoff. Pillows very thin and bed spreads holey.Take plastic glasses or mugs for drinks. They use flimsy, tiny ones that are useless unless you at least double them up. Drinks depended on the bartender, but with the cups so small there is not a lot they can do. They end up strong believe it or not (unlike Mexico) but not really that great. Pina Colada is at least premixed. Brisas Special drink usually ok too. Asked for Mojito once but they were out of mint. Best ones we had were at a restaurant beside a club in downtown area. That was a great experience for sure. Beach is so beautiful it makes the trip worth while! Weather was sunny and hot except for our first day thanks goodness! Have been to lots of places in Mexico and as a 4 star resort the system is definitely different in Cuba. Dreamed of a big plate of chips, salsa and guacomole the whole trip and what drive through to hit on the ride home from the airport. Unfortunately even that didn't last long as was violently sick by morning. Nice! At least it wasn't while there and we only went for 4 nights! Felt bad for the people we left behind that still had to finish a full week. Sorry but next time it is back to Mexico for me. Except for a few great bartenders and a la carte servers I just kind of felt like I was an inconvenience the them. Mexican resort employees just seem so much more welcoming. Glad we had a good deal and didn't take the whole family with us but did enjoy the experience... once!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the main floor. Smells like the tropical house at the zoo! Rooms way in back are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnipegWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed the week of Dec 16th-23rd 2011. It was a great place. The staff was great. We were on the south side initially but paid for the north side. We were moved the next day which was great because we had a great view of the beach. Keep in mind the South side is newer and more spacious than the North side but it is quite the distance from the beach. The food was ok, but as many people say you don't go to Cuba for the food. The beach was spectacular we spent the whole week in beach chairs. My overall recommendation is go with an open mind, your vacation is what you make of it, if your going to nitpick about stupid little things then stay home, remember this isn't a Westernized country you need to lower your standards a bit! And you can't compare it to Marriott or Hilton no matter what resort you are staying at!

I loved this resort and would most definately go back:)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank worldtraveller807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I have just returned from another great holiday at Brisas. This was my 10th time there and it hasn't changed.What makes this place special is the staff.Had great service from Roibel and Jose in the buffet,they were very helpful as was the rest of the staff in the restaurants. You will always find something to eat,you will not go hungry. The pasta guy makes some great dishes,also all the shrimp and red snapper fish you can eat at the grill and while I was there all you can eat lobster on Fridays.Did the ala carte restaurants and they were also fine.Had great service from all bartenders who have now become friends. Make sure that you go to the piano bar on the 3rd floor,it's always a great time.The week that I was there,Oriole was the bartender and he always served with a smile.I want to especially thank llamis and Gisel for their hospitality and Julio for keeping the grounds well kept by the gym and introducing me to the gym trainer.As always the beach is beautiful,the sand is white and cool to the feet,the nicest that I have been on. George and his partner will make sure to get you a chair and also have it there for you for the rest of your holidays.Do not hesitate to go to Brisas,just go with an open mind and enjoy the cuban culture and people. Treat them with respect and you will get so much in return. Thanks again for another great holiday,Gary from Niagara Falls

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank garyvanderkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Everything about this place was fantastic. I am dying to get back. The beach is amazing, so is the staff and food. Lots of things to do...I went snorkelling, Skydiving and its very close to Havana. Everything can be arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This was our 5th all inclusive vacation and the first time we stayed at a 4 star resort – all the others have been 5 stars. We were a bit worried dropping a star especially in Cuba, but when it was all said and done there was nothing to worry about. Was it as nice as a 5 star, no, but it wasn’t that far off. The price difference $600 - $800 extra pp that we paid in the past for a 5 star honestly isn’t worth it. This resort was a little tired, but the rooms were clean, the pool was nice, the ocean was great and the service was comparable to anywhere we have ever been. I read a lot of complaints about the food, but it was fine – cooked to order omelets for breakfast, a pasta bar for lunch in the buffet, al a carte restaurants for dinner and a 24 hour snack bar serving pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs, sandwiches and fries. If you are going on vacation to eat, go to NYC and not the Caribbean.
The only complaint the ladies had was with the bathrooms by the pool. They were fine for the men, but the ladies had a tough time as there was never any toilet paper and the toilets weren’t cleaned often enough. The resort is small so it didn’t take much longer to use the bathroom in the room that it did to walk to the public bathrooms, which the ladies did after the first day. The 5 of us all agreed that if we could get this resort for around the same price point of $925 all in, we would go back in a second. Hopefully this helps.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank canadianwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#35 of 64 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,901 reviews
4.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
1.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas del Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas del Caribe Hotel

Property: Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Address: Carretera Las Morlas, km 12 1/2, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#21 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas del Caribe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas del Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Caribe Cuba
Cuba Brisas Del Caribe
Brisas Del Caribe Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing