We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisas del Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed Jan 3-10

Overall, we were very satisfied with our vacation to the Brisas del Caribe! All the staff were amazing! Front desk checkin was fast and friendly. Changing money there was easy and safe. We were given rooms in the South section which I would recommend. It is close to everything. We did however get rooms on the bottom floor which was convenient but the rooms did smell musty. Not a big problem since we were only there to sleep. The pillows were hard so if you can, bring your own. :). Our maid Mildrey was the sweetest and took very good care of us.

The beaches were great. There were always plenty of beach chairs and a hotel security guard that would watch over your stuff. We always chose a spot that was close to the pool bar so our drinks were never far away. I suggest bringing your own red solo cups so you don't have to make as many trips. We only swam in the pool one day and it was nice as well. Not cold as others have suggested. Note: If you are travelling with kids, bring your own beach toys. Volleyball, tennis raquets, ping pong paddles etc. There are rarely any at the towel hut to use which leads to dissappointed kids.

The staff at both the pool bar and the lobby bar are excellent. They gave us such great service the entire week. Even when it was busy there is not much of a wait since they are that good and always serve you with a smile.

If you are doing excursions, both the jeep safari and the catamaran are must dos. Great experience and the lunches are the best food you will eat all week!!!

On the resort, we mostly ate at the main buffet. The wait staff is so friendly. It was not that busy so we always got our same table on the patio. They always saw us coming and made every attemt to make our time special. I did not find the lineups at the grill area that bad. 3 to 10 mins tops at the busiest times. As for the food....you will not starve. Its not great but if you just stick to the basics it is fine. If you have kids, you may want to pack as many snacks from home as you can.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the upper floor in the south section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank noront1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    1,222
    809
    467
    411
See reviews for
1,072
1,146
132
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We know that it's Cuba. We kept reminding ourselves over the week of New Year's that we were at Brisas del Caribe. However, there are some details that cannot be overlooked. First of all, a comment to bewitchedincuba: Administration also told us that there were 900 people at the resort during the week and that the resort was completely full. This was their reason for not being able to provide us with a bottle of water for 2 days (they ran out), not being able to give us more than one key card (they ran out), and not being able to put toilet paper in the rooms (they ran out). I don't feel that I should have to line up at 7:30 am for an omelet to avoid waiting 30 minutes in line. I don't feel that I should have to stand at the doors to wait for the dinner buffet to open so that the chef can give me some fresh fish without waiting another 40 minutes. There is one computer with internet access for the entire resort and it is annoying to wait for children to check their facebook page when I need to check on the welfare of a family member back home.

Not everything was horrible. The beach is sandy and shallow. The employees do their best and they were the highlight of the week.

I say never again because having travelled extensively through the Caribbean, this would have to be the worst resort we have ever visited. There are so may other and better options that are also affordable!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dragonseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Simcoe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

It is very disheartening to read the poor reviews from prior guests, especially when I was digging out of a foot of snow the day we left (Dec. 27-Jan.3) only to land in beautiful Cuba with 33C weather. The Brisas Del Caribe resort was wonderful. The people made it the most special! I must address some of the former comments that are quite irritating. #1 bug bites: You are in a tropical environment and I'm sure a mosquito or two with fly in your room, try living in Northern Ontario for a spring and you will understand what the term bug bite really means #2. The Buffet: I was warned about the Cuban resort food and overall I found it to be good. The cheeses, meats, croissants and fresh salads were my fav. The 3 restaurants that Smithlasmith said were closed were the a la carte restaurants which required reservations. We attended the New Year's Eve buffet and the International dinner and both were awesome! #Buffet Lineups: First off all there were not even 900 people at the resort, Craig7060, and surely not a lineup of that length for the buffet. The best time to go was at 7:30 a.m. when it first opened. Have any of you lined up at Tim Horton's for a coffee or waited in a drive thru line???? You are on holidays, relax!
Allow me to now tell you HOW GREAT OF A STAY WE HAD!! We had a (myself and my 2 teen daughters) a gorgeous room overlooking the pool, sparrows came every morning to our balcony to greet us, the coffee was amazing, the drinks especially the white wine, cerveza and Copacabanas were great, we brought our own plastic cups so we always had alot, the maid always went out of her way to make the room special, the waiter (we love you Dennis) was very attentive and always helpful, the pool bar, beach grill, live bands, the other guests from Russia, Canada, China, Ireland, Austria were fab, the 24 grill also had great fries, hotdogs and pizza. New Years Eve was an awesome Party with dancing, live music and performances, there was always music playing so you didn't need a mp3 and I could text since Rogers Cubacell was on my network. The Delfinario just down the road was a lifechanging experience for my daughter as she got to swim with dolphins, the grounds were landscaped out of Home and Garden. Overall a wonderful experience! We are returning for Easter 2013

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view garden view room, 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We just arrived back on Jan 8, 2013 and we thought this hotel looked ok from the pictures and reviews on line wellllll where we shocked. First the hotel wasn't that bad but the rooms on the south side were horrible, the bathroom door didn't close there was no light in our bathroom and our kids bathroom I requested it to be repaired and nothing was done. I ran out of tolet paper no one came after I called 3 times, both our bathrooms were clogged and I also called 3 times to have them repaired no one showed up latter I saw a worker walking the grounds with a plunger no where close to our room and I had to tell him to uncloge our bathroom.

The food where do I begin...... It was horrible I'm not a picky eater but the food there was bad just looking at it. The fish is not fresh at all and you can smell fish anytime of the day in the dinning room that's not a good sign. The cooks we'll call them cooks they can't cook and most times don't even know what there cooking thet always burn the burgers from the outside and not cooked at all on the inside, the fries are always cold the meets that are on the beffet looks gross and the best is at the grill they place uncooked fish under a heat lamp which no one orders and later they reuse it again and you see black spots on the fish. They always run out of fries, diet cola and pizza dough the line up for the grill could be up to an hour and it's not worth the wait.

The staff.....their not bad some are rude where I had to tell one of them to apologies about a rude remark she was telling her co-worker when I ordered a virgin drink, the hotel is boaring really not much to do. The hotel caters to a lot of locals and Russians, in conclusion DO NOT GO HERE AT ALL.

Room Tip: The south side is far from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We travelled around Cuba over the Christmas period and decided to book into this reasonably priced hotel for a new year treat. The staff ere very friendly generally and the rooms were clean and tidy. Unfortunately, there was no hot water for 2 days and we woke up with several insect bites.

Unfortunately, we found the buffet restaurant to be seriously lacking (even for Cuba). The hygieve of serving utensils was very poor and the staff cooking at the hot plates were using dirty pans and dirty cloths. If you wanted something from the hot plate you had to join an endless queue as there was only every one server. The food was the same pretty much every day. There were 3 other restaurants but all were closed. The snack restaurant was open and served reasonable snack type food. The snack bar near the pool ran out of food one day. The staff were apologetic. The bar in reception often ran out of anything apart from white rum. Expect drinks in plastic cups. The coffee bar was good.

The pool areas are both nice. The jacuzzi was empty of water. There are no toilets near the main pool open. Only the toilets in reception were open (1 male cubicle for a nearly full hotel!)

Mini golf - 1 club and 1 ball only. So, not suitable for a family. Same for tennis - only 2 rackets.

The beach is very nice and the beach activities were reasonable.

Overall - disappointing and we would not return to this resort.

Room Tip: The rooms around the smaller pool are quieter. In the main block you are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smithlasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We just got back from Brisas. We have traveled through the Caribbean for quite awhile including now 5 times to Cuba. On this occasion we a party of eight family member adults, sharing four rooms.

Our flight to the resort with Sun wing was great the airline is nothing but good. Our arrival and transfer to the resort was without any issues.

Upon arrival we were given four rooms in the "D" block 500 series areas of the resort. Room 503,504,505 and 509.

The rooms were far from the beach but nicely close to a large pool and snack bar / restaurant.

Rooms:

The rooms were tired with the televisions barley working other than static. The room came equipped with a fridge which was not stocked. The rooms also did not come with drinking water or toilet paper.

We had to camp out at reception on two occasions in order to get toilet paper and water. Their excuse was they had run out of water, even though the restaurants workers were walking by carrying cases of it.

I noticed after sleeping that i was covered in bits on my ankles and forearms but couldn’t see any insects?

Pool:
The pool area was nice; the whirlpool was broken and partially filled.
The bar around the distant pool had great staff working with equipment which was continually breaking down (Beer taps, Pina colada/ Lemonade Machine, Ice Machine etc.)

Beach:
Nice Beach

Food:
The buffet had the same food every day, with little change. They had one server for 900 people if you wanted fish, hamburgers, and beef or in the morning omelette or fried eggs. They had one server serving 900 people for the pasta bar an in the am pancake. This caused long line ups at the best of times.

The ala carte restaurants were good with great service and they had lobster on New Year’s which was great.

Service:
Roy in the buffet and "Anthony" at the 24 hr snack bar were awesome. The room cleaning lady did the best she could with her limited resources.

The hotel for 900 guests has only one computer for internet access for guest to use. This was frustrating if you have to check on emails (I know vacation, but we still have livelihoods)

Out of 30 plus resorts we have been to i rate this one as the worst we have ever been to. They need a change of administration who knows how to look after the needs of their clients. They have good staff in the restaurant and room service, but they need the ability to have the material (food, water toilet paper) to do their jobs.

Until then I’d give this resort a big stay away as far as you can rating.

Room Tip: Stay Away from this hotel until they get their logistics and senior staff in order
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cventure70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

There are so many good and bad things to say about this place, it's hard to decide on a rating....
The rooms are of a good size. Not all of the lights worked and there was a musty smell throughout our stay, despite leaving the doors open for fresh air. A screen patio door would have been great but hey! It's Cuba! Is strongly suggest bringing your own pillows as the ones provided were not very great. We were lucky to have warm water but other family members that also stayed at the resort were not so lucky. We stayed in room 246, not far from the lobby. We didn't have troubles with noise (for those who are worried). Speaking of noise - do not use the air conditioner unless you need to... We opted not to - not only would it make the room impossibly cold, the noise would keep you up.

The premises is very well maintained. Expect to see nice gardens and clean areas. We didn't spend very much time at the pool but did notice that the water was very cold. Make sure to keep your towel clean; getting a new one is a chore. They were usually out of clean towels and didn't seem too concerned about it. The beach is beautiful - typical Varadero beach. The staff is helpful and a bar and grill are nearby. Lots of activities thoughout the day both at the pool and at the beach.

Now for the food - bad. You can find something edible, but never anything good. The à la carte restaurants aren't any better. On the other hand, the service is excellent. If you have a chance, ask for Gisele or for Anyer at the buffet. You won't be disapointed.

The food, rooms and service in the lobby weren't exceptional; however, the people are nice and the beach is beautiful. It's a typical Cuban 4 star resort. If you want to travel for the experience, choose this resort. If you're looking for luxury, forget about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CHMOORE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,723 reviews
3.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
1.6 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas del Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas del Caribe Hotel

Property: Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Address: Carretera Las Morlas, km 12 1/2, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas del Caribe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Brisas del Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Caribe Cuba
Cuba Brisas Del Caribe
Brisas Del Caribe Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing