We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 5 December 2013

by far a fussy person, but the food was not enough variety, no friend which is odd for cuba no potatoes, at all till the end mashed looked like soup. pasta was horrid. pop was only orange, cola and sprite, no DISCO at night . VERY BORING RESORT AFTER THE ENTERTAINEMNT SHOW 11ISH IS WHEN IT IS DONE...nte slow. demands tips or slow service. have tp pay for your beach towles but do get a deposit back, we brought out our own, lobby bars is the place to hang after dinner. or thats it or the 24 hour easting restraunt, bar there, tips demanded as well. theyhave some kind of bug problems as they spreayed fumigated while the wore masks the day before we arrived there, one pool but big and cold at this time of yr. jacuzzi pool small and a pool bar. no swim up bar. beds are like boxes and uncomfrotable but hey so who stays in room ? lack of sppons for any desert or ice cream. on the good points now, stafff iver friendley do anything to help and accomidate you . even manager. every staff member smiling ...beach is fantastic but what verdero beach area isnt? this resort cators to 60 and over... and a very very boring resort , i have stayed at arnias dorada and loved it and allso memories , im going to stick to memories and playa dorada as i was fed well and enjoyed the lack of boredom. melias are good as well i havent tried it yet but heard they feed you well. and nice resort and ssomething to do for everyone. i reccomned verdero tip in town to the bettles bar, they play pearl jam live , ac dc, andlost more of classic rock live bands. they were very very good..... starts at 10 pm every night and no charge to get in 2 paso a beer bottles, and its like bein at a concert... town of verdero people are just amazing.

Room Tip: small resort no room is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank legz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear legz:

Sorry you have not enjoyed your stay in our hotel, because for us, customer satisfaction is our only concern.
We struggle to assimilate the idea that our staff work for tips, when in previous reviews reflected the professionalism with which we work. We characterized the good service and the desire to bridle the best of us.
We apologize once again for your holiday with us was not satisfactory.
Thank you very much for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 4,009 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This is my 30th time at brisas. I stay for 19 days from Novmeber 5 - 24th . Thanks to everyone . Michelle and I had a great time . They are improving as much as they can, it takes longer to get things done then back home . Food is getting better. The beach is beautiful !! Hope on returning in the new year !! Thanks again for everything !!!

Stayed: November 2013
6  Thank nickbianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Our Loved Nick Bianchi:
What to write you??you are our family, the people here don´t see you like a client, you are part of us, you are a friend. thank you for trust in us all this years. we are waiting for the next one. greetings to you and all your family from all the staff in Brisas del Caribe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This review is from September 2011, my wife says I'm a procrastinator....guess she's right.
This was a birthday present from my wife and I've never received a better gift in my life.We have loved Cuba since our honeymoon in 2009 and can never get enough.
This resort was amazing for us, the beach and the pools were great...combat the fantastic heat...the food was average but very edible so you won't starve when you're there. Everyone was super friendly and helpful....drinks were delicious....the grounds are kept nicely....a very good resort....recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeloveCuba0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear WeloveCuba0731:
sun sand and friends! thank you very much for your review and for recommending us. We are pleased that your stay in our company has been unforgettable. Thanks for trusting us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I visited this resort nov.8-16,we arrived about 5 am and the room was ready.The bathrooms need to be renovated and so glad we brought our own pillows.We were on the fourth floor overlooking the main pool, a great view.This is our fourth visit to cuba all different resorts ,so we know what to expect and so far good food isn't one of them. We were surprized that only the lobby bar had a blender for those type of smoothy drinks, also the bartender there did not know how to make them. Am I being picky ? maybe but its just something we love. The lobby coffe bar made great coffees any type you want and the Spanish coffee before bed were delicious. Wow like all the resorts we have stayed at in varadero the beach was awesome. The pool and all staff were great, thanks to baby,raoul, Emilia and all entertainment people you are awesome people.I cant stress enough people please give tips or anything to these people they really appreciate . I saw Raoul the pool bar waiter bring a tray of beer to the beach with no tip.We also leave most of our shampoos deoderants , tshirts etc. and pick out who gets our small bubbas.This year we gave them to the night security guard on the beach,he and i had some good talks .One story is he loves to run but cannot afford running shoes so he runs to work on the beach bare feet.Thats the way it is there they only make 20-30 dollars a month so anything helps.Like I say food isn't that good so we did find a good Chinese food place in varadero ,its called lai lai, very good. My advise is stick to a 5 star and sorry for my spelling. Love cuba, except for the food.

Room Tip: always fourth floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear transitman:
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are very glad that you lived great moments with our staff. is unfortunate that people like you who enjoy your holidays in Cuba, the food is not to your liking. strive to eliminate these gaps over hindering our performance. Once again grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Brisas for the week of November8-15th. Yes the hotel is old and in need of repair in some areas. Our room was in the main building (the south building is closed in low season). room 301. We had an updated room with a large COLD fridge, flat screen tv and a new dvd player. The bed was not very comfortable and the pillows were a joke. However, our maid was a sweetheart and the room was spotlessly cleaned everyday.

The buffet was your run-of-the-mill not so great Cuban food but we managed to find something we liked every meal.

This hotel had some real good entertainment on the terrace at night and in the lobby.

The beach of course is one of the best in the world and we walked it every day for 1 or 2 hours. Very clean!

This hotel was booked very last minute (3 days before) and we pretty much new what to expect. No surprises.

The people I do want to applaud are firstly-Sunwing Vacations--we had a direct flight, good food during the flight and they do take cash for any purchases you make, including duty free on board which was great. Our Sunwing rep at the hotel Herman was very helpful as well.

Secondly, ALL the staff at the Brisas went out of their way to accommodate us! Everyone from the front desk, lobby bar, dining room, housekeeping, couldn't have asked for better service and this is why I would say that I probably wouldn't return to this hotel but the staff made our stay that much better.

We are used to 5 star resorts but in this case if you are on a budget, definitely give it a chance. And please people don't forget you are only treated as well as you treat others!!!

Room Tip: The main building is close to the pool and beach while the south building is further away and defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Jill C:
We want to thank you for the time you took to post your review. For us is very important, because is the way that we have to feedback the work we have done.

Moreover we also want to thank you for having chosen us to enjoy your holiday reason satisfy us, and forces us to work in different weak points you mentioned in your review. Thank you very much.
Greetings from Brisas del Caribe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Varadero is a beautiful place the beaches are well maintained.The staff(in certain departments) at Brisas Del Caribe gave us good service the housekeeper who attended to me was amazing her name is Melba she deserves a promotion.The dinning staff showed us good hospitality Geidi,Lazaro,Yonika, gave quality serivice.
The hotel was dreadful the smell of gas in the hallway lingered constantly(this is a health hazard ) and nobody did anything about it.The food was poorly presented and tasted bland "Salad" meant cucumbers cut in 6 different ways sliced,chopped,diced,in pasta,in rice etc.The snack bar was even more dreadful the choices are slim and undesirable .I had to wait a whole day to get my room luckily i had friends who arrived before me .The receptionists are rude and have a nonchalant way of responding.If you book this hotel you will get dissapointed the decor,food,rooms its definatly not a 4 star its more like 2.5.I asked to speak to the manager about these issues but he/she was busy.
DONT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: My friends got a room in the 1st floor it was old and in need of serious maintainance they only got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GURU G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guru G:
First of all thank you spent the time to post a review at the same time, we want to apologize because their holiday was not very satisfactory in our facility.
We will recognize and reward workers you mentioned because they are already well recognized and mentioned in other published reviews, with reasons to highlight the good work of these workers will carry out these tasks.
As the same time we will look at every area of ​​our organization that affected your stay at our facility.

Greetings from Brisas del Caribe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We never thought we could afford an all-inclusive dream resort in the Caribbean, however, we were extremely disappointed by Brisas del Caribe.
The beach is amazing and the evening shows are entertaining. Some of the waiters and bar staff are really friendly. However there were many things that we really did not like.
First of all, the check-in staff is mostly unpleasant and reluctant to give complete information to the guests. At the reception they are completely unhelpfull and the only answers you get are 'yes' or 'no' (mostly 'NO').
Our room on the 4th floor was damp and smelled 'musty'.
The internet service is sold at a premium price (10 $ per hour), but it does not work at all (one hour just to send an email, the most expensive email in my life). When complaining about it, the front-desk did not care at all.
When darkness arrived on the first night, our ensuite bathroom was invaded by cockroaches. Once again the front desk staff did not seem much bothered by our complaint and even seemed surprised about it. The only solution offered was to move to a room at the first floor, where the lady claimed she would expect even more cockroaches to show up! We had to solve the issue ourselves by covering up the sink-hole in the floor with the bin. The cleaning lady did not even have the cleaning product to wash away the dead roaches.
In the lobby there is a post office selling stamps and taking care of mailing the postcards on behalf of the guests, however, the official opening and closing times were really 'flexible' (one day the lady left two hours earlier to never come back!)
On our last day, it was raining really heavily and in the lobby it was raining as well!
As for the guests, sometimes to much freedom is left to the drunken guests almost fighting at the pool bar twice in a day, without the security taking care of it.
To sum up, the worst thing of it all was that the front desk staff did not take into consideration our complaints and even seemed bothered about it.
We would not recommend this hotel to any of our friends visiting Cuba.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarandonga15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisell A, Public Relations Manager at Brisas del Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

First of all want to tell you, we feel that you have not been able to fully enjoy your vacation, the hotel management has created a working group to conduct a thorough investigation into all aspects of the way that they affect the development of the tourism operation we have been doing.
Thank you for feedback our job, and for the time that you spent in write this review. We will keep informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.2 mi away
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
7 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#19 of 64 in Varadero
2,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#25 of 64 in Varadero
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
#42 of 64 in Varadero
1,901 reviews
3.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Varadero
6.7 mi away
Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach
Hotel Gran Caribe Sunbeach
#59 of 64 in Varadero
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas del Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas del Caribe Hotel

Address: Carretera Las Morlas, km 12 1/2, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#17 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas del Caribe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Atrapalo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brisas del Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Caribe Cuba
Cuba Brisas Del Caribe
Brisas Del Caribe Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing