We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a beautiful resort. Overall, it was a fantastic week, with a few hitches.
The food here is really, really good. Dinners at Il Lemoncello and Arcada were great: good food and excellent service. Take the 7 o'clock reservation at Lemoncello on the beach deck for sunset - it will be a trip highlight. The hotel buffet is good, with made-to-order options at every meal, and decent selection. Housekeeping was excellent. Room service was ok, and convenient. We were in a bungalow, so pickup of the dirty dishes would have been nice.
Drinks on the hotel veranda in the evening were a lovely end to the day. Service on the veranda ranged from frustratingly absent to good.
The shows are fun, and there are tons of activities if you're looking to be active. I liked the beach fashion show, and the bands playing beside the beach grill.
The beach is great. We were lucky and had calm seas every day but one. The water was warm, almost hot at times.
The catamaran cruise day trip was great - definitely worthwhile.
The little mall up the street is handy. There's a grocery/liquor store, cigars, and clothes/swimwear in case you've forgotten something.
The hitches:
The beds are awful. The mattresses are extremely hard, and have a rubbery covering that makes noise every time you move. You can make up the sleep napping on the beach, but that should be optional, not necessary.
The service at lunchtime in the restaurant beside the pool wasn't just bad - it was rude. This is a complete downer in the middle of a vacation day. We didn't bother going back any dinnertimes, as a repeat performance was just not the kind of mood we were looking for.
Despite billing this as an adults-only resort, there were a few kids around. Sorry, but this should not be allowed. If you're looking for a family resort, go to a family resort. If you're looking for a week of quiet, you should be able to trust that the rules will be applied.

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow and would choose that again. It was quiet, and offered lots of space. And af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKD_Calg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very thankful for your taking the time to share your experience with others and for your nice comments about our hotel and its surroundings.

I am pleased that you considered your stay a great experience. We know that there is still a lot to be done and we are working harder and harder everyday to make it better.

As an Adults Only Hotel, we may assure you that we never accept clients under 18 years old. About the incidents with children that you comment, we are carrying out an investigation and we will take the necessary measures to avoid the occurrence of similar situations in the future.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of your visit any time soon.

Cordial greetings,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,028
    1,496
    431
    159
    68
See reviews for
620
2,855
334
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hey, it's Cuba, so paradise comes with a few caveats. But really, you can't go far wrong with this hotel. The grounds are truly beautiful, the beach is perfect. A variety of different pool areas gives you something new to try each day ( unlike some hotels where it seems that there is just one nice area and everyone tries to get their beach towel on it by 7am. ) And it's one of the few resorts I've ever been to where it is perfectly feasible to score one of those lovely pool-side beds mid-day, when it just seems like TOO much effort to make it back to your room for a nap. And if the beds are all full, there's always a beach side hammock that will do rather nicely.

The staff range from nice to fantastic, with a special hello to Mercedes in the main restaurant, who is just the most enthusiastic and friendly person I've ever met.

As for the negatives, well, it IS Cuba and nobody goes there for the food. Avoid anything in a buffet style pre-warmed bin and you'll be fine. There are always better choices to be had by patronizing the pasta station or grill. If nothing else, you can always live on prosciutto for the week, as there is always a plentiful supply. ( And really, who wouldn't want to live on prosciutto for a week? )

The other negative is that this hotel is getting a bit old, and some of the rooms are starting to show it. Nothing dreadful mind you, but the tv is our room looked like it might have been a loaner from North Korea. Well, I guess one has to reminded that you're in a communist nation somehow...

Room Tip: Junior bungalow rooms in the 6200 block seem to have been renovated, so aim for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingPook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are genuinely thankful for your positive opinions about your last stay in our Hotel.

I’m offering my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding some of the dishes offered at the Buffet restaurant although we may assure you, that they are freshly prepared every day and the menu is thoroughly selected to satisfy the varied tastes of our clientele.

We should also like to inform you that we are carrying out some renovations to update the image and improve the whole product to meet all our guests´s needs.

We will gladly let our staff know about your kind comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services and we will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasalle, QC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at the Melia Las Americas, first week of April. I was travelling with my daughter and a friend, and they loved it. Everything met our expectations. The food was great, especially at the Arcada and the Limoncello restaurants. We have very much appreciated the upgrade to the bungalow, which was facing the pool and very close to the beach, it was very clean and spacious. We also enjoyed the pool restaurant; the food was always very good. The staff were very friendly; special thanks to Boris at the reception desk, our maid Nancy, Ricardo the gardener, Sergio, Christian, Edouardo and all the staff form the bungalow pool restaurant. We are planning to go back next winter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others. It’s nice to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was great and that everything met your expectations.
I am pleased also to read that you found our personnel friendly and courteous. We will gladly inform our staff about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.
Looking forward to having the pleasure of your visit next winter.

Cordially,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My husband and I went here during April to get married, it was just the two of us and the staff could not have made it more perfect. Our wedding planner Karina was so organised and beyond helpful, she could not have done enough for us and really went the extra mile to make our day beyond special!! The day itself was stress free (thanks to Karina) and relaxing, would not have changed one thing!! the hotel was beautiful, literally beside the beach which was amazing! the entertainment staff were hilarious and really made every night enjoyable! the bar staff, especially Leslie were brilliant, they made every night enjoyable and very entertaining!! Will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future as our time there was memorable in the best possible way!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your wonderful experience about getting married at Melia Las Americas. I am very glad to know that this special occasion was outstanding and that you found our personnel marvellous, specially Karina, who planned a beautiful wedding for you.
We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to her because comments like yours, motivate her to continue improving the quality of the services she provide.
I hope to have the honor of greeting you in Melia Las Americas very soon.
Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

we have been to the melia hotels a few times and a must say this wasnt up to there high standard,the beach was lovely but as in most places you had to get a towel on a sun bed by 8 at the latest if you wanted some shade ,the food was ok we did try most things but can say we were not impressed but saying that we did find bits here and there .The room was clean and we had a view of the golf coarse which was good there was coffee making and a mini bar.I found the staff all friendly and happy to help,we would'nt go back there as i was dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy-hammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It was very sad to read that you were disappointed, even when you made some positive comments and found our personnel friendly and happy to help. I honestly apologize for not being able to fulfill your expectations.
We would be very pleased to have another opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future.

Kind regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My seventh trip to Melia Las Americas and I am still finding things amazing. First and foremost the staff are incredible. Special thanks to the Pool Bar Staff, Mailyn, Rebecca, Irmina whom I call "Pebbles", Ivan and a very special thanks to my amigo Raul. These people really do their best to make your stay fantastic and if something is not quite right their reply is, Don't worry , I will fix it, relax, you are on vacation. Wow, what a great attitude.
The grounds are kept immaculate thanks to the gardening staff especially Guillermo who speaks fluent English. Stop and say hi to him. You will be amazed at where the conversation goes. The Buffet is great with plenty of selections for every one. Breakfast, have your eggs any style you desire. Lunch and dinner also plenty of variety. Have Juan Carlos do your pasta, you will be pleased. No need to go hungry at this resort, good quality a plenty of it. I don't usually do the speciality restaurants so I have no comment even though Stefano Sturni (Manager) made sure my reservations were booked If I decided to use them. Thanks Stefano. The golf is amazing and you pay for the cart only, $33.00 each. In the busy season be sure to book tee times in advance, online with the resort. Remember that you still need a voucher for each round. Dayanet will be more than happy to look after it. You can get two at a time. No charge for club storage at the course so no need to haul them back to the room. Try the Double Decker bus which takes you past all the resorts to the east and back to down town Varadero. For $5.00 you can get on and off as many times as you want up until around 9:00pm. The Plaza Americas is a short 5 minute walk for shopping, souvenirs, cigars (same price as duty free at the airport) bank, bars and restaurants. Everything is handy and nearby. AMAZING.

Room Tip: Bungalos are my choice. Three great pools, swim up bar, lunch and Bali beds just outside your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBLDPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was OUTSTANDING as a real paradise and you are still dreaming to come back.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all and specially to Pool bar staff as Mailyn, Rebeca, Irmina because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I hope to have the honour of greetinga and reciving again you in Melia Las Americas and soon.

Best regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val David, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to this hotel in three years. Needless to say that we love this resort. The weather was fabulous as was the golf.
We found a great improvement in the selections at the buffet as well as to the quality and quantity. What makes this hotel outstanding is the proximity to the beach and the golf course.But even more so is the warmheartedness of the staff and their willingness to go the extra mile to please you. We appreciate the adults only formula and the laid back and casual atmosphere.

As always there are some people who stand out above the crowd. For us a special thanks is warranted to several staff members. First of all is Emilio in the Cascada bar whose daily attention to service is exemplary. In the buffet Jesus, Yolie, Mercedes and Manuel
stand out as being more than attentive to ones needs. As always i have to make a special note for Orlando in the Il Limoncello restaurant. His good humor and very likable personnality make him one of our favorites. We have taken a special liking to Anabel who works in the Cascada bar. In the four visits we have made we have never seen her without a smile , she is always so warm and friendly and always makes us feel welcome whenever we meet her. She has become almost like a grand daughter to us.

Last but definitely not the least of the appreciated staff is Ana Rosa Bodas at customer service. This lady has got it all together. If you encounter a problem tell her and go to the beach because the problem no longer exists.

This hotel gets good reviews because of the quality of the staff. I sincerely hope that the managers realise this and continue to treat them well because if the staff lose their good humor and warmheartedness this hotel like many others around the Caribbean will lose customers and their reputation.

A special note to travelers. While this hotel is all inclusive try to remember that the staff really appreciate small tips and as a guest you should also go out of your way to show your appreciation for good service. If you visit in Canada you know the cost of tipping here. I would suggest you do the same in Cuba and you will find a very warm reception from the people. More so they have very good memories for faces and spread the among themselves as to who is or is not a good tipper.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean view get a room on the third or fourth floor. Any lower and the view is blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service. We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our staff, as comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas once more.
Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing