We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great food. Clean. Good service. Nice beach and swimmingpools. The room wasnt ready when we arrived, and it had problems with the sink (leaking). Unfortunately the best dining room was only open for couples on honeymoon. Tip; say you are on a honeymoon so you can get make reservations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Christian B,
We appreciate greatly your taking some of your time to share your experience at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. It’s nice to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was great and overall you describe us as a “very nice place”.
I am pleased also to read that you enjoyed the quality and variety of our gastronomic offer and our wonderful beach. Thank you for highlighting also the good service provided by our professional staff. Your comments will definitely encourage me and all my team to continue improving as much as we can our services.
It is possible there was some misunderstanding about the accessibility for our International restaurant La Arcada, where every Friday we offer a Romantic dinner for Honeymooners and clients celebrating their Wedding Anniversaries. Maybe that was the reason because there wasn’t a place available then.
We hope to have the pleasure of your visit next year again.
Best regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,061
    1,512
    438
    162
    68
See reviews for
628
2,887
338
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My first trip to Cuba the food and services were good , amazing beach ; I love the duo musical show at La Cascada bar Bianka and Giancarlo were great ; I love it and next time I will go for two weeks I am looking forward for the next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Eliana Z,
Thank you very much for choosing Meliá Las Américas to enjoy your first visit in Cuba as well as for taking the time to share your pleasant review on Trip Advisor. We are very proud to read that you had an amazing beach vacation in our resort and enjoyed totally our facilities and services.
Our team works exceptionally hard to ensure that we meet the expectations of all our guests. It is very rewarding to know you had such a wonderful time that you have decided to come back in the future, next time for two weeks.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that you will also encourage your friends and family to visit us.
I send you my best regards from the sunny island of Cuba.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Melia Las Americas for two weeks beginning of July, which was one of the best holidays we have ever experienced, all the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The General Manager Mr. Meyer was extremely pleasant and around the hotel all the time making sure that all his guests were happy.
We have already booked to return to the Melia Las Americas next year, and that says it all, it was a perfect place to spend two weeks relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3113 which was at the front of the hotel, which was overlooking the golf course an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear mike I,
I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Las Americas was a one of the best holidays you ever experienced and that our staff made you feels welcomed and pampered. Such comments are very rewarding to our team. We will keep on working hard to provide the best of ourselves and meet our guests´ expectations. Thank you for sharing your lovely memories with other potential travelers on Trip Advisor. We are so grateful for your fantastic review.
It is a pleasure to know you have already booked your next trip. We are happy that you made our resort your destination of choice for the second time around and we look forward to welcoming you once again.
Warmest regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marystown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I spent 2 relaxing and fun weeks at the Melia Las Americas from July 5th to the 19th. This was our third trip to Cuba and this resort was truly the best so far. From the very first day we felt a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Check in at the resort was quite easy.Our first trip to the beach, where we spent most of the time, was also a very different experience from our previous stays in Cuba. Not only does this resort have one of the nicest beaches in Cuba, it was well staffed. What made the beach the best place to be can be attributed to the animation team, especially, Joanna, Lirenia, Beverly, Yeni, Ariel and Robert.They were so skilled at getting people to participate in the daily activities and games at the beach and by the end of two weeks we felt like we were leaving behind friends. We found the food at the buffet to be good with lots of choices on a daily basis. The restaurants were very good as well with the International being our favourite. The string quartet who entertained us at this restaurant was amazing and certainly added to the whole dining experience. We do agree with other reviewers that it was easy to notice the different tastes of the wine in the main buffet and the restaurants, i.e., seemed to be watered down in main buffet. The one negative of this resort was the bed or should I say beds in our room. Two twin beds does not equal a king bed and it was rather uncomfortable in the middle of the night when the beds started to move apart. I expressed my concerns about this setup to the General Manager Mr. Meyer who was very understanding and immediately offered us a new room. With only a few days left on our trip we did not want to move everything in our room again however it was very professional of him to make this offer. He then gave us his business card and asked us to email him if we planned to return and he would see that we would not have the same concern. To us that was very classy and speaks to why most people write such good reviews. Given our experience I would recommend that if you have a concern while staying at this resort just inform Mr. Meyer and he will certainly do his best to address your concern. You will have no problem finding him as he is everywhere. One of the animation member on the beach commented that he was magic because he seems to be everywhere. While we were there we took in all the shows. They were very entertaining and we certainly would be remiss if we did not mention Julio whose also seemed to be everywhere and would keep us informed of the upcoming events at the resort. All in all we loved our experience at this resort and we can't wait to return and see our new friends again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beaton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Beaton W,
We are happy that you had a relaxing and fun vacation at Meliá Las Américas, your best stay in Cuba. We were grateful to get your positive comments about our Staff who made you feel welcomed and your mention by name of those who excelled in the service provided those who made your stay so unforgettable. Such comments go a far way in encouraging our team as we strive to meet the needs and hopes of our guests.
From your remarks, we also understand that there is room for improvement on our part in some details and we will certainly look into them. Guest feedback is very important to us as these are reviewed by our management team with a view to enhancing and improving our current processes.
Thank you for your delightful review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you will not hesitate to book your next vacation with us for visiting your new friends, who will be waiting for you.
Warmest greetings.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to this resort and loved it. Food was good, people and service were good, and the beach was phenomenal - crystal clear and as warm as bathwater!! The room was always very clean and the drinks were never watered down. Our 3 day escape felt like a full week as time seemed to stand still. We highly recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sunny K,
We are sincerely grateful for your lovely review! Hearing that all of your expectations were met at Meliá Las Américas is truly the best reward we may receive and our staff will be delighted to know that their efforts made your stay such an unforgettable one. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our rooms and the quality of our food & beverages offer.
It is so encouraging to read your highly recommendation to other travelers to visit us.
We can't wait to welcome you back for another amazing vacation in the near future.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hotel 05Jul/14 until 12Jul/14. Seven unforgettable days! It was like a fairy tale! Vacation in a true sense of the word! An unforgettable culinary experience! The "art" of doing Tourism and Hospitality well is in knowing how to create that pleasant atmosphere in which the customer feels comfort. Knowledge, appearance, teamwork and hospitality: these are all critically important aspects of quality service. It takes a professional employees to be effective in creating an elegant atmosphere that the customer will appreciate and return to experience, again and again.
MELIA LAS AMERICAS STAFF DID JUST THAT, THANK YOU VERY,VERY MUCH!

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadran d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear jadran d,
Thank you for your pleasant review regarding the seven unforgettable days you spent at Meliá Las Américas. Your glowing comments will serve as reward to our hardworking team. We are proud to have a highly skilled and trained Staff who has been acclaimed by the majority of our guests for the excellent quality of their service. They aim to ensure that each guest has a memorable vacation. Thank you for letting us know you appreciated it.
We were motivated to read how much you had enjoyed your “fairy tale’s vacation, our friendly service, the memorable culinary experience we offer as well as the personalized service & the genuine hospitality of our wonderful staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope that we will become part of all your future vacation plans.
With my very best regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This adults-only resort never has let us down. After arriving, we always feel that we are truly on a holiday and yet we feel at home. The beach is almost at the back door, the food is excellent, and our rooms are kept perfect by the housekeeping staff. We seem to be sincerely welcomed by both staff and management. The general manager, Mr. Bernard Meyer, is always in sight and he is a fine, courteous and professional gentleman. A tribute to the Melia chain.
Anyone who wants a 'special' vacation, must try this resort hotel. After being to many all inclusive resorts, the Melia is by far the best. Can't wait to be back on the beach, under a tree, reading a book and listening to the gentle activity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear EAM 93,

It is with a great pleasure that I've read your positive review. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us and the readers of Trip Advisor. We are always happy to welcome you back and everyone in our incredible team is delighted to give the best to satisfy the wishes of our dear guests.
I personally thank you for the nice words you wrote about me, It is a honor for me to have the opportunity to host guests like yourself. Melia Las Americas is not only a beautiful Resort in front of one of the best Caribbean beaches and its blue clear waters, but is a home away from home, as you wrote. Yourself, as a repeater loyal guest are a member of the big Melia Family and we are already impatiently waiting for your next visit.
We wish you a good summer back in Canada and in the meantime, we will take good care of “your Cuban Residence”.

We send you sunny and warm greetings from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Property: Melia Las Americas
Address: | Playa de Las Américas, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing