We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Las Americas
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$168
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,849)
Filter reviews
5,849 results
Traveller rating
3,379
1,689
509
192
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,379
1,689
509
192
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbernard meyerla arcadail limoncellothe general managercascada barana rosalobby barstring quartettee timesa la carte restaurantsinternational restaurantfishdupont mansionocean viewspecial thanksbeautiful beachmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,568 - 1,573 of 5,849 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was my first time at Melia las Americas, but I am a fan of the Melia hotels in general. I have only positive feed back to say.

The staff will do everything they can to make you happy, the food was amazing especially the lunch at the bungalow pool and dinner at "Las Arcadas". If you are a golfer, this was one of the most amazing court I have seen...and it is included!

It was so quiet, that I felt I was in my own backyards, enjoying a drink with my friends. It is a plus not having kids there for sure.

Great for couples and person travelling solo. The crowd is really friendly and being solo, I met a lot of amazing people.

I would recommend to get the Bungalows as the rooms are amazing. It also includes room service 24 hours + breakfast which is a great add on if you are in a romantic getaway.

The director of the hotel Mr. Meyer is always on site and super friendly, so do not be shy to say hi!\

I would definitely go back to this hotel....as a matter of fact I think I just found my new best resort!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frenchval100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Frenchval100,
First of all we wish to express our gratitude for your devotion for Meliá hotels. We absolutely adored your rating and lovely comments and we were also delighted to know that your first vacation at Meliá Las Américas had exceeded your expectations.
Your warm comments about the relaxing ambiance of our Adults Only resort, the quality & variety of gastronomic offer and all our facilities and services encourages us to continue working for our guests’ wellbeing. Thank you very much for sharing! Also your kind comments regarding our highly skilled and friendly team make our Management & Staff so proud. Your comments are of a great value to us so that we may continue with our efforts to have more satisfied and happy clients each day!
We look forward to creating more wonderful memories with you on your next visit to a MELIÁ Resort!
It will be our pleasure to count you as one of our loyal guests in the future.
Thank you for your heartwarming review.
Kind regards,

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Norwich, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in this beautiful hotel and resort. The staff and manager were very friendly and helpful and the standard of the food was excellent. The only negatives were the coffee at breakfast and the local coke used in the drinks. The room was a little tired, but a good size and although we did not overlook the pools, we had a lovely view of the golf course and Atlantic sea. The location to the beach was superb and the beach itself was gorgeous and there was always sun beds available wherever you chose to go. How refreshing for a all inclusive to be properly all inclusive! This included Cava, and even pedlos.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear client,
We are genuinely thankful for your positive opinions about your last stay in Meliá Las Américas. Since the title of your review is evident you had a fabulous time at Meliá Las Américas and we are grateful for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We appreciated your positive comments about our friendly & helpful staff and our privileged location as well as our excellent gastronomic offer.
We also place great value on your constructive criticism as they are very useful in our efforts to improve our service and have more happy clients each day! While our resort is 20 years old we can assure you we are always doing our best to improve the existing structure in order to best improve our guest experience.
We hope that you will not hesitate to return and maybe you will think of our resort as your “home away from home”.
Warmest regards from sunny Varadero!
Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying for 9 days in July at the resort. This was our third visit to Melia Las Americas and we felt was our best. From the time we got off the bus from the aitport, we were met with friendly smiles and a welcome back from the staff of the resort. Nancy who maintained our room suprised us each day with towel scultures. The room was also amazing. You hear stories of poor food when you visit Cuba but with Melia Las Americas, this is not the case. The variety of food in the buffet was always great. The bar staff were always accommodating and the afternoons spent with Raul at the Hut Bar with the afternoon croud was always entertaining. We would like to thank Bernard and the entire staff of the resort for a wonderfull relaxing vacation and hope to see them again soon

Frank M.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We would suggest the Ocean view rooms or the bungaloes
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Frank M,
We feel honored that you consider us your favorite Cuban resort. We are overjoyed to read that again you had an incredible time and you evaluate this third visit as the best you had at Meliá Las Américas. We are always doing our best to fulfill our guests’ expectations and we are so proud to know we accomplish.
It is so good to read you enjoyed our facilities & services and that our Staff made you felt welcomed. We are happy that our guests appreciate the professionalism and genuine attitude of our personnel. Thank you for highlighting by name those who excelled in the service provided. They will be so proud to hear of your kind mentions and that their excellent service is one of the reasons this stay was special to you.
Our team looks forward to your return and hope that you think of us as your Cuban “home away from home” in the future.
Cordial greetings.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

first week a very interesting trip by bus (the plan was to fly from havana to santiago but unfortunately is was a celebration day, so we had to "fly by bus"- juni's comment to the situation) from havana to santiago and return in steps to visit towns, important places and a short trip into the mountains.
Second week relaxing at peninsula varadero in hotel melia las americas- very good hotel with excellent cultural events day by day-
special thanks to bianka and giancarlo for the good music in bar la cascada.
We had a lot of fun to dance to their typical cuban musik like cha-cha, salsa and rumba!

Best regards and possibly we see us a second time...

Room Tip: see side to north is the best choice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank andreas-zm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear andreas_zm
I'm so delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and made an unforgettable stay of your vacation at Meliá Las Américas. Thank you for sharing your kind review on Trip Advisor.
We strive to give our guests the best vacation experience possible and we are delighted to hear our staff did just that! It is so good to know you enjoyed mainly our relaxing ambiance that mix with talented musical performances around the hotel complete a wonderful experience that many of our guests appreciate. I will be sure to forward your gratitude to Bianka and Giancarlo. They will be proud of your kind mention.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Melia Las Americas July 22-29th. We had a great time. The hotel is clean, very well maintained. There are 98 staff members who have been there since the hotel opened 20 years ago so the place runs like a top. Excellent service. Given it was the off season, even the food was plentiful and well prepared. The a la carte restaurants were also good. This hotel is not typical of most Cuban resorts we have been to, it could hold it's own anywhere in the Carribean.

Our first night we weren't happy with the room, so the next morning they relocated us to a private bungalow near the beach. Absolutely fantastic!

Amazing beach. This hotel was pretty much the first of the international luxury hotels in Cuba so it is located on choice beach front. Right near the old Dupont family mansion.

While we were there they celebrated the 20th anniversary of the hotel opening, so we got to see a fantastic concert with Alain Daniel and a 14 piece Cuban Salsa band. A rare treat!

The manager of this hotel is very attentive and runs the place like it's his own,lot's of pride. There are four pools, most mornings I had the lower pool to myself!

Finally, the entertainment was also enjoyable, although I would have preferred more the traditional Cuban mambo style. The duo Bianka & Giancarlo were particularly good and real pros.

We tipped the staff about 50% more than usual this trip and it was well worth it. We would definitely go back to this hotel again!

Cuba Si!

Room Tip: Pick a Bungalow if you can! Don't forget to tip!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cubanvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Cubanvacationer,
Thank you for sharing your warm feedback of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud to have made a great vacation for you.
Your comments concerning our amazing beach, the cleanliness of our hotel, and the quality&variety of our food offer was very encouraging. Also reading your enthusiastic compliments of the excellent service of our wonderful staff showed us that we are meeting our desired service targets.
I am glad to read how much you enjoyed our Entertainment program, particularly Bianka & Giancarlo’s performances as as well as the concert in celebration of the 20th anniversary of Meliá Las Américas. Comments from our guests are helpful in evaluate the quality of our customer service. Your suggestions allow us identify opportunities for improvements.
Our team looks forward to serving you again soon and hopes that you will not hesitate to choosing Meliá Las Américas again in the near future. We will be happy to become your ideal hotel in Cuba.
Warmest regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews