We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two, perhaps 1 1/2 Star”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #61 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Nanaimo, BC
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Two, perhaps 1 1/2 Star”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Like so many others, I no high expectations of this hotel, but for the basic price of $205 plus taxes, I could not go wrong. Booked on Tuesday for the Sunday flight, as this is what I would do again. The hotel has a nice beach, with Palapas, beach bar, but not beer as it is only available at the pool bar and the plastic glasses are very small, so bring your own coffee mug to use for coffee and drinks. No ice was available for drinks during my stay. The first room was not acceptable, so next day the staff were very accommodating and I stayed in 104 which I feel is the best room, with a large balcony, large room with 2 English speaking tv channels, hot showers, twin beds and partial ocean view. The maid, Maria Louisa was very helpful, making towel animals every day. It pays to tip, not like the Russians, as I got great service, especially from the chef at the egg station in the morning, as he would prepare the eggs any where you like. He always recognized me (as I gave him a good tip at the start of my stay, as well as the other servers and of course the maid got a tip every day) as he would shake my hand and say hello to me. The pool was cleaned every day and the nightly entertainment at 9:39 was great. Other guests complained about cockroaches but I never saw one, but brought down a small plastic spray bottle and sprayed around the patio door and on the floor beside the walls, but this is a tropic destination and one can see these bugs, but is not due to neglect on the part of the hotel. To walk into the outskirts of Varadero takes 55 minutes, with another 30 to get to the bank. From Calle 10 to Calle 60 are various shops, flea markets, cafes, ice cream places, bars, restaurants where one will enjoy the walk and shop with definitely no pressure and very good prices. There is a once a day 5 cuc daily shuttle tfrom the hotel at 10 am to Varadero where it connects to the hop on hop off bus and the shuttle returns at 2 or possibily 4 pm and it is worth the price to stay on the hop on, off, bus for the entire trip to the marina, at the far end to see the peninsula and then get off around calle 60 and walk towards your return stop, or even enjoy the beautiful sandy beach in Varadero, right in town, where locals swim. A nice beach is at calle 44, at the shopping mall and right across the road is a local take out restaurant where for 2 cuc you can get a delicious meal, (the large billboard with prices are in Cuban CUP, not CUC, but just ask how much in Cuc) with large servings on a china plate with a fork and sit beside the curb, no chairs, and enjoy a great Cuban meal for a low price. The airport money exchange ran into problems so did not get any cuc so I went to the banco on ave 1 and calle 32 (the hop on stops there) and got $138 cuc for $160 Canadian. Ask for lots of 1 cucs to give as tips. There was a special price of 59 cucs instead of 70 on Saturday to Havana and I would definitely recommend it as it can be booked with the Sun wing rep at the hotel, from 3 to 4 pm every day...great English speaking guides and will stay with you all day, stopping off at interesting places.....You can pay for the excursions by credit card. Do not even think of buying souvenirs at the flea market where they stop, as the sellers are so aggressive, but instead buy the very same items in Varadero and keep the money in town, as the vendors here and not aggressive at all and the prices are similar or even lower. Would I stay here again? No, as I would move up to a 3 star or 4 possibility Kawama or others in Varadero but not at the 5 stars further away from town towards the marina. You really get what you pay for and I had a great time there, but the rooms definitely need upgrading and the pool area did not have containers where you could leave your empty glasses or garbage. The beach was not cleaned on a regular basis, but still nice to be close to the water, although the wind could come up in the afternoon and large waves would develop. I checked out a few rooms in Vardero which were for rent and they rent out for 35 cuc although the Pullman Hotel right in town rents rooms for 34 cuc with breakfast, and looks very attractive, and meals in town are very reasonable, with beach access across the road. This is another option a person could consider, as rooms are readily available.
The hotel must have cleaned up their act as the last several reviews have been positive.
If further info is needed, please advice....Jim

Room Tip: Room 104 is best. Have a balcony (only 2 floors). If room is not suitable, they will offer you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmieddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    29
    63
    43
    70
See reviews for
42
68
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnprior, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have taken many trips now & this was the worst ever. When it rained the sewer drain in the bathroom backed up all over the floor & the stink was terrible. We both are not picky eaters but this buffet was very very bad. We had to go out to eat quite a lot. It was not many choices & the same thing every day & leftovers made into something else at night. The shows were good & the people that worked there were so nice & helpful. We would never go back again. There weren't enough beach chairs or pool chairs for everyone & most were broken & torn at the beacjh & the beach is never cleaned.

Room Tip: upper level but none very good different problems in each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel in mid-February 2014. We knew going in that it was a 2-star and expected it to be so.
The room:
-we lucked out and had a spacious room with three beds
-very basic, our TV worked and so did the A/C which was awesome
-our water did not get hot, which wasn't that big of a deal to us because after hot days in the sun it felt nice to enjoy a cold shower
-pillows sucked, I would advise to bring your own, they were very thing
Service:
-our maids were very good, and left us really cool bed art every day
-on the second last day, we didn't get new towels and that really sucked, but we had brought our own, so it wasn't horrible
-the staff is very friendly, however most don't speak english very well, so miscommunication happens a lot
-Aerie on the beach was spectacular. I would go back to this hotel for him.
Food:
-the food is limited, not a big variety
-my sister is a vegetarian, so it was very hard for her to eat because they do not list all of the ingredients on the food
-biggest problem was, there was too much of a wait time between meals. breakfast was over at 10am and lunch didn't start until 1pm. that was over at 3pm and dinner started at 7pm. there was a snack service between 10-5 but it was only sandwiches or hamburgers.
Beach:
-the beach was great, it's not too deep and the water was clean
-the sand here was very sea shelly, but nice regardless
-there is sand fleas, but they are very common in cuba no matter where you go

All in all, I had a wonderful time, because it is what you make of it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

February 20-27, 2014. First time to Varadero. This small resort, built in 1956, surprised us. We have stayed in another 2 Star rated place near Havana (Las Terrazas) and this is a definite step up. The pool was always maintained, the beach was indeed a private one, and there was a large selection on food choices available in the buffet room. Prior to arrival, someone had suggested that guests might tire less quickly of the menu if one didn't take something of everything at every meal. So, I consistently had lots of fruit, but selected only a few items from the hot buffet, trying to have only chicken, or pork, or fish, etc. I tried some things which initially looked unappetizing, but they tasted really good (the soupy dehydrated mashed potatoes)

Having arrived at 3 a.m. (flight delays in Halifax) we did not quibble about the room given (153). We just wanted to sleep. Later, we requested a room change (the patio door did not open and the bed was awful) We moved into 115 and were very pleased with the spaciousness, the comfort of the beds (pillows were not) and a balcony which was away from the busy pool and evening event areas. The AC worked... a little too well.

I did not notice until the 2nd day that the 2 X 4s which joined the top of the balcony rails together was NOT together (see photo) It was mentioned to staff, but nothing was done. I'm just so grateful that we did not lean on it to look at the view! It was a death trap. As it was, I had a clothesline which kept anyone from the corner itself, and it reminded us to not lean on the rail at all.

I also detected a strong cat smell (male spray) the second night we were in the room. There are a lot of feral cats on the property and they had access to our room if the balcony door was left open. After that we had to leave the door closed when not in the room. The balcony door (plate glass) does not slide easily, so one needs a certain amount of strength to open and close it.

It was commented to some of our fellow Canadians that "we" were gracious and generous in our tips. This was in contrast with guests from another country who "left not a penny" but were eager to be at the bar at 7:30 in the morning until late at night. I know this was an "all inclusive" and supposedly tips are not required, but come on.... at some point one naturally shows appreciation for the good nature and service one receives. The staff were friendly and polite, in spite of some bad manners of a few individuals.

We have learned to be relaxed and to go with the flow and to enjoy the beauty of the weather, country and its people. Oasis has our vote on "another visit". We brought home many happy memories and dreams of returning again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LyndaLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel was created in 1956 so it is smaller and has developed gardens, the lay out is lovely. Our room was large and had an exquisite view from the balcony-the sea was about 20 yards away and we could hear the waves while sleeping. Our air conditioner, beds, bathroom and room amenities were good. The maid was a little over the top with the xxx rated towel, bedspread and curtain art- but we got used to making our own bed again afterward. The water was a sublime color of blue/green and clear, warm and my husband saw many small fish snorkeling near the pier. The sand is fine clean and white. The beach chairs, shade palapas and bar all most pleasant. The pool is clean and there are plenty of chairs. You may leave a $10 deposit at the front desk and have a beach towel for the time you are there. The food was very healthful, plain, lots of fresh fruit, chicken, beef, pork, fish, and they always had vegetables and rice. Fresh omelettes and eating outside looking toward the sea- wonderful. There are a lot of Russians staying there but we found them fun and interesting. The staff do their best to please you. I would stay here again as it has a faded charm that I like. We viewed the end of the peninsula and thought it looked sterile and plastic. We were only able to change money at the hotel once as they 'had no cash' . I suggest you change at the airport upon arrival. The bank ATM's work but only with credit cards no debit cards. Sunwing was what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peacethroughtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South America
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Lets start with it is a 2 star in Cuba so don't expect anything near perfection. This is what you will get all for a great price. The staff are excellent, friendly and accommodating. The food is limited but better than some 4 stars I have stayed at in Cuba. We had lamb, pork, fish and rabbit -yes rabbit try it! There was always fresh fruit, vegetables and breads. For breakfast the usual scrambled eggs, hardboiled eggs, fresh omelettes, sausage etc. An assortment of cakes for dessert and always ice cream so food was just fine for Cuba plus they had ketchup and hot sauce not always available in Cuba.

The web site says the bar closes at 10 it doesn't it is 24 hours in the lobby and the Cuban coffee and expresso are always available too.

The rooms were always clean and bug free clean sheets and towels every day (don't forget you need bug spray for the sand fleas anywhere in Cuba) We had hot water and working lights etc. better than Memories can say! Yes there is cracked plaster, some mold on the shower ceiling get over it or stay somewhere else!

The Beach is beautiful and private always lawn chairs available at the beach and pool which was cleaned every morning and pristine. The entertainment was hey 2-3 star but they had it every night and we enjoyed it.

There is a great little town called Santa Marta where an excellent meal can be had at "the Cafeteria" for 1 yes 1 peso we ate there often! a 5 peso cab ride from the hotel or rent a scooter from the hotel and go yourself!

For the Money you can't beat this resort ask for for an ocean view patio room we has number 10 or an ocean view balcony if you prefer. I will definitely visit again for the value and quality received for it!

Room Tip: Choose a patio with ocean view or balcony ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Grantedwards358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Okay, so if you are expecting the Taj Mahal, go somewhere else. This is a 2 star hotel. The service was fantastic. The food was better than four stars we've stayed at (memories, Sol serenis coral). This was our ninth trip to Veradero Cuba. So i think we know this area pretty good. Our room was 107, it was an ocean view room, it was literally 20 feet to the beach. The beach is nice, but the beaches are more well maintained in town. We would walk an hour into town each day, as this is where the fun times are. The hotel is more of a relaxing environment. You can take a bus to town for a $5 all day pass, but we enjoyed the walk. Lots to see on the way to town. We paid $680 direct from Windsor, which we thought was a great deal. This place is a good bang for the buck. I would stay here again for the right price. Pool was clean. Peddleboats and canoes available on beach. Beer was always cold and available. Beach bar was convenient. If you want to go to a resort with hundreds of people and wait for drinks, don't go here. We were amongst maybe 50 guests and never waited for a beer or mixed drink ever. Tipping goes a long way. I recommend Casa Del Chef near 13 street if you want a good deal, ask for Dariel, or Casanova. They are the greatest hosts, and we visit them every time we go to Cuba. There is a beach bar/BBQ called La Serentas, down the street with an awesome deal on BBQ food. Two huge pork scewers with rice and salad and veggies for $4. $1 beers is always nice. Make sure you explore Veradero, not just the main strip. There are many hidden gems to be found.
Back to the hotel. If you want good service, clean accommodation, and don't need all the bells and whistles, check it out. I'm good with an omelette or fresh eggs made for me in the morning and maybe some toast and fruit. If you need 80 things to choose from go elsewhere. We had Turkey, Roasted Pork, Roasted Chicken, Crab Cakes, Fresh grilled fish, all served on different days. It wasn't repetitive like 4 stars, but once again the variety each day is minimal. I always hear people complain about food in Cuba. I'm not picky I guess. $12 lobster tails bbq'ed in front of you downtown, roasted chicken and pork roasts at the hotel, all this to me is fine. If you need Sushi, Filet minions, pretty little garnishes, and gourmet a la carte French themed, etc... Go elsewhere. The a la carte at Oasis was fine. The pork steak was very good. But they ran out of Wine which kinda sucked, but hey, am I gonna complain and make my vacation sour over a bottle of wine? Get one at the store across the street for $5! Beware rude Russian guests. I'm not saying all Russians are rude, but it has been our experience this trip and the past that they think they are more important than anyone else. Really? You are going to travel all the way from Russia and book a 2 star hotel. Use some sense people!
Well that concludes my review. I hope it was helpful. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves and always enjoy Varadero. We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#51 of 64 in Varadero
126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Islazul Mar del Sur Aparthotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Club Tropical
Hotel Club Tropical
#41 of 64 in Varadero
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Acuazul
Hotel Acuazul
#55 of 64 in Varadero
227 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#44 of 64 in Varadero
818 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#22 of 64 in Varadero
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: Via Blanca, km 130, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Oasis Varadero
Hotel Islazul Oasis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing