We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Review - A question about rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Forestburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a Review - A question about rooms”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am currently looking into booking for this hotel as I have heard great things about it from a guy that i work with. I am wondering if there is a notable difference in the rooms from the standard room to the spa room. Also if the spa room is the same as the suites? I am new to Trip advisor so if there is a better place for this question I'd welcome info on that too haha.

I appreciate any help or clarification on the room differences!
Thanks!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest!!

The SPA rooms are basically standard rooms with benefits, like aromatherapy, easier acces to the SPA and disccounts on their services.

The room to book depens on what your expect your room to be, close to the pool? close to the services? close to the SPA? sea view?

If you need further information about the room you can contact this mail addres: jefe.ventas@laguna.co.cu

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,121
    2,184
    1,404
    638
    456
See reviews for
2,241
2,796
103
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Overall, we enjoyed our week at Laguna Azul - we were worried about it being such a large resort but it wasn't bad at all crowd wise- there were three of us and we could always find chairs at the beach, the pool, or a table anywhere we went at any time. We enjoyed the pools and the beach - both were nice - although we tend to spend more time at the beach. The entertainment was always good - always something happening at both the pools or the beach and they were always encouraging you to join in! The rooms we had were kept clean and our fridge was always stocked. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that even when you got "clean" towels - they were sometimes stained not very appealing especially at a 4 or 5 star resort. The food was all right as well - we had read lots of comments beforehand about the not so good quality but we could always find something at the buffet and we enjoyed all 3 a la cartes for sure. The a la cartes are quieter and more enjoyable but if you can get a table outside at the buffet it was usually more quiet. So yeah once in a while the food was not hot or something was over salted to make up for flavour and the coffee and tea had no flavor but really overall it was fine and the fact that we could get a cappuccino or latte at the bars made up for it for me!! Other than that - the service was always good - from getting us the rooms we wanted, to helping my sister in law with some electrical issues - everyone was more than helpful. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone heading to Varadero for sure.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank narnold1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Laguna in November after 3 nights at the Hotel National in Havana. The Laguna was an Ok large 4 star beach resort...

Good stuff: lots of really happy and friendly poolside, restaurant and bar staff who were keen to help you enjoy your holiday.
Lovely stretch of beach, perfect for swimming
Good choice of main or quiet pools with restaurants and bars close to all
Full schedule of evening entertainment, mostly well choreographed cuban dancing, singing, and lots of beach and poolside games and activities. Plus the usual tennis courts, boules, volleyball, table tennis and a gym.

Ok stuff: Plenty of buffet style food and drinks plus three restaurants available to book; Italian, International and Japanese. We tried the first two and the International was ok and a welcome alternative to the buffet.
You can get a taxi to the main strip for about 15 cuc each way in a standard car (classics would be more). There are markets, some great classic cars and a good Fondue restaurant. Surprisingly, there was even a Beatles bar with live music which is worth checking out even if it is just for the photo opportunity.
Wifi available to buy in reception for 8 cuc for an hours use.

Less good stuff: the reception staff gave the impression they did not like guests and they would much rather talk amongst themselves.
The Italian restaurant was not great and we left the mains pretty much untouched.
Balcony door lock and tv were faulty when we arrived but door quickly fixed.

Overall: It was our first time in Cuba and we had a nice relaxing holiday.

The resort was ok but nothing to really write home about. If you are a foodie or prefer boutiques or just a bit more character or variety then this is probably not the right option for you.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Asti_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I dont know where to begin. Had the most amazing trip ever at this resort. All the staff that work there are amazing. Especially all the ENTERTAINERS. They know how to keep you on your feet through out the whole day. They are all very polite and know how to interact with all the tourist. And They make you feel very welcome. Overall this resort was amazing. Very clean and they try there best to be at your service as soon as they can. I had an AMAZING experience as it was my second time there in just one month. Its a place where i would be going back to a lot.
Check it out for yourself and you'll see its worth every penny. Amazing job guys.
SEE YOU SOON.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sportyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel not more than 4 Stars because of the food. Mind we always found something to eat. The food mostly is cold or warm. Best ala cart restaurant is the Japanese. The staff are phenomenal starting from the reception, waiters, entertainers,cleaning ladies, pool staff, bar personnel they were all very friendly went out of their way to help and entertain the guests. I loved the Cigar lounge and its staff, they had fresh cigars which by the way you can buy cheaper than the store, and they had the Cigar store next door. The beach was great and the pool was just beautiful. Over all we had a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better and we had one facing the pool and away from the lobby which can get a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeysambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in the king room suite. Beautiful room and resort. Had a blast! Entertainment was great! Drinks were great! What more could you ask for....food, not so great, but it didn't ruin the vacation. Spa was good for the price you got.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Iberostar resorts, in the past for me have always been very comfortable, with good food, and great facilities, yet the IBEROSTAR LAGUNA AZUL let me down. It was NOT terrible...but it definitely needs improvement in many areas and most definitely is NOWHERE NEAR a 5-star! The resort itself looks lovely at first glance, yet upon closer review, there are many things which need upkeep and maintenance and seem to have been ignored for years.

What was GREAT: front desk staff and beach.
The front desk and almost all staff we encountered were always pleasant and responsive to every request and inquiry. The beach was magnificent, (excellent swimming!!) with staff always at the ready to help set up chairs.

What was GOOD: the overall look and feel of the hotel and most facilities, including the pools, as well as SOME of the entertainers that walked around the resort. The magician went table to table in the lobby and was very entertaining. The piano player was good as well. Having live music playing at the pool bar was nice too. There was a decent variety of places to grab a drink or some food, and food was plentiful.

What was BAD: so many things were worn and tired and even dirty! Food, while not BAD, was certainly not good either!

Towels, robes, sheets and pillow cases were clean yet stained and worn. Closet doors in rooms were falling off, the tap in my room wasn't affixed to the counter, there was no stopper in my sink, so there was just a large gaping drain. (same with some other guests). The flooring and furniture all over the resort was old, beaten, worn and in some cases, filthy. The disco seating was ancient and ripped to shreds. The upholstered cushions on chairs all over the resort (theatre, disco, restaurants) need to be replaced as they are horribly ripped and stained. The food was plentiful, with a very large selection at the buffet, but it simply adequate. For the most part, the restaurants weren't better. The Japanese dinner was lovely, as was the entertainment by the chef, but the Cuban dinner and International dinners were average at best. The same foods showed up time and time again at all the buffets. We ate burgers and fries from the beach buffet almost every day, but sometimes it was painful to wait so long in line. One employee cooking burgers would put 3 on the grill at a time, wait for them to be ready, prep the buns, and serve them before moving on to ask the next person in line what he/she wanted. The line-up was long and it was moving very slowly. A tourist actually went behind the counter and threw some extra burgers on the grill to get things moving along a little more quickly. The cook could easily have tossed a dozen burgers on the grill at a time, and none would have been wasted. They were pre-cooked, so it was simply a matter of heating them for a few minutes...it could have moved along much faster had this cook not been so painfully slow.

Re COFFEE:: if you want coffee, get it from the lobby bar or the beach buffet restaurant. The coffee from the main buffet is horrible! BEWARE of one of the coffee baristas at the beach buffet, however, as he is horribly rude! He's heavy-set and bald, and couldn't utter a pleasantry if his life depended on it! (Most of the other staff there were always friendly!) The reason I think he was so rude to guests was that the wait staff are supposed to take the guests coffee orders and serve coffee, but there simply was not enough wait staff, so guests often went up to the counter to order their own coffee directly from the barista. This was a common theme: not enough staff. The bars were all understaffed so wait times were sometimes too long.

For those who complain about things like not enough hot water, or poor water pressure, I say...hey, it's not Canada....you're down south so these types of things are to be tolerated. BUT dirty torn upholstery and stains on bath towels are things which CAN easily be improved, which is why I wanted to address them.

Overall, the IBEROSTAR LAGUNA AZUL was not terrible, but it was absolutely NOT a 5 star. If some money was spent, and upgrades and maintenance done, it could be a legitimate 5 star, but too much needs improvement, so at this stage, I'd say it's struggling to be even a 4 star. The property and situation on the beach is excellent and the resort has some great bones -- I suggest Iberostar execs look seriously at putting some money into building it back into the 5 star resort that it COULD be.

Room Tip: Rooms near the theatre and disco are LOUD. The 3rd floor is the lobby floor, so it's ideal. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.8 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,398 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.5 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,904 reviews
7.2 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Melia Peninsula Varadero
#33 of 63 in Varadero
4,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Property: IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#7 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#22 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero's Beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min. from downtown Varadero. 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchón near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Holiday Gems and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing