We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LABRANDA Varadero Resort
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$204
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,363)
Filter reviews
2,363 results
Traveller rating
381
708
513
385
376
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
708
513
385
376
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscohiba barocean viewporkprivate beachbeach baran open mindoceanview roomfood was finekeep in mindrecommend this resortlobstercuban foodbeautiful resorta great vacationnightly entertainmentsalad bardowntown varadero
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 2,363 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my first time in any inclusive resort and overall it was a great experience. We booked this resort to fit into our budget and from what we have heard; we did get what we paid for.

The building was old and in need of some TLC, however, upon arrival we were checked in quickly by the friendly lobby staff. We had issues with the first room assigned to us; no towels, no lock on balcony door (was right off the walking path) and had twin beds when we requested a king. We were immediately given an option of two other rooms, which the one we selected was a satisfactory ocean view. All the rooms smelled somewhat moldy, but keeping the balcony door open throughout the day helped with this problem. The air conditioning worked just fine. Although hot water was not available during our stay, we did figure out what time of day we were able to get the warmest shower – about 6:30 pm. The bed was on the hard side, but still adequate.

The buffets were repetitive, the same items every day, but we were able to find something to satisfy our hunger. Bring ketchup! The service at the buffet was very good, friendly staff. Their cleaning standards were far below my personal standards. Suggestion to bring Lysol wipes is a good one – wished it was posted before we left. We were only able to make one a-la-carte reservation which happened to be at the International which was very disappointing. The service was very slow, and the food was cold. The quality of the food was also disappointing.

The beach was amazing; turquoise blue water and warm. We did some snorkeling off the beach on the west side and saw numerous fish and crabs, and even saw a barracuda! Beach chairs did need to be “reserved” early in the morning to ensure a spot, and we found people respected this. The beach bar was awesome. The only mess on the beach was caused by the tourists – empty drink cups and other litter. People need to clean up after themselves!

The bars were all good – never ran out of stock when were there. Lots of drinks to choose from and the Crystal beer was our favorite after the rum! There was nightly entertainment - a variety of live shows and music to enjoy. Michael Jackson and his dance crew were incredible – worthy of Vegas!

The vacation was booked through Air Transat and we did two excursions through them. The catamaran to Cayo Blanco was awesome! The private beach was very clean. The BBQ chicken and lobster was okay but with the rum flowing like water – it was a great day. The guide on the boat kept us entertained throughout the trip and it was definitely worth the money! The excursion to Havana was eye opening in terms of the history and their way of life. Be sure to barter at the gift shops that are privately operated to get the best price. Bring pesos and toilet paper to use the bathrooms in most of the places – ladies – most did not have toilet seats!

All in all, we enjoyed our week at the Allegro in Cuba. Definitely more positives than negatives!

Room Tip: The staff were friendly and accommodating, don't be afraid to voice your concerns (in a friendly manner).
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenJod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were looking for an inexpensive week away from winter! We had read the reviews hoping for the best! One review kept coming to mind throughout the week! Dig a little deeper! Our ocean view room was dated but kept clean with no pest problems. The beach was beautiful but could have used more beach chairs and clean up around the outer areas! Maintenance of the building was lacking but it's Cuba! If you don't like climbing stairs this is not the resort for you!
Cuba really needs food safety training for restaurant staff.
The buffet was beyond disgusting! The tables were never sanitized between patrons! Placemats were swept off with a dry rag and fresh cutlery was then place down for the next guest. I will admit I am a picky eater, but usually find something! This was not the case at this resort, I could never get passed the dead fish smell! If you like slop, this is the place for you!
If you have already booked this resort, my advice is to pack some Lysol wipes and snacks as you might get a little hungry during your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have traveled through many developing countries and lived in a few. I did even more research before booking Allegro Varadero...Thought it cant be so bad. I got sick 3 times from the unsanitary food and dirtt everything....ate stale buns with butter all week. The services are a lie. Met people who got awful food poisoning and had no towels or running water. Most staff dont care so good luck complaining. There were tons of people getting wasted and yelling till 4 am so forget sleeping. Felt sorry for the families with kids that couldnt escape the trashy hotel and tourists. Trying to eat out isnt so easy as it seems people make up prices as they know ur a tourist. Great beach but who cares when u are violently ill your entire stay. I always laughed at reviews on this site as people can have snobby expectations. Trust me it is bad and I learned the hard way.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank zuwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Some of the nicest beaches, water front and the friendliest people we have come across in our many Caribbean stays. The people of Cuba are very respectful of tourists and take a “no” for an answer and politely respect your privacy. You feel very safe and welcome all over the island. Tipping is also a routine and does result in more attention from staff. Although the Canadian Dollar is 10% lower than the American Dollar at this time, the Canadian Dollar did give you a better rate of exchange towards the Cuban Convertible Peso (CCP) than the American Dollar. The Allegro does not readily take VISA or MasterCard but the on-site bank will allow a cash advance on these two cards. Some off-site restaurants will take Canadian Money and take VISA and MasterCard but converts this into US funds which are exchanged at a lower rate than the Canadian Dollar. Your best bet is to bring Canadian money, keeping in mind that coins of any denomination are not accepted.
As stated above, the beach is second to none. Life guards on duty, daily grooming of the sand beach, pedal boats, kayaks and catamarans are usually always available. One major issue is the lack of beach chairs. To obtain a chair, you need to be at the beach before 7am with your towels to set up and reserve the chairs. No guarantee that some arrogant people just take your beach bag or towel off and not smart enough to cover the drag marks in the sand making recovery easy!!
The main resort building at Allegro is very tired and in desperate need of an overhaul. Hot water was a rare occurrence as well as toilet seats and working bathroom appliances in some of the outbuildings around the resort. Hand soap was a rare find outside of your room and toilet paper was also rationed when outside the room. If coming to Allegro, bring your own face cloth, tissues, robes as well as an alarm clock radio as there are none of these amenities, even in the upgraded suites which we were in. There is no such thing as Non-Smoking rooms.
The food was very bland and repetitive with the same rice and stew type dishes with fish for lunch and dinner. Most upsetting was the lack of basic food safety practises. We were sick twice during our 2 week stay probably as a result of poor to no temperature control on hazardous food products in the buffet as well as utensils used in the BBQ putting on raw chicken and with the same tongs moving directly to the cooked chicken and serving with the juices of the raw chicken dripping on the plates!! (we passed on the BBQ chicken) The 2 a la carte restaurants were a waste of time as they serve the same food as in the buffet, just renamed and plated and usually cold when arriving.
The bars ran out of stock at times but made excellent use of the varied, but limited stock they had. The entire bar staff there were a joy to be around and went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant but the cigarette and cigar smoke was thick at times at the bars and at times in the restaurants. The Gym was well equipped with modern equipment; the Spa did have well trained massage therapists and the salon did perform a great manicure and pedicure but again lacking in basic sanitation practises. The message and salon services were very well priced and a real deal compared to other resorts we have attended.
If you are looking for a cheap beach holiday and not fussy about food and other amenities, this is a good choice for the price. You truly get what you pay for and don’t forget the Imodium!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for 20 CCP per night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We would strongly recommend that you NOT consider this Hotel.
The only positive thing we can say about this hotel is the great white sand beaches.& helpfull staff.
During our stay we were constantly plagued with a plugged toilet, Our key cards needed to be reprogrammed about 3-4 times each day. The airconditioner was very noisy and no way to turn it off .One eleverator as out and the second one worked about 50 percent of them time& we were on the 4th floor.The food was slop(eggs(when available) & breads were edible) at the buffet and worse at the A la Carte resturant.
There is good food in Varadero ,,just not at this facility.We ate out often and it was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lesmartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews