We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALLEGRO VARADERO”
Review of Naviti Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Naviti Varadero
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 19 February 2014

If you expect something fancy don't go here.If you get a good price it is ok.The resort it self needs major repairs.We were on the third floor with an ocean view which was nice but the room needed work.I brought cleaning things with me but I think it is just way to old to fix.The food was not great because I like meat if you are into salads you may be ok.Some morning there was not even eggs.The breads are really good because my 12 year old lived on them for a week.We got a really good price $ 2100 for the three of us for a week so we knew not to expect a lot.The beach is real nice and the resort was big so there is lots of walking.There are no activites going on in the day so if you enjoy laying by the pool or beach it is good.We were close to town and took the bus three times to go to town..5 pesos each real good deal which takes about 2-3 hours..if this your first time in cuba you will enjoy but don't stay here thinking 4 star maybe a 3 at best.It was hot and sunny so I guess that is what we go for.Never had any problems with bugs..never saw one.

Room Tip: Give the person on the desk a tip and ask for a ocean view..tip if you want good service because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dellaNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I got there around 10 pm the restaurant closed they send me to the pool bar but there was no food available for another hour. Pretty basic and not quite tasty hamburgers and hot dogs, but it is what it is.... I was given a room at the far south -east side of the hotel no lights on the hallway , couldn't see to open my door . No problem with the room clean , all the time, bit outdated , but again....Nice beach , white sand, blue water , etc pool ...OK. Most of the personnel were nice and helpful except on waiter in the restaurant having a bad day , after a while he turned around , and some of the reception staff were kind of cocky. But again nothing quite major from that point of view. Food OK considering the hotel and country .Very hot in one of the dinning rooms( closest to the pool bar) no a/c but no open windows for breeze either (it was August) .Booze as usual but they had Campari most of the time and sometimes Chivas which it's a bonus .
I had to check out at 12 , ate at 2 pm and the bus was living at 6 pm before the restaurant was open. There were big scheduling issues although that may not be entirely the hotel's fault , more like the tour organizer Air Canada Vacations and they sucked (including the flight service).
As I mentioned both arrival and departure were bad scheduled but the hotel didn't do anything to make it easier.For late check out they were asking a day pay .We were promised a room to shower before leaving the hotel , normal after 6 hours in hot weather.After long waiting time I got into a room under renovation , water and hair everywhere and used towels on the floor , absolutely no clean towels. I was told at the reception to go back and they will send some towels but the bus was living, so .....I will go back ? Maybe if I want a short breakaway and have no other choice. I will use Air Canada Vacations again ?..... try not too.(Not the first bad experience).

Room Tip: Bribe the front desk and get a better room . Keep in mind the arrival and departure times and make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was my first time in any inclusive resort and overall it was a great experience. We booked this resort to fit into our budget and from what we have heard; we did get what we paid for.

The building was old and in need of some TLC, however, upon arrival we were checked in quickly by the friendly lobby staff. We had issues with the first room assigned to us; no towels, no lock on balcony door (was right off the walking path) and had twin beds when we requested a king. We were immediately given an option of two other rooms, which the one we selected was a satisfactory ocean view. All the rooms smelled somewhat moldy, but keeping the balcony door open throughout the day helped with this problem. The air conditioning worked just fine. Although hot water was not available during our stay, we did figure out what time of day we were able to get the warmest shower – about 6:30 pm. The bed was on the hard side, but still adequate.

The buffets were repetitive, the same items every day, but we were able to find something to satisfy our hunger. Bring ketchup! The service at the buffet was very good, friendly staff. Their cleaning standards were far below my personal standards. Suggestion to bring Lysol wipes is a good one – wished it was posted before we left. We were only able to make one a-la-carte reservation which happened to be at the International which was very disappointing. The service was very slow, and the food was cold. The quality of the food was also disappointing.

The beach was amazing; turquoise blue water and warm. We did some snorkeling off the beach on the west side and saw numerous fish and crabs, and even saw a barracuda! Beach chairs did need to be “reserved” early in the morning to ensure a spot, and we found people respected this. The beach bar was awesome. The only mess on the beach was caused by the tourists – empty drink cups and other litter. People need to clean up after themselves!

The bars were all good – never ran out of stock when were there. Lots of drinks to choose from and the Crystal beer was our favorite after the rum! There was nightly entertainment - a variety of live shows and music to enjoy. Michael Jackson and his dance crew were incredible – worthy of Vegas!

The vacation was booked through Air Transat and we did two excursions through them. The catamaran to Cayo Blanco was awesome! The private beach was very clean. The BBQ chicken and lobster was okay but with the rum flowing like water – it was a great day. The guide on the boat kept us entertained throughout the trip and it was definitely worth the money! The excursion to Havana was eye opening in terms of the history and their way of life. Be sure to barter at the gift shops that are privately operated to get the best price. Bring pesos and toilet paper to use the bathrooms in most of the places – ladies – most did not have toilet seats!

All in all, we enjoyed our week at the Allegro in Cuba. Definitely more positives than negatives!

Room Tip: The staff were friendly and accommodating, don't be afraid to voice your concerns (in a friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenJod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were looking for an inexpensive week away from winter! We had read the reviews hoping for the best! One review kept coming to mind throughout the week! Dig a little deeper! Our ocean view room was dated but kept clean with no pest problems. The beach was beautiful but could have used more beach chairs and clean up around the outer areas! Maintenance of the building was lacking but it's Cuba! If you don't like climbing stairs this is not the resort for you!
Cuba really needs food safety training for restaurant staff.
The buffet was beyond disgusting! The tables were never sanitized between patrons! Placemats were swept off with a dry rag and fresh cutlery was then place down for the next guest. I will admit I am a picky eater, but usually find something! This was not the case at this resort, I could never get passed the dead fish smell! If you like slop, this is the place for you!
If you have already booked this resort, my advice is to pack some Lysol wipes and snacks as you might get a little hungry during your stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have traveled through many developing countries and lived in a few. I did even more research before booking Allegro Varadero...Thought it cant be so bad. I got sick 3 times from the unsanitary food and dirtt everything....ate stale buns with butter all week. The services are a lie. Met people who got awful food poisoning and had no towels or running water. Most staff dont care so good luck complaining. There were tons of people getting wasted and yelling till 4 am so forget sleeping. Felt sorry for the families with kids that couldnt escape the trashy hotel and tourists. Trying to eat out isnt so easy as it seems people make up prices as they know ur a tourist. Great beach but who cares when u are violently ill your entire stay. I always laughed at reviews on this site as people can have snobby expectations. Trust me it is bad and I learned the hard way.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank zuwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Some of the nicest beaches, water front and the friendliest people we have come across in our many Caribbean stays. The people of Cuba are very respectful of tourists and take a “no” for an answer and politely respect your privacy. You feel very safe and welcome all over the island. Tipping is also a routine and does result in more attention from staff. Although the Canadian Dollar is 10% lower than the American Dollar at this time, the Canadian Dollar did give you a better rate of exchange towards the Cuban Convertible Peso (CCP) than the American Dollar. The Allegro does not readily take VISA or MasterCard but the on-site bank will allow a cash advance on these two cards. Some off-site restaurants will take Canadian Money and take VISA and MasterCard but converts this into US funds which are exchanged at a lower rate than the Canadian Dollar. Your best bet is to bring Canadian money, keeping in mind that coins of any denomination are not accepted.
As stated above, the beach is second to none. Life guards on duty, daily grooming of the sand beach, pedal boats, kayaks and catamarans are usually always available. One major issue is the lack of beach chairs. To obtain a chair, you need to be at the beach before 7am with your towels to set up and reserve the chairs. No guarantee that some arrogant people just take your beach bag or towel off and not smart enough to cover the drag marks in the sand making recovery easy!!
The main resort building at Allegro is very tired and in desperate need of an overhaul. Hot water was a rare occurrence as well as toilet seats and working bathroom appliances in some of the outbuildings around the resort. Hand soap was a rare find outside of your room and toilet paper was also rationed when outside the room. If coming to Allegro, bring your own face cloth, tissues, robes as well as an alarm clock radio as there are none of these amenities, even in the upgraded suites which we were in. There is no such thing as Non-Smoking rooms.
The food was very bland and repetitive with the same rice and stew type dishes with fish for lunch and dinner. Most upsetting was the lack of basic food safety practises. We were sick twice during our 2 week stay probably as a result of poor to no temperature control on hazardous food products in the buffet as well as utensils used in the BBQ putting on raw chicken and with the same tongs moving directly to the cooked chicken and serving with the juices of the raw chicken dripping on the plates!! (we passed on the BBQ chicken) The 2 a la carte restaurants were a waste of time as they serve the same food as in the buffet, just renamed and plated and usually cold when arriving.
The bars ran out of stock at times but made excellent use of the varied, but limited stock they had. The entire bar staff there were a joy to be around and went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant but the cigarette and cigar smoke was thick at times at the bars and at times in the restaurants. The Gym was well equipped with modern equipment; the Spa did have well trained massage therapists and the salon did perform a great manicure and pedicure but again lacking in basic sanitation practises. The message and salon services were very well priced and a real deal compared to other resorts we have attended.
If you are looking for a cheap beach holiday and not fussy about food and other amenities, this is a good choice for the price. You truly get what you pay for and don’t forget the Imodium!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for 20 CCP per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We would strongly recommend that you NOT consider this Hotel.
The only positive thing we can say about this hotel is the great white sand beaches.& helpfull staff.
During our stay we were constantly plagued with a plugged toilet, Our key cards needed to be reprogrammed about 3-4 times each day. The airconditioner was very noisy and no way to turn it off .One eleverator as out and the second one worked about 50 percent of them time& we were on the 4th floor.The food was slop(eggs(when available) & breads were edible) at the buffet and worse at the A la Carte resturant.
There is good food in Varadero ,,just not at this facility.We ate out often and it was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lesmartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
#24 of 64 in Varadero
3,934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
#19 of 64 in Varadero
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 64 in Varadero
922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
Hotel Tuxpan Varadero
#41 of 64 in Varadero
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naviti Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naviti Varadero

Address: Autopista Sur, km 11, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Allegro Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range: £74 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Naviti Varadero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naviti Varadero is an All inclusive family Beach hotel, offering entertainment for all age, with a large variety of food and drinks to please everyone. Hotel just finished renovation in dec 2016, and offers the best rooms in a modern style. laying on the most beautiful beach of Varadero, clients can enjoy a day on the beach, and participate at many entertainment activities during the day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Naviti Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing