We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel friendly clean drinks and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing hotel friendly clean drinks and food”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back after two week were do i start rooms are modern well kept grounds are beautifully kept. Also got to mention the staff the girls in the piano bar are a credit to the hotel friendly and service with a smile what more can you ask for? food in the gourmets are brilliant, the Italians best by far!! the buffet is nice but a bit repetitive and the mojitos are a MUST the only people that moan just talking rubbish give it a try you wont be dissapointed :)))

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Billyj122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Billy J., We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your two weeks vacations with us and to read your positive comments on the hotel, its staff and its services, specially the Piano bar girls, our Gourmet and Italian Restaurants and the Cuban Mojitos. We hope to have the chance to host you again with us here at “The Old Cactus” in sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    1,285
    541
    168
    108
See reviews for
990
1,527
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel in mid June with my parents and uncle. We have visited Cuba on 10 occasions and had a good idea what to expect from the all inclusive hotels. Our first impressions were that the hotel location and grounds were very nice. We were also pleased with our rooms. I emailed the hotel before to ask for rooms together in a quiet location and was not disappointed.

Our problem came when we went to eat in the buffet restaurant. The room was not in full use with some tables pushed to one side. The tables that were in use were about half full. We were surprised at the noise level in the room even, with so few people in there. I thought that the food looked very bland and uninviting. I have been in hotels where the food display is a lot better than this hotel. In view of this we all struggled to find much that we wanted to eat. I settled for pizza and chips! My uncle asked for a teaspoon for his coffee, he was told they had none and given a table spoon.

I have been in more inviting works canteens!

We found the breakfast experience similar, however the food was better.

After breakfast we saw the Thomas Cook rep and arranged to move to another hotel. We were in the Blau Varadero by 1pm where we had an excellent holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank redbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guests, we are very sorry your last visit was not as you expected. We have copied our F&B Director and our Chef on your comments. Our Kitchen staff is constantly looking into new ways to improve our F&B offer to our clients. We would have welcomed if you have given us the opportunity of trying to change your perception while you were still with us instead of leaving the hotel after the first night. Once again we apologize for any inconsistencies you might have experienced and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited this beautiful resort June 5-12, 2014. The lobby was very inviting and the grounds beautifully kept. The room was spacious, modern in decor and very clean. Would recommend the second floor as nice to have a bit of privacy on the balcony and to have a place to hang wet clothing. We took an outlet adapter however it was not necessary. Air con kept the room very comfortable and we could control this as desired. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We often witnessed various staff members helping families with children, offering a hand, a smile, a hug. We traveled as a couple and found a mix of other couples, families and age groups. With this said, the resort never felt crowded nor too loud. The lay out of complexes and green space allow for some quiet times and the choice as to whether to be in groups of people or take some alone time. We are not pool people, however the pool was close to our room and always appeared very clean and inviting. There were always lounge chairs available at both the pool and the beach and again, there was room to spread out if desired. The beach was gorgeous, clean, had plenty of parasols if needing a break from the sun and was amazing for swimming. The shores were cared for, the sand very soft and minimal tides allowed for easy and relaxing water play. We were able to dine at all three restaurants, along with the buffet and did not have to wait in line to do so (despite their no reservation arrangement). While we chose not to attend shows, there was nightly entertainment scheduled and staff during the day who offered activities by the pool or on the beach. The piano bar was a favorite, with the pianist and music trio a hit- along with staff and guests who would join in for singing or dancing. Mike's Cafe was another big favorite, with the best coffee and most delicious selections we have ever had. A big thank you to the staff at Mikes for their hospitality, friendly nature and for starting each day off with us with smiles. Taking a gourmet coffee down to the beach in the mornings while all was quiet was such a treat; on the first morning we sat and watched dolphins play right in front of the hotel beach. This was a fantastic vacation on all accounts, at a lovely resort that certainly exceeded our expectations. Thank you all and we hope to return!

Cindy M

Room Tip: We did not stay in the Priv section and felt no need to upgrade. Were in #6626, with the 5000's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Cindy M., We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic vacations with us and our hotel and services exceeded your expectations. We will pass your “hello” to the Piano Bar and Mike´s Coffee staff with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. We thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the 2nd time ive been to Cuba, 1st time the Cayo,s and was very disappointed and said never again! then friends asked us to go to Varadero and reluctantly i said ok and im glad i did, we chose Ocean as a 2nd choice as our first hotel was booked up but boy am i glad we got this one, we arrived to be greeted by friendly staff which after a 9 hr flight it is gladly received, we got our rooms straight away and a lovely man on a buggy took us and our bags to our room, we were near the pool room 2316 which was lovely very clean modern and a massive king size bed, bathroom was great with a big bath and fab shower which actually had power (usually one could pee faster!!) great size balcony overlooking the pool but also had shade so you didnt fry when sat out! my only thing is if you want it quieter ask for a room away from the pool but hey you arent in it that long. The pool was great clean plenty off beds no fighting at 6am in a morning to get 1! the beach was beautiful and clean, the hotel bar was great good service and friendly staff especially Justo he was the man, and good cocktails!! The Buffet was good but i must say after a few days it gets a bit monotonous, we tried the al a carte restaurants but nothing special, so we went into Varadero a few nights which was a nice change about 20 peso,s in a taxi 10 mins ride. all in all had a lovely holiday highly recommend The Ocean, Enjoy

Room Tip: the rooms are Bungalow style i would ask for the top floor as they have balconies and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coppertop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guests, It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your last vacations at our resort. We want to thank you for your positive and very detail review. We have copied our F&B Director and our Chef on your comments regarding the food but we can tell you that on a day to day basis we are looking into new ways to broaden our variety as well as to improve our service to our clients. Once again we thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again with us in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Food:
Food at this hotel was extremely salty. Variety was not great, pretty consistent food items each day. There are three a-la-carte restaurants, all located in the same area as the buffet. The food comes very slow so you will have to wait. They also run out of food items pretty quickly so make sure to get there early. In general compared to other hotels in Cuba, the food was better than average. Have to pay $25 CUC if you want lobster (don't do it - prices cheaper elsewhere), but steak and shrimp are available. Fruits are of course not great. I recommend getting the fish which they make in front of you at the buffet.

Service:
Service was inconsistent. We've had people go out of their way to help us and we've been ignored at the buffet without even water to drink. Tipping does go a long way, it is unfortunate that its turned from "tip for good service" to "give us tip or else you won't get any service". Otherwise we've had waitresses that have gone out of their way to figure out what "mustard" was and then get it for us.

Entertainment:
The entertainment in this hotel is amazing. Best that I have ever seen. Each night they have a different show - from magic show to synchronized swimming. I would definitely recommend taking a look at the schedule and making sure you make it out to the shows.

Rooms:
The hotel is structured as a series of "blocks" - 8 rooms per block generally, and only two floors. This means lots of walking between places but was manageable. We were located on the first floor. Yes there are ants, no it didn't really bother us. Style of the hotel is very modern, rooms were nicely decorated. Everything functioned no issues.

General atmosphere:
The hotel is surprisingly empty. Could be the time of year we went. We never had trouble finding seats on the beach or at the pool. Beach water was good, smooth waves, warm by the afternoon. Sand can be a little rough from sea shells in some areas but not a big deal.

Travel:
The hotel is located at the end of the peninsula, which means you are the last to be dropped off, first to be picked up for the airport. There is a bus that goes into Varadero town - $5 CUC per day for bus access. If you walk a bit further away from where the bus drops you off you can negotiate cheaper prices for the souvenirs. Personally the town was not very spectacular but then again we didn't stay for long. The price of cigars and alcohol was the same as at the airport, so wasn't really worth it for us to drag it back from town.

Good to know:
- There is a games room next to the towel area where you can borrow balls and other floatation toys which you can take into the ocean or the pool
- Definitely try Mike's Cafe, they have the best coffee and their smoothies are amazing
- Bring containers to carry drinks in - the flimsy cups will not be easy to use on the beach and only holds very little
- The hotel does not appear to have any of the following: Straws, stirring sticks, steak knives (i recommend bringing at least a stirring stick because mixed drinks are a nightmare without them)
- Mosquitos...bring repellent
- The "giant cactus" is located on hotel grounds. Price is 2 CUC per person to see it, go after 4:30 and its free
- exchange rate at bank is 0.88. Exchange rate at hotel is 0.9. Its worse but not worth the effort if you need some quick cash.
- Drinks at pool bar was excellent. Loved the punch with rum.

Overall, my rating is low because I am a big foodie. Chose Cuba because of the cheap price. However having good food means a lot to me but forgot about Cuba's lack of imports. The CUC conversions are also a bummer. Plus the 25 CUC you need to pay per person just to leave the country added to the cost. This will likely be my last trip to Cuba. Will choose a different destination in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We want to thank you for your very detail review, the good comments and the constructive observations. We are sorry to hear about your perception regarding the quality of service linked to tips. Your comment has been shared with all our service staff for them to analyze themselves and correct any behavior that could have led to their service being perceived in such way. We apologize again if this affected your appreciation of the service in any way. We aim to improve every day and your feedback is very important into us reaching this goal. We hope that you change your mind and keep coming back to Cuba. We will be more than happy to receive you once again as one of our very valued repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Firstly, thank you to the wonderful rigo!!! Our Thomas cook rep. And Jose who took us on the havana trip. Awesome. Both great guys and good at what they do. Lovely resort. Fab beach. Lots of food choice. Good cleanliness standards. Comfy beds. Kids will love it! Staff do their best for you. Girls in mikes and staff at the bar in lobby and poolside especially good!!!!!! Lovely girl at customer services. Would recommend Ernesto to take u in his pink caddy to the mansion Xanadu along the road for a meal and watch the sun go down. Thank you for a memorable time x

Room Tip: We were block 24. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Susan, We thank you for taking the time in writing your comments and letting us know about your stay in our resort. We apreciate your positive comments on the hotel, its staff and its services. We have passed your ¨hello¨ to Rigo, the Thomas Cook Rep, together with our congratulations as we agree with your comment on his good work. We will be very happy to host you again in sunny Varadero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you so much to the staff at Oceans for making this one of my most memorable vacations yet. All the staff were so genuine and kind.

The food was amazing! I loved the Italian a la carte restaurant, the breakfast buffet which had the best omlettes and the all you can eat buffet close to the beach.

My room was always well maintained. Everyone from the gardeners, to the cleaners to the bartenders made our family feel like royalty.The service and activities were so great that we didnt leave the resort once. We stayed from June 14th to June 21st. I will definitely be back next year or possibly later this year. Out of all the resorts I have been to this is one of my favourites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Andrea, It makes us very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your last vacations at our resort. We thank you for the positive comments on our staff and our services. We will be more than happy to host you again with us here at “The Old Cactus” in sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.1 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

Property: Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Address: Autopista Sur km 18 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Varadero El Patriarca 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime oceanfront property stretching more than 200 meters wide, Ocean Varadero El Patriarca is a five-star resort reflecting the 40’s and 50’s Varadero historic architecture. Complete with 420 deluxe rooms, Privilege Deluxe and Privilege Junior Suites; an array of thematic restaurants; a Despacio Spa Centre; Privilege Exclusive Rooms and Services, Privilege Lounge and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Varadero El Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing