We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip but !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Trip but !!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we stayed at the ocean varadero el patriarca from 23rd of may to 6th of June the hotel met all of our expectations and was beautiful, the staff were brilliant and the food was very good, all very positive , however I have not written a review until nowas I did not want to put a negative slant on anybodys holiday - our friends room was burgled whilst we stayed here - clothing, phone , toiletries, trainers, cigarettes , items from the first aid kit, money, bags of sweets to name some of the items taken, the police came and taped off the room like somebody had been murdered, the room was on the first floor and initially they said somebody must of came in via the balcony - however no finger prints were found apart from our friends, ,we found it strange that two people would be needed to get up on the balcony its high and a lone person would not be able to get up there, the tv and light was on - would somebody get up onto a balcony hear a tv and still come into the room?? we believe that somebody came through the door, and took their time picking out items and going through everything - we thought this was an isolated case and did not want to worry other holidaymakers however I have read another review today -, and unfortunately this person had the same experience , management only seem to comment on positive reviews !!

Room Tip: keep valuables in your safe !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Debbie3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest, we are pleased to read your positive comments on our staff and our services. We are sorry if you had the perception that we were not addressing all the reviews we receive. We apologize if the Cuban National Police gave your friends the impression of being over reacting while making their job. Cuba works very hard to be a very safe destination not only for the tourists but for the local population and the Police takes very seriously every single report they receive. The electronic room lock system we use is very secure and allows printing readout of every time the door is opened and by which key which was reviewed by the Police showing no evidence of someone else entering. This case had us very surprised for the same reasons you post. We thank you for your concerns and rest assure we will continue to work in trying to make sense of it and looking for any new lead that could help us solve it. Rest assure we are the ones more interested in solving this strange case and to avoid any recurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,375
    1,285
    541
    168
    108
See reviews for
990
1,527
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on promising TripAdvisor reviews and true enough, we did not regret it! We had a very relaxing 7-day stay! The service was great from check-in till check-out, thanks to all hard-working and courteous crews. The hotel is very impressive, really clean, breezy and fairly new. Our room was well-kept and cleaned everyday. We loved the buffet food and the fact that there were varieties and not too repetitive. The foods served were at its natural best! We love the omelettes, grilled fish, chicken and turkey, paella and buttered rice, buns, croquettes, churros, short bread cookies and fresh fruit juices and ice cream. No need to reserve at all a la carte restaurants, we tried both the Oriental and Italian but preferred the Oriental better. The beach and pool areas were well maintained and no problems on getting lounge chairs. The beach is in close proximity to the bar and beach buffet areas and we also did sailing. No problem on washrooms - it is everywhere, cleaned and supplied with tissues :) Great day activities and nightly entertainment shows! Our warm regards to our amazing, energetic, passionate and friendly emcee - Yandy! Overall, it was an unforgettable Cuban vacation experience and we won't hesitate recommending this hotel to our friends and families!

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are not too close to the pool area to have a quieter stay particularly during high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PmT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest, We want to thank you for your positive and very detail review and are very happy you had an unforgettable time with us at the resort. We will pass your comment to Yandy with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future and give you a second unforgettable vacation experience in Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed from June 20 to June 27th, 2014 We were 5 people 2 Adults & 3 Teens going for our first time to Varadero & it was a Great Experience.The People are very friendly always smilling always willing to help you, Café Mikes It`s an Awsome Café Great Delicous Expressos & fruit cold drinks for the teens which they absolutely Love it...., The Girls at Mikes Café were extremelly friendly & very nice always in a good mood... The Buffet was excellent , Our Favorites was the fresh fish everyday they would cook right in front of you was very very good, The pasta also was very good. Love the Beach Clear water all the way very clean.... The Animation beach & pool was lots of fun, The people in all the bars very friendly ... I have absolutely no complains on this resort, people very friendly, good food, excellent beach. Great vacation x x x thanks to everyone....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Enj0yLife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guests, We thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to hear you all enjoyed your visit with us. We do hope you allow us the chance of hosting you again. It would be our pleasure to receive you as one of our very valuable returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back after two week were do i start rooms are modern well kept grounds are beautifully kept. Also got to mention the staff the girls in the piano bar are a credit to the hotel friendly and service with a smile what more can you ask for? food in the gourmets are brilliant, the Italians best by far!! the buffet is nice but a bit repetitive and the mojitos are a MUST the only people that moan just talking rubbish give it a try you wont be dissapointed :)))

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Billyj122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Billy J., We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your two weeks vacations with us and to read your positive comments on the hotel, its staff and its services, specially the Piano bar girls, our Gourmet and Italian Restaurants and the Cuban Mojitos. We hope to have the chance to host you again with us here at “The Old Cactus” in sunny Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We went to this hotel in mid June with my parents and uncle. We have visited Cuba on 10 occasions and had a good idea what to expect from the all inclusive hotels. Our first impressions were that the hotel location and grounds were very nice. We were also pleased with our rooms. I emailed the hotel before to ask for rooms together in a quiet location and was not disappointed.

Our problem came when we went to eat in the buffet restaurant. The room was not in full use with some tables pushed to one side. The tables that were in use were about half full. We were surprised at the noise level in the room even, with so few people in there. I thought that the food looked very bland and uninviting. I have been in hotels where the food display is a lot better than this hotel. In view of this we all struggled to find much that we wanted to eat. I settled for pizza and chips! My uncle asked for a teaspoon for his coffee, he was told they had none and given a table spoon.

I have been in more inviting works canteens!

We found the breakfast experience similar, however the food was better.

After breakfast we saw the Thomas Cook rep and arranged to move to another hotel. We were in the Blau Varadero by 1pm where we had an excellent holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank redbrowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guests, we are very sorry your last visit was not as you expected. We have copied our F&B Director and our Chef on your comments. Our Kitchen staff is constantly looking into new ways to improve our F&B offer to our clients. We would have welcomed if you have given us the opportunity of trying to change your perception while you were still with us instead of leaving the hotel after the first night. Once again we apologize for any inconsistencies you might have experienced and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited this beautiful resort June 5-12, 2014. The lobby was very inviting and the grounds beautifully kept. The room was spacious, modern in decor and very clean. Would recommend the second floor as nice to have a bit of privacy on the balcony and to have a place to hang wet clothing. We took an outlet adapter however it was not necessary. Air con kept the room very comfortable and we could control this as desired. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We often witnessed various staff members helping families with children, offering a hand, a smile, a hug. We traveled as a couple and found a mix of other couples, families and age groups. With this said, the resort never felt crowded nor too loud. The lay out of complexes and green space allow for some quiet times and the choice as to whether to be in groups of people or take some alone time. We are not pool people, however the pool was close to our room and always appeared very clean and inviting. There were always lounge chairs available at both the pool and the beach and again, there was room to spread out if desired. The beach was gorgeous, clean, had plenty of parasols if needing a break from the sun and was amazing for swimming. The shores were cared for, the sand very soft and minimal tides allowed for easy and relaxing water play. We were able to dine at all three restaurants, along with the buffet and did not have to wait in line to do so (despite their no reservation arrangement). While we chose not to attend shows, there was nightly entertainment scheduled and staff during the day who offered activities by the pool or on the beach. The piano bar was a favorite, with the pianist and music trio a hit- along with staff and guests who would join in for singing or dancing. Mike's Cafe was another big favorite, with the best coffee and most delicious selections we have ever had. A big thank you to the staff at Mikes for their hospitality, friendly nature and for starting each day off with us with smiles. Taking a gourmet coffee down to the beach in the mornings while all was quiet was such a treat; on the first morning we sat and watched dolphins play right in front of the hotel beach. This was a fantastic vacation on all accounts, at a lovely resort that certainly exceeded our expectations. Thank you all and we hope to return!

Cindy M

Room Tip: We did not stay in the Priv section and felt no need to upgrade. Were in #6626, with the 5000's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Cindy M., We are very pleased to hear you had a fantastic vacations with us and our hotel and services exceeded your expectations. We will pass your “hello” to the Piano Bar and Mike´s Coffee staff with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. We thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the 2nd time ive been to Cuba, 1st time the Cayo,s and was very disappointed and said never again! then friends asked us to go to Varadero and reluctantly i said ok and im glad i did, we chose Ocean as a 2nd choice as our first hotel was booked up but boy am i glad we got this one, we arrived to be greeted by friendly staff which after a 9 hr flight it is gladly received, we got our rooms straight away and a lovely man on a buggy took us and our bags to our room, we were near the pool room 2316 which was lovely very clean modern and a massive king size bed, bathroom was great with a big bath and fab shower which actually had power (usually one could pee faster!!) great size balcony overlooking the pool but also had shade so you didnt fry when sat out! my only thing is if you want it quieter ask for a room away from the pool but hey you arent in it that long. The pool was great clean plenty off beds no fighting at 6am in a morning to get 1! the beach was beautiful and clean, the hotel bar was great good service and friendly staff especially Justo he was the man, and good cocktails!! The Buffet was good but i must say after a few days it gets a bit monotonous, we tried the al a carte restaurants but nothing special, so we went into Varadero a few nights which was a nice change about 20 peso,s in a taxi 10 mins ride. all in all had a lovely holiday highly recommend The Ocean, Enjoy

Room Tip: the rooms are Bungalow style i would ask for the top floor as they have balconies and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coppertop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear guests, It makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed your last vacations at our resort. We want to thank you for your positive and very detail review. We have copied our F&B Director and our Chef on your comments regarding the food but we can tell you that on a day to day basis we are looking into new ways to broaden our variety as well as to improve our service to our clients. Once again we thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again with us in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.1 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

Property: Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Address: Autopista Sur km 18 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Varadero El Patriarca 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime oceanfront property stretching more than 200 meters wide, Ocean Varadero El Patriarca is a five-star resort reflecting the 40’s and 50’s Varadero historic architecture. Complete with 420 deluxe rooms, Privilege Deluxe and Privilege Junior Suites; an array of thematic restaurants; a Despacio Spa Centre; Privilege Exclusive Rooms and Services, Privilege Lounge and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Varadero El Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing