We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star resort but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“5 star resort but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here December 17th to the 24th, 2013. The property was very nice for Varadero, everything was newer.
However the resort staff didn't seem very happy or motivated. I felt like a nuisance at times.
The beach is amazing although there's no sunset.
The food was fairly good, remember you are in Cuba.

In short:
Go here for the beach and the rum. Don't expect amazing service or food and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest, we want to thank you for taking the time in sharing your observation. Our staff has been normally regarded as polite, friendly and service oriented. We apologize if you experienced anything different from this during your visit in December. Our Chef and his team are constantly working in implementing new ideas to improve and widen our food variety and selection to provide our clients with food offer to compliment a great vacation experience. Being December part of our winter, the sunset is earlier, but still a wonderful moment worth seeing. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future as part of our returning guests family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    1,264
    530
    158
    106
See reviews for
968
1,496
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Simply excellent in every way possible! We had a great time! We stayed in building 16 which was perfect, in the middle and close to everything! The rooms are really big, very clean and very comfortable! The buffet had shrimp, octopus, muscles, fresh fish, fillet mignon, lots of cheese and cold cut choices, a bunch of salads also everyday! Basically always something for all tastes! The 2 snack bars were also very nice! Would definitely go back! I LOVE CUBA!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 16 and it was great! The hotel has no beach views so don't bother asking f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Brigitte K., We thank you for your positive comments. Guests satisfaction is our main purpose and it makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your vacations at our hotel. Once again we thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments and we hope to be able to host you again with us in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moray scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

me and my hubby travelled with another couple! we chose this hotel as it was a special holiday...celebrating our silver anniversary!!!!

we chose paradise!!! we loooooooved everything about this place!!! the staff and the food in the main buffet bar were excellent!!! We stuck to the left hand side of the dining room as we felt the staff were more efficient and we got to know them

mikes bar was brilliant!!! the staff were sooo smiley and friendly!!! the girls were always laughing and nothing was a bother!!!

the bar staff were exceptional!!! they were friendly up for a laugh and were great with people of all ages !!!! they were all friendly and kept the same calm attitude even though they worked really hard...as did all the staff!!!! nestor jerry jorge yania,justo,yaneis,yilian,darianne roberto.....excellent!!!

entertainment was fabulous!!! good laugh with the entertainment team at the poolside!!!

i loved the spa...had a manicure pedicure and massage!!! friendly staff xx

the gardiners housekeepers etc were all friendly smiley people....and nothing was a problem!!!!

dont hesitate to choose this hotel the staff the food the atmosphere is perfect!!!

my only advice is....take high sunfactor, we took 25 and had to source 40....was sooooo dam hot lol!!! and the mosquitos are out on force!!!!! be aware!!!!

thank u to "ALL" staff and management for our wonderful holiday!!! WE WILL BE BACK!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lossielush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my family's first time to Cuba and we stayed in this resort. All I can say is that this resort is above excellence. Loved the atmosphere, staff was excellent and friendly and all the amenities for all ages..I have already recommended this resort to friends at work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank G_Bajwa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have just returned from a 14 night holiday (25th July -9th August) and I already want to go back!

I travelled there on a girls holiday with 4 other friends and we absolutely loved it!

The hotel itself is clean, modern and was better than what I expected. The pool area is spacious and the beach is gorgeous and there were always sun loungers available no matter what time you arrived!

I stayed in Block 11 - very close to the lobby bar (which is always a bonus after one to many cocktails!)
The room was extremely clean and the two maids we had over the two weeks (Diana and Emma..I think!?) did a fantastic job! They always made us laugh with their funny towel creations! We had a problem with the air con when we first arrived - it wasn't working correctly. After informing reception they were more than willing to help - sending an engineer out and calling us to make sure everything was okay. There were a few ants in our room but nothing that caused too much of a problem.

I found the food fantastic with a wide variety of choice! The buffet can become a little repetitive but breaking it up and trying the a la carte restaurants helped - although I didn't think much to the Chinese! The gourmet one was lovely, great atmosphere and great food - especially the steak!

My friends and I booked onto five excursions - all of which were entertaining in some way! I'd highly recommend the overnight Havana trip, it is such a beautiful city and the Tropicana show is outstanding! Swimming with dolphins is absolutely incredible too! Although the wait for the show at the beginning is a little annoying as they cram so many people in and it gets very hot! Mambo Jambo night with our rep was a laugh too!...Prepare to be hungover the next day if you book onto this!! The catamaran boat trip is a really fun day..Cayo Blanco is like paradise and it's really enjoyable way to do something different! Jeep safari wasn't quite what we had expected...It's driving around and being taken to caves - not that great but nether the less we still made our own fun out of it, although I would not book onto this again!

The entertainment at the hotel is good, very varied but the theatre it's held in is way too hot! It gets unbearable and for that reason we didn't spend much time there. The lobby bar is where we spent most of our time for chilled drinks, which then led to salsa dancing in the disco which stayed open to about 1am approx!

The staff are without a doubt the reason this was such an amazing holiday! They are extremely friendly and are willing to help you out as much as they can!
A special thanks to the bar staff at the lobby - Jorge, Nestor, Nuriel and Justo especially! They made our holiday! They were always happy to see us and remembered our favourite cocktails. We miss you guys already!!

We left toiletries and bits and bobs we didn't need to take back, like flip flops and nail polish and the staff were very grateful for them. I'd recommend doing so, they really appreciate it.

Overall this was the best holiday I have been on and I'm already planning a trip back!

WE LOVE CUBA!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just came back from a week at El Patriarca to celebrate our 15th anniversary. It is a hidden gem - not sure if I should praise it up or give it a bad review to keep it a hidden gem ;)This was our first trip ANYWHERE outside Canada, and we were very pleased with El Patriarca. Wait staff was very good - especially Nayleta, Elaine, and Darianne (Hope I got them right!). Food was OK at buffet, a bit salty, but lots of choice (I am a SUPER picky eater, and was able to find something to eat). Tried the Oriental and Gourmet restaurants (Italian was hard to get into - make a reservation if you can!)...not too impressed. Service at the poolside snackbar was AMAZING!!!!! I didn't get names but the day staff were soo wonderful. They make a killer pina colada :)and the pepperoni pizza was great!
Bellboys were GREAT! When we arrived we were given a mini tour of the resort by the bellboy (sorry I didn't get his name - we were kinda dazed lol) Our minibar was kept stocked (we asked for 2 bottles of water and were never let down!). We didn't get the towel art that I have seen in some pictures, but no big deal. I didn't like having to almost beg for towels. We took 2 showers a day (hot and sweaty, and then salt water swimming...), so fresh towels were needed. The Chamber maid made it almost seem like a crime.

The beach was quite nice, and easy to get a lounger. Yes there was a small section of broken shells etc that you had to go through to get to the water, but come on - it's NATURE!!!!!! and if you are a shell collector like I am - Heaven!!! We did the catamaran snorkeling (40 pesos), and it was well worth it Alex who took us out was great. He took some beautiful photos for us underwater. Very friendly man.

The pool was very refreshing and relaxing. My only complaint was that there were quite a lot of kids - I am not a kid hater!!! But there was quite a bit of rough housing etc. Kids will be kids, and they had just as much right to enjoy their holiday as I did. Our next trip we will stay in Privilege for this reason (and we want to be a bit more pampered).

We went into Varadero 2 times. First we took the bus (5 pesos ride all day), and the second we rode in a '55 Chevy. We got the taxi round trip for 20 pesos (driver dropped us off and then about 1.5hrs later picked us up. There were no real stalls that stood out - they all pretty much have the same goods. Just be open to bargaining.

We hated to leave, and we will definitely be back. El Patriarca is a super spot. I don't think you will be disappointed! I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Stayed in Bloque 26 - close to beach, main area of resort and pool. Very convenient. Room was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just got back from this hotel, and the experience is very positive.The staff is great, and they are flying around you to serve you as fast as possible and at the same time I didn't feel any obligation for tipping.The rooms are nice and clean. The food is great and it is rather organic.

We flew with West-jet and in both direction we had delays both ways. Toronto-Varadero we were siting in airplane for about one hour, there was a problem finding a reserve pilot. In Varadero we were waiting for the plane from Toronto for about an hour.Because of mechanical issues.Seeing as this is a Canadian operated airline and there were problems, you can't complain about all the problems in Cuban resorts. These problems can occur in any other place in the world and not just Cuba. Therefore there is no reason to only complain about the resorts.

ROOM - it was clean and decent. Mini-bar was OK. There was water and several pops to choose from. The AC was running well and kept the room cold and pleasant. Even a rain umbrella was provided in case of rain.Sleeping was very pleasant.
BATHROOM - Everything was running well and there was enough clean towels everyday. There was always extra toilet paper and there were shampoos, soaps,etc. The water pressure was good and there was no problem with hot water. There was no bad smell at all.

FOOD - We are very picky about what we eat and about hygiene. Everything was clean. There are plenty of different foods to choose from and there was so much variety. The taste is more organic comparing to Canada. Overall the restaurant at the hotel left us very satisfied with the hygiene, food and the service. The Staff is great. Everybody has a smile and they were really doing their job. There is enough waiters and waitresses to serve you.
At the restaurant Garanon, we ate breakfast and the dinner, we have to appoint few of the waitress among the others : CHA'BELI, CHABELY, FIDEL, LILIANA, ZAYMA...(sorry if the names are spelled wrong). They are the reason we always came out of the restaurant with a smile.

BEACH - There is no complaint about beach. There were enough chairs and beach umbrellas. The beach was clean. There was no seaweed or other underwater plants, and the water gets relatively deep not far from the shore, making it is nice for swimming, and just overall relaxing.

Pool - We didn't go because we have enough pools here.

Mike's Coffee- There is a small cafe on the resort. We have been there several times. The coffee and drinks that we have tried are great. I would recommend trying the iced coffee "El Partriarca". The baristas were very nice and we didn't have to wait a long time for our drinks to be made.

Lobby/Reception- We spent most evening in the lobby relaxing and enjoying our vacation. The staff were always circling and making sure we were OK. The reception desk staff were always helpful and their service is very fast.

For all tourists who are expecting "perfection", go to the Maldives, Sandals, or something costing you 10, 15 grand or more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank termik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.1 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

Property: Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Address: Autopista Sur km 18 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Varadero El Patriarca 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime oceanfront property stretching more than 200 meters wide, Ocean Varadero El Patriarca is a five-star resort reflecting the 40’s and 50’s Varadero historic architecture. Complete with 420 deluxe rooms, Privilege Deluxe and Privilege Junior Suites; an array of thematic restaurants; a Despacio Spa Centre; Privilege Exclusive Rooms and Services, Privilege Lounge and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ocean Varadero El Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing