We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Patriarca Aug 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were originally supposed to stay at the Iberostar Playa Alameyda-a complete disaster and were able to transfer over to the Oceans H10. When we arrived we were welcomed with a mimosa beverage, the lobby and overall decor of a beautiful contemporary spa like ambiance. This resort is only 2 years old...the food for Cuba is much better than other resorts offering a variety of meats/fish/rices/pasta's/cold salads/deserts at the buffet. The staff is very friendly and caring. The beach is beautiful, get to your umbrella's early to save your chairs and umbrella's.
Mikes Cafe was amazing offering specialty coffee's and a great place to sit and stay cool...again great decor! Drinks were delicious and you can't beat the gorgeous beaches of Cuba! If you get served by Lester at the buffet he is so sweet and went out of his way for our family!! Hi Lester!!

Room Tip: We were in block 54 great location...close to pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Repvbblica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2014

Dear guests, we want to thank you for your positive review and are very happy you had a good time with us at the resort. Be sure we will pass your “hello” to Lester at the Buffet Restaurant together with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again with us in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 3,675 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

This was our second vacation at Ocean Varadero and the hotel management went out of their way to welcome us back (every day there was a "surprise" delivered to our room). Thank you so much. Again like last year, fantastic beach, accommodation, buffet. We always looked forward to joining the group at the Piano Bar. All the guests joined in singing along (and sometimes dancing) with the musicians. We found the best bartenders in Yilian Garcia, Nereida Trujillo and Tania Loman. Their service and attention were the best. Also John at the Beach Bar, very pleasant and accommodating. We can't say enough about the excellent service we received. Highly recommend. Be sure to visit the Piano Bar and Mike's Café where there are approx. 17 specialty coffees served.

Room Tip: Second Floor has nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Rosella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Rosella, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us, even more than the first one. We thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. Be sure we will pass your “hello” to Yilian, Nereida, Tania and John with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. We hope to have the chance to host you one more time with us here at “The Old Cactus” in sunny Cuba, as part of our returning guests family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The food there was very good for Cuba. The a la carte restaurants we amazing. It was very convenient to not have to walk from the pool/ the beach to the lunch place which was fairly far because there were restaurants next to the pool and beach serving fresh food and drinks. The live entertainment was great and there was a great band performing on the first night. The service was great and our cleaner was very nice and the was always towel art on our beds at the end of the day. One thing that was a bit upsetting was that each person was given one beach towel that you can trade in for a clean towel each day. But if you somehow misplaced that towel or someone stole it, they will not give you another towel until you find a towel. Overall I gave this a 5 star because everything was great and there was a bar in the pool which is good aswell. The are little huts all around the beach for shade and there are good activities at the beach they also put up warning flags at the beach if there are jelly fish or big waves; however I was not aware what colour flag the jelly fish warning is. There is a kids place, a spa and a gym and if you're not in the privilege area you have to pay for internet and can only get it in some parts of the lobby.

Room Tip: The standards room has two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank dylan_eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

We thank you for taking the time in writing your comments and welcome your observations. Your comment about the beach towels has been shared with our Housekeeping Manager for her to analyze it and correct any situation that could have led to our service being perceived in such way, even when the guests should take care of the belongings the hotel provides them, our policy says you should be given another towel to use while yours in found. Once again we thank you for your comments and are sorry about the issue with the towels, hoping it didn´t prevent you to have a full enjoyment on your vacation. We hope we can have the chance to host you again in the not so distant future to provide you with the excellent vacation experience you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A pleasant hotel, great pool, beach, bars and weather..

The only thing is we felt we had to tip constantly, when you are there for 3 weeks it grows a little tiresome! One guy literally did not say a single word to us in 3 weeks despite dealing with him daily.

The majority of staff were lovely though. Our cleaner was also very friendly.

The thing that annoyed us hugely was the attitude of the french Canadians, I don't think I've ever been so annoyed in my life, from jumping queues, walking through doors held open for my partner, shutting doors in her face, the way the treat the staff and generally just strut around pointing and talking about you.

If I ever meet another french Canadian it will be one too many.

Ban the frenchies and it will be a great place :)

ps, a lot of people go on about the food being terrible, the same people who eat the same crap they do back home of course. The food was varied and nice. A great mix of things. The service in the restaurants I have to say is shockingly slow and I don't understand the "no reservations thing" yet you turn up to eat and have to make a reservation for half 8 or 9:15? By the time you are served (typically nearly 2 hours) it is so late - this needs to be addressed. The waiting teams are all nice enough and the food was always nice in these places.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Martyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

We want to thank you for your review, the good comments and the constructive observations. We are sorry to hear about your perception regarding the quality of service linked to tips. Your comment has been shared with all our service staff for them to analyze themselves and correct any behavior that could have led to their service being perceived in such way. We aim to improve every day and your feedback is very important into us reaching this goal. We will be more than happy to receive you once again as one of our very valued repeat customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I just asked my beloved what she thought and she couldn't think of anything to complain about. Not that she has a perchance to complain....because she doesn't (though may tend toward pinching depending on what I write).
The welcome was pleasant and we were efficiently booked in, went to the room which was new, clean and modern. The only things about the room were, you have to leave a key card in the AC to keep it running, if you leave sweets or unwashed mugs in the sink there are ants (it is a tropical resort not the city) and on one very windy night the door whistled but a towel against it stopped that.
The pool was cool and refreshing, the beach was beautiful and so were the grounds.
For food you will always hear the usual negatives about Cuban food there was always something we could eat. The lunch buffet by the beach was sometimes an adventure often tasty but not always what was expected. Dinners at the A la carte's were ok we tried the Italian and oriental and they were fine but not great.
Mike's coffee house had latte's that I am told were fabulous, the piano bar had live entertainment and good service.
The staff for any hotel related service was consistently great, always pleasant and friendly returning a smile with a smile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank CdnWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your good comments and welcome your observations. We aim to improve every day and your feedback is very important into us reaching this goal. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future and have the chance to receive you as part of our very valuable returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a fantastic time at Ocean Varadero. After dropping several others off at other hotels, I am glad that we arrived here! The hotel itself was not too busy, I'm told this is because we were staying during off-peak times (which I'm told is November - March).

Staff could not have been more polite, welcoming and friendly. We were part of the privilege section of the hotel and if possible, would suggest upgrading to this package. It includes (amongst other things) private pool, executive drinks, 1 hour free wi-fi, access to privilege lounge, on-call butler and probably the biggest perk - queue jump and prior booking at the al acarte restaurants (the looks we got from other hotel guests suggest this perk was well work having!). Our room was spotless, the hotel itself was very well-maintained and had excellent facilities. Special thank you to "Ayda" at the privilege pool bar who was wonderful during our time - I developed a worrying addiction to her iced coffees!

If you are looking for activities / things to do, there are plenty to choose from. We went sky-diving, swimming with dolphins, snorkelling and kayaking to name but a few. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for your holiday in Varadero!

Room Tip: Privilege section is closest to the beach / privilege lounge and far enough from main pool to be &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Katie M., We want to thank you for your positive review and are very happy you had a good time with us at the Privilege section in our resort. We will pass your “hello” to Ayda with our congratulations on having created a positive difference in your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your comments and we hope to be able to host you again with us in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just returned from a week in a Cuban paradise (7th Aug to 14th Aug)! Attended a family wedding and what a great time was had by all. It was hot and humid but soooo good. The staff were amazing - so very friendly and helpful. Our room was kept immaculate - clean towels every day! The beach has lots of place to relax and the pool was clean and has lots of loungers available. The food was excellent too! Lots of choices for all - the fruit and bread and cheeses are delicious - the blue cheese is OMG delicious! We had been warned that the food at the resorts can be 'iffy' but this resort had the best by far. Beats the Sandals resort we stayed at 2 years ago big time. Mikes, the coffee shop is excellent - great drinks and friendly, happy staff to serve you. You gotta go here! Had magnificent sunsets on the beach. Will return to Cuba in future instead of Mexico.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the theatre and disco - can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCT-CustomerService, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Lesley B., we are glad to hear you had a good enjoyment of your vacations with us while attending a family wedding. We thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience. We feel so proud to have contribute in your decition of returning to Cuba instead of other countries for future vacations. Hope to have you back in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.7 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
3.3 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Playa Alameda Hotel
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,894 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Varadero El Patriarca

Address: Autopista Sur km 18 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range: £119 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ocean Varadero El Patriarca 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime oceanfront property stretching more than 200 meters wide, Ocean Varadero El Patriarca is a five-star resort reflecting the 40’s and 50’s Varadero historic architecture. Complete with 420 deluxe rooms, Privilege Deluxe and Privilege Junior Suites; an array of thematic restaurants; a Despacio Spa Centre; Privilege Exclusive Rooms and Services, Privilege Lounge and upgraded amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ocean Varadero El Patriarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing