We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Staff Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great Staff Great Holiday”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

From the day we arrived 13/10/13 to the day we left 24/10/13 everything was GREAT. The room was clean and quite spacious, the pool area and pool were spotless, the open spaces kept tidy by the gardening staff, the food lots of choice eggs cooked to your request at breakfast, a special mention to both chefs cooking pasta dishes while you wait at dinner, your dishes were perfect everytime, you are both an asset to the hotel thank you. Also to Jose in the Japenese resturant you are a not only a great chef but also a showman. A very special thank you to the maid who kept our room clean and amused us everyday with a different towel model also 'Randall' whom looked after us on both British nights that the hotel kindly held, we hope everything comes good for you in the future you were a great host and always stopped and made sure everything was ok when we saw you around, last but not least 'Yeleine' for making our stay a time to remember and meeting us on arrival and saying good bye when we left. We will be back to visit in the not to distant future, if anyone is thinking of staying at the Melia Peninsula don't hesitate book it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2346 which had a side veiw of the pool and was close to beach and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trebor1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir Trebor:

It is a pleasure to read your message, we are very glad to know you have had a good experience not only because our environment and services, but our friendly staff which is one of the most important values of the Hotel.
Actually, Jose is a very special cook and showman, with lot of experience, also your maid, should be Tatiana, and Yeleine, who has recently joined us in Sales. I hope to meet you next holidays in Meliá Península Varadero.

Thanks a lot for the recommendation. It is a good proposal to the travelers and readers moreover when we have updated the lobby, reception, pool and some rooms.

Best regards,

Frederick Andersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,596
    928
    504
    309
See reviews for
1,685
1,574
94
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Went to this hotel in January and going back in December.

Big resort, pretty clean rooms. The food at the buffet is pretty good, didn't even reserve at any of the a la carte restaurant. Back in January, the hotel was changing name from Tryp to Melia and everything went smoothly. The staff are friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back in December to see the new lobby and all of the renovation that was made.

Muchas gracias por la fabulosa vacaciones. No puedo esperar para verlos a todos de nuevo :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MTL_Critique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director Comercial at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sir:

Thanks for your review, we are very glad to share it with all the travelers and know you have expent good vacations in Meliá Península Varadero.

We welcome you as part of out family and for sure we appreciate you will to come over. This time you can enjoy your stayas returning customer. Please, if you wanted to have more informaton about the new facilities, please, do not hesitate to contact directly to the hotel and give your references on our webpage. I suggest Facebook.

Hoping to meet you soon,

Sergio Jesús Martínez
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Tryp Penninsula in September 2012 for 2 weeks.

The hotel was very nice, the grounds were beautiful with plenty of greenery and trees, we had a room with a pool view and it was lovely. There was a pretty good shop in the reception also, selling everything from Cigars – T-shirts – beach balls - souvenirs – sweets – coffee ! There were also a few stall type shops in the hotel grounds, mainly holiday souvenirs on sale here.

Mario the holiday rep. was very helpful and knowledgeable. The staff at reception and the cashier were very helpful, the staff at the bar and restaurants were very good and looked after us very well all the time. The waiters and waitresses were friendly and helpful & the dining room was spacious and well-organised. I believe that the hotel wasn’t ‘full’ when we were there, and there was a mix of Canadians, Mexicans and Brits/Europeans staying.

The maid was really good & we left her a gift in first week – some basic toiletry items in a make up bag, hair items, body spray, etc. she really appreciated it and even left us a present and a beautiful thank you letter, we were really touched by this.

The food and drink was good, with quite a good choice of evening meals, and a few a la carte restaurants – French / Mexican / Japanese – the Japanese was particularly good. The staff made the Brits very welcome with a British night / meal laid on with a complimentary bottle of Rum thrown in! Some great cocktails to be had in the bar !

The main pool was quite nice- big with plenty of choice of sunbed positions , we didnt use any of the other pools.

The beach was beautiful, very special –we like to spend some time on the beach on holidays and this one was superb. The sea was warm and there were shoals of fish swimming around you! You also had use of the boats & pedalos if you wanted!

There were sellers who would appear now and again but they stayed a distance away (walking along the edge of the sea!) just holding up what they were selling for you to go on to them if you wanted to.

The evening entertainment on the whole was very good – in particular a 5 piece Cuban band with a fantastic lady lead singer who played every other evening or so - we saw them plenty of times and they were fabulous !

Outside the hotel there is a bus stop where you catch the bus to Varadero and nearby shopping mall for just 5pesos & you can use the ticket all day. The bus ride is fab – open top double decker along the coast of Varadero – beautiful!

We would certainly go back again !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sir Lesley:

It is a pleasure to read our review and are it with all the travelers.

Meliá Península Varadero is now finisheing a renovation program, so if you perceived a good attention when staying here at Tryp, you will have a better service eoth the new brand. We have a new Lobby and Bar, and the pools are updated. It is greater news to know you are willing to come back, do not hesitate to contact directly to the Hotel to have more information about the facilities.

Hola from Cuba, we hope to meet you soon again!
Best regards,

Frederick Andersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Melia Peninsula from August 17 to the 24. I' m very pleased with the entire trip. I was sceptical with some of the previous reviews I had read in June and July but came to realize that some people are just to demanding and miserable.

Size of resort is perfect, not to big which is great because you don't need to walk that much in the heat. Rooms where nice and comfortable with good AC. Beach was beautiful as always in Varadero. Had fun and enjoyed the adult pool which needed a coat of paint but from what I understand pools are getting painted this month. While we were there, they were fixing the new lobby which I'm sure will be fabulous. Hotel grounds are very well kept.

Food was very good for Cuba. Always something to eat. Pork roast at the buffet was absolutely amazing. We tried the Japanese, Mexican and Italian restaurant. The Japanese is amazing and very entertaining. Staff is very nice and friendly.

Shows at night are very nice. Nice disco with great music but it gets really hot in there. Meet some of the entertainers Jorge, Tony great guys. Hope everything works out well with them. Would like to thank the manager Sergio Jesus for his assistance and kindness.

Went on the catamaran excursion to swim with the dolphins and visit Cayo Blanco must say it was the best part of our vacation. Excellent excursion worth taking.

Overall, had a great time with my family at this resort and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy-TPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director Comercial at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Nancy:

It is a real pleasure reading yoru message and sharing it with all the travelers. We know you have had a great time with us, and hope you will come back soon to provide your the best attentions as possible, now as returning customers.

After you left the Hotel, we have finished the renovations works, so you will find new Lobby and reception at your next holidays, also a new Lobby Bar, pool paint and best services, since Meliá have encouraged an important program for the staff in Meliá Península Varadero.

For sure, we have transmitted your message to our team and hope you will enjoy more great family holidays in this Resort, your home in Cuba.

Best regards,

Sergio Jesús Martínez
Sales Managert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgenorth, ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have been going to this hotel for the past 4 1/2 years...So far I have been 13 times and have booked #14 for next month...the beach is awesome and the staff are wonderful!!

I snorkel at the beach and always find beautiful shells of all shapes and sizes. Some the size of footballs if you know where to look.

I now have many Cuban friends, who I consider "family". They have invited me to their homes, which I have done, and I have also attended 2 wedddings and a birthday party as a result of their friendship and kindness.

Be thankful for what YOU have at home everyone!! The Cuban people work their butts off, long hours, in extreme heat, wearing long pant and uniforms to make your stay exceptional. They get the equivalent to $20 (Canadian) a month for their efforts.

Upgrades and renovations have been done, and more are planned to maintain this resort. The impact of this process has never interfered with my trip, as I spend my time at the beach. I was shocked that one woman was upset because the lobby was under renovation in September and we had to use the convention room to book in. I guess she was planning to stay in the lobby for the week while the rest of us enjoyed the beach. Some people are not content unless they can find "something wrong" with everything.

The pool now has a fresh look and a paint job. All is back to normal in that space with a 24/7 snack bar and beverages.

Don't be afraid to ask staff members (especially the entertainment crew) any questions. They wll give you good advice. Drop in at the "Cuban House" near the beach beside the Laguna buffet and speak to Damian. He is a wealth of information and is a super guy!!

Relax, have fun, soak in the sun, and smile. You have arrived in paradise. Don't "sweat" the small stuff - life is too short.

Bring a bubba mug so you don't have to go to the bar as often. I recommend your own snorkel and mask. A multi-tool is great to clean out the shells so you can take them home.

Thank you to all the staff, too many "best friends" to list them all.

Room Tip: my 2 favorite spots.....2900 block pool side - close to the beach as well, right next to snack bar o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pepper6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Angela:

On behalf of the entire staff of Meliá Península Varadero, we appreciate your preference for our services and also the love that you feel for this land. We know you are part of the family and you are always welcomed to your home in Cuba.

Next time you will celebrate your birthday wioth us, and for sure it will be our pleasure to join you.

Hoping to meet you again,

Frederick Andersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My girlfriend and I returned a couple weeks ago from our first trip to Varadero Cuba where we stayed at the Mila Peninsula. We had a great time and will definitely be returning. In summary: the beach was amazing, the facilities were very good (despite the renovations that were underway), there was always something to eat that we enjoyed and the staff was outstanding. Great value for the money!

Our room was clean and comfortable. The air-conditioning worked wonders after a hard day of laying in the hot sun drinking ;). As I mentioned, the hotel was under renovation during our visit but it really didn't bother us much because it was still very nice. The maintenance on the pool wrapped up while we were there. It turned out nicely and we enjoyed joining in on some pool volleyball and poolside dancing our last couple days when we could tear ourselves away from the beach.

Re the beach: it was SOO BEAUTIFUL. It was very clean, there were lots of thatched roof umbrellas just a few meters from the water, and the water was warm, clear and calm. On Angela's recommendation we took went out on a catamaran to the coral reef; it was amazing to be surrounded by hundreds of beautiful tropical fish in the warm, crystal clear waters.

We usually took lunch at the buffet close to the beach and enjoyed the daily BBQ and invited staff members to join us for lunch a couple times and very much enjoyed their company and conversation. The main buffet had good variety every day and the two a la carte restaurants that we tried (French and Japanese) were decent.

On the bus from the airport to the hotel we met a lady named Angela who was going to Peninsula for the 13th time. Yes, 13th! She's in love with the place and especially with the staff. We want to give a special shout out to Randal who DJs and works as one of the entertainment staff their. He was so friendly, helpful and unassuming; a class act (Someone give that man a raise!).

My only complaints would be that the disco was slow at night and that I wish I was there when the renovations were all finished (It looks like they'll be done in a month or so). I understood from another Canadian who was on her way out the day after we arrived that the disco had been busy the week before. It really depends on when you go and who shows up.

Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director Comercial at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Dennis:

Thank you very much for your refreshing comments! It was a pleasure to read you and to share your joy!

We are very well concentrated on your needs here at Meliá. We know that every guest is different and that is why it is important for us to know your preferences in order to satisfy them. Your satisfaction is the only purpose of our staff. If we have reached it, we did our job. It all comes down to you! We would not be who we are without you!

We very much appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion, dear guests. Even greater news is that you will be back to join us!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Meliá Península Varadero, to keep enjoying our Beautiful Beach, and friendly staff! We have given your message to Randal, and of course, appreciate you have met Mrs. Davis.

Best regards,

Sergio Jesús Martínez
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My first trip to cuba was at the Tryp hotel, now called Melia Peninsula Varadero back in 2011. We went with our daughter, at the time she was not even 2 years old. We had asked for a room as far away from the noise and pool, and on the second or third floor. Upon our arrival, we waited for a long time for someone to take us to our room, but when they didn't show up after 25 minutes, we decided to walk and figure it out on our own. When we found our room, we were livid. Our room was not only on the first floor, but it was in the building closest to the pool, and all you heard was the bass from the music. Needless to say that with a toddler who naps and sleeps early, this was not going to work. We called reception and they changed our room to one slightly further but on the third floor, which was better.
The beach was beautiful, the people very friendly. Every time my daughter walked on the path, a gardener would give her a flower. Very sweet gesture.
The restaurant by the beach was very good, and offered nice choices if you didn't want to go all the way back to main restaurant for lunch.
Now, almost 3 years later, we decided to go back. Other than the room fiasco , which was solved, we had an overall good experience. This time we will try the elegance package, and we are hoping for better accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique7405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_General_Manager, Director Comercial at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Monique:

Thanks a lot for your review. I have taken note under your booking since you are returning customer. We hope to reach your expectations such like we did last time.

The hotel has now a new Lobby and more services as Meliá brand, so you will enjoy your Holidays as one of the

À cet heure-la, au plaisir,

Sergio Jesús Martínez
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.8 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
4.3 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Property: Melia Peninsula Varadero
Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#27 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing