We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Cuba!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Varadero
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's Cuba!!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for 10 days over Christmas/New Year at this hotel. The staff were delightful and having met some of the management who were there because of the transition to a Melia hotel, there were some teething problems which they were well aware of and hoped to rectify. I admired the staff who had to cope with visitors who drank too much and ate far too much. My favourite moment was the North American 13 year old who wanted a "5 egg omlette" and the staff very sweetly advised that the maximum was "3 eggs". The hotel is all inclusive but you don't need to eat everything that you see. The joy of Cuba are the people and the atmosphere, the food is not themost important thing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_DirComercial, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sarah A:

We are very happy you have enjoyed our services during your stay at Meliá Varadero Peninsula.
Thank for sharing your comments with the travelers on the web. We are happy you has enjoyed Cuban people and the very nice atmosphere of our tropical paradise. The small details of everyday are very important if you want to improve services, accompanied by the renovation of the structure Meliá is currently operating in the hotel.

Our renovation program is reaching all the areas in the resort. We hope to meet you back next holidays…

You have in Meliá Península Varadero your home away from Canada!!!

Best regards,

Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    1,624
    944
    517
    319
See reviews for
1,720
1,592
98
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just came back from a one week stay at the Melia Peninsula Veradero - I was apprehensive about going as the reviews seemed to be all over the place. All in all we had a wonderful time. This may be lengthy -
Food: Although there was no shortage of food the qualify was lacking. What some of the other reviews mentioned about concerns with cross contamination of food was certainly evident (same tongs used for raw and cooked meet) and food being left out in the sun. The fish at the buffet was great, and the a la cartes were great. Although there was food available 24 hours a day, I found it a bit "inconvenient" to be eating at the hotdog/hamberger stand for snacks with young children. There needs to be bananas and crackers (children's snack foods) for in between meals - Canadian children do not eat supper at 7 or 8 pm - so it took us a few days to acclimatize our family to Cuban meal times. If travelling with children, definitely bring granola bars, crackers, etc. Also there was a terrible odor in the buffet room - I think it may have been the smell of the guava fruit -
Beach: great beach - I was concerned after reading one review about shells and cigarette butts - and yes there were a lot of broken shells from the surf and some butts - but the beach was well maintained and beautiful - one of my favorite parts of the vacation. The children loved looking for whole shells and the water was perfect. The watersports were free - except for a small fee you could have someone take the catamaran to a snorkel spot just off shore - well worth it.
Pools - The children loved both pools and we made sure we went to one every day after the beach - neither was crowded.
Staff - staff was friendly and helpful - everyone was exceptional with my two children. On two occasions we called the front desk to request something - both times we had a follow up call to ensure we were satisfied. All of our experience with the staff was wonderful.

Money exchange - I had read about line ups and unreliable hours - we did not encounter this problem - I never waited in a line - I don't think the hotel was booked to capacity though

Entertainment - I didn't see shows every night - but what I did see was great. My 3 yr old son loved the clown show

Rooms and grounds - The rooms were pretty much exactly like the pictures - the landscaping is well maintained, however some upkeep or maintenance would go a long way - some paint would freshen it up

Also loved the fact that I could be on the beach without vendors going up and down the beach trying to sell items (which I always encountered in Dominican and Mexico)

Not a 5 star resort by North American standards, however I had a wonderful vacation and would go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Tina,

We are very happy you have enjoyed our services during your stay at Meliá Peninsula Varadero. Specialized in families and tourist groups, the hotel seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighbor paradise. We greatly appreciate you have shared your personal experience with other travelers on the web and glad to know you have spent a wonderful time with us! The management of Meliá Península is committed with the quality and our staff is always working on clients' satisfaction. However, we know some improvements are needed as you have realized during your holidays. Is very good to know you delighted the fish at the buffet, and food in the á la carte restaurants. Lots of customers stay longer in the resort just to enjoy to maximum the all inclusive formula in perfect combination with the Caribbean weather down the palm trees. Even greater news is that you will be back to join the transparency of the blue waters, the fine white sand and the warm sea!!!

We certainly look forward to welcoming your family back at Meliá Península Varadero,

Best Regards

Fabrizio Testoni
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent a week at the Melia Peninsula Varadero, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff was extremely friendly (kudos go out to our cleaning lady, Haiti, our "Japanese" chef,, Jose, and our morning coffee girl at the lobby patio, Jennifer!) and the property is spotless. The resort is big enough to offer anything you would need for the week, but small enough to get around to everything without having to walk forever to get from place to place. The rooms are spacious, with walk-in closets, and big balconies, along with soaker tubs and separate showers. We never had a problem getting a place in the shade on the beach, or at the pool, no matter what time of day it was - a bonus for us, as we enjoy sleeping in a bit.

The entertainment in the lobby far surpasses the theatre entertainment, and we spent every evening there, enjoying the various bands that performed. We also enjoyed the various small trios and quartets that played at La Laguna at lunch time.

I'd have given it 5-stars, but we found the buffet to be very repetitious, and we were tired of the same food, over and over, by the end of the week. The A La Cartes are delicous (the best, by far, is the Japanese), and broke up the routine nicely. We also found it a bit "tired" and in need of some paint, but saw some painting and sprucing up happening while we were there, as I'm sure it was the beginning of the off-season.

Tips for travellers: Bring face cloths - they don't provide them. There aren't any 110V plug ins in any of the rooms, so leave your appliances at home. They recently got wireless internet in the lobby, and charge 5.00 CUC for an hour of usage (not bad, I thought). The best coffee is at the lobby bar (cappuccino and mochaccino is also available!). If you want a massage, they do require at least a one-day advance booking, so you can't just "drop in" and hope to have one. Make sure and bring gifts (and tips!) for your cleaning lady - you will be rewarded with gorgeous towel and blanket sculptures with flowers! (I picked up a bunch of small gifts at the Dollar Store, and she was thrilled with them.) Bring a thermal mug for your drinks - keeps them cold, and saves trips to the bar. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 25 - view of the pool, and close to the beach - but the resort is small enough th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Residente, Director Residente at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Diane W;

Firstly I would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays and you had relaxing days in our piece of paradise.

I will pass your comments to my team, specially to Haiti, Jose and Jennifer.

I am glad that you enjoy our entertainment, we have a young team, very active and they really focus in our guests, we introduce music and show every day in our lobby to give a second option to all the guests that they won’t like to go to the theatre.

It is great that you mention the Wi-Fi, now we have Wi-Fi connection in our Lobby and Lobby bar, 4.50 CUC per hour.

Always all the maintenance is done during the low season but always in close areas to don´t disturb to any of our valuable guests.

I hope see you again in our Resort and do not forget to inform us before your next visit.
Best regards;

David Salgado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spended 2 weeks on Cuba in this hotel in April. We were very satisfied, we took a rest and have known a lot of nice and willing people. We want to say thanks mainly to Yonar alias PUMA :) It is very friendly, whole hearted and cute boy. We were looking forward to dance-lessons, his jokes and always good and laughing mood. We want to say thanks to him also this way and underline his professionality. Please, give him our greeting. Janka, Marta and Janka

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Janka D,

It is very nice to read that you had a good time and spent a nice two weeks at Meliá Peninsula Varadero. Your comments are extremely valuable and will encourage us to continue on the same direction, looking always for our guest’s satisfaction. I am also glad to know that you found our staff friendly and smiling and it will be a pleasure for me to thanks Yonar of entertainment team.

It will be my pleasure to greeting you personally in our resort soon again.

Best regards.

Fabrizio Testoni
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Melia! The kids had lots to do, and the beach was awesome! The Japanese a la carte was spectacular and great entertainment. The kids really enjoyed the "Circus" evening entertainment, and service for the room was exceptional! The room was in the 28 block and is in a great location. Quiet at night, great for sleeping, right near the beach, near the lunch buffet/bbq, yet still close enough to the pool. It was a bit from the lobby, but not far enough to pose an issue. The rooms were spacious and we all slept very well. The buffet boasted the same (or similar fare) every meal with a few changes, but was very good. Excellent if you compare it to the previous resort we stayed in in Cayo Coco 3 years earlier. Drink options and consistency were very good as well. Rum punch, and paradise are excellent options. Iced coffee and baileys at the lobby bar in the morning were quite tasty too! All in all, a fabulous vacation travelling with 2 children ages 9 and 11

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Michelle W,

We are sincerely thankful for sharing your positive review regarding Meliá Peninsula Varadero on Tripadvisor and for giving us the highest possible note. I am pleased to know that you truly enjoyed not only for kids entertainment but also the evening shows. Thank you also for mentioning the quality and variety of food and beverage, we work hard every day and do our best efforts to guaranty the best offer and wide selection of food for our guests.

We will be waiting to welcome you again at the Melia Peninsula Varadero for another unforgettable vacation in the wonderful island of Cuba.

Warm regards

Fabrizio Testoni
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brantford, ontario, canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was the first trip to Cuba for my wife and myself. We found the Melia to be a very good resort to stay at. The staff were friendly and proficient. The grounds were meticulously maintained. The selection and quality at the buffet was overwhelming. We also went to the Japanese and Cuba ala-carte restaurants(both very good). The beach was gorgeous. Felt very safe on the resorts property. We would recommend this resort to anyone(with or without children). Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear cbalazs,

Thank you so much for your nice comments concerning your stay at the Meliá Peninsula Varadero that you reported on Tripadvisor. I am really glad to see that overall you had a very pleasant stay with us, I also would like to thank you for recognized the great job done for our staff. I will gladly inform to our staff, I know they will be so proud of it. Comments like yours encourage us to continue working hard to even make it better for all our guests.

We hope to greet you soon back on our resort.

Warm regards from Cuba.

Fabrizio Testoni
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Amazing place for families. We had fun in the sun. Everything was nice, beaches, room, restaurants, pools, activities, shows for the kids...
Dominique, our Rep was really helpful. She is always available, greets you with à smille, has ans sers to our questions...thanks for making a week of vacation amazing and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Residente, Director Residente at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Jerome C;

Thank you very much for all your comments, we are glad to know that you had a great holidays with your family in our Resort; I will pass your comments to Dominique (your rep at the hotel) and also to all my team.

I hope see you soon and do not forget to inform us before your next visit.

Best Regards;

David Salgado

Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.9 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 65 in Varadero
1,511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
0.7 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 65 in Varadero
4,172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 65 in Varadero
7,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Property: Melia Peninsula Varadero
Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#24 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing