We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend have never being abroad and we decided to go to Cuba. I discovered at Melia Peninsula a group of people that make us spent an unforgettable days, very nice, friendly and funny... the evenings at the mojito are wonderfuls... to enjoy alone, with friends or with your family.
We stayed here in July 2014. The hotel is quite large but there were so many people that it seemed smaller. All restaurants are good, there is lots of variety; the beach is simply spectacular, night and day. The staff in general, the entertainment staff especially, are incredible, super friendly and nice. There are tourists from all over the world here and it is the ideal place to meet people, and enjoy the landscape and the Cuban flavour.
Deleb at the front desk was super as was the others girls.The staff in the dinning room was excellent, entertaiment could not be any better, we were there a week and did not see the same show twice. This was our first visit to Varadero, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director Residente at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Andrew P,

Greetings from Meliá Península!!!
First of all thank you for selected our hotel for to spend your holidays. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a fabulous vacation during your stay in our beautiful resort.
We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service we offer.

Specializing in families, weddings and honeymoons, Meliá Península Varadero seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighborhood paradise.

We really appreciated your comments about the the staff in general, the entertainment staff, restaurants and beach .

I would like to inform you about the renovation program will take place for the next high season 2014‐2015, the main pool will be renovated and we will continue rooms updating. We are confident that these works will have a positive impact in the quality of our tourist product.

Thank you very much for your review and do not hesitate in contact us before your next visit.

Hopping to meet you in the next time…

Raúl Ariza
Director Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    1,603
    930
    505
    311
See reviews for
1,690
1,576
95
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel during the last 2 days of our Cuba tour. After all the state-run hotels, this was a relief.
The rooms are spread over several buildings, colonial style, in a lovely garden. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have all the conveniences you need (and they function).
The pool is large and clean (but the floor of the pool is a little damaged, which makes it look dirtier than it is). The beach is lovely. There are enough loungers at the beach and near the pool.
The food is very good, but I personally am not a fan of the all-in service. It is more quantity (food, drinks) than quality oriented.
It was striking that all of the doors in the common area's (reception, buffet restaurant, à la carte restaurant) had broken locks.
The hotel is being advertised having a 5 stars rating by some tour operators. This is overrated, if you compare to a real 5 star hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tineke_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director Residente at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Tineke_9,

Greetings from Meliá Península!!!
First of all thank you for selected our hotel for to spend your holidays. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a fabulous vacation during your stay in our beautiful resort.
We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service we offer.

Specializing in families, weddings and honeymoons, Meliá Península Varadero seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighborhood paradise.

We really appreciated your comments about the roms, bathroom, food and beach .

I would like to inform you about the renovation program will take place for the next high season 2014‐2015, the main pool will be renovated and we will continue rooms updating. We are confident that these works will have a positive impact in the quality of our tourist product.

Your remarks about the doors in the common area is been discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently

Thank you very much for your review and do not hesitate in contact us before your next visit.

Hopping to meet you in the next time…

Raúl Ariza
Director Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this resort from July 11-18, 2014. This was a last minute vacation and the destination and hotel was unbelievable. We have been to Cuba several times bit the first time staying at this resort.
Our stay was unbelievable. We don't have any complaints whatsoever. The beaches and pool were great. The staff are first class. No complaints about the food - food is only one factor that contributes to a great vacation.
Of course, this time of the year the weather was extremely hot _ December will come quick enough and we will probably be wishing we were still enjoying the hot July Cuban weather. We will go back in a heart beat...and we will.
Thank you to all of the wonderful staff who contributed significantly to our fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: WiFi in hotel lobby at very reasonable price. Building 25 is great. Next to pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_DirComercial, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Garry:

Greetings from Meliá Península!!!
First of all thank you for selected our hotel for to spend your holidays. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a fabulous vacation during your stay in our beautiful resort.
We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service we offer.

Specializing in families, weddings and honeymoons, Meliá Península Varadero seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighborhood paradise.

We really appreciated your comments about food, beach and pools, and especially about our staff that works every day in order to provide a memorable stay to our customers.

I would like to inform you about the renovation program will take place for the next high season 2014‐2015, the main pool will be renovated and we will continue rooms updating. We are confident that these works will have a positive impact in the quality of our tourist product.

We appreciate very much guests like you, who are fond of our tropical paradise and consider a second chance to value our services.
Thank you very much for your review and do not hesitate in contact us before your next visit.

Hopping to meet you in the next time…

Fabrizio Testoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed from July 23 -July 30 with my boyfriend and our son and it was our first all-inclusive vacation ever. We went to Cuba knowing you don't go for the food and that it is a third world country so don't expect the same quality as you get in Canada. It was excellent resort with 2 pools, one more shallow for children and one deeper for adults but kids are welcome there too. The entertainment though cheesy was fun to see and the Michael Jackson tribute was by far the best. My son loved the kids showed that was at 8:30 every night and we didn't care if he was up late as he slept in the next day. Our room was spacious with 2 double beds and a 3/4 bed for my son which he loved it was a little firm. There are extra blankets in the room that you can put on the bed to soften it. Clean, large bathroom, mini bar, couch and flat screen tv as well as a CD player. We were in room 2562 on the ground floor, near the pool but not facing so it was quiet. Close to the beach and adult pool which was perfect for us.

We spent most of our days by the pool but the beach was beautiful too.There was a lot of food to choose from by didn't have signs up in front of every item so sometimes you're left guessing what it is. They have meat, pasta and fish areas where they will cook the food right in front of you but will have to wait in line as it's very popular. We went to 2 a-la-carts, Italian and Japanese and they were both superb and a nice change to the buffet.

We went on the Seafari Catamaran Excursion and I highly recommend it. Well worth the every penny and my son loved it also and he's only 2 1/2 years.

All in all, we had an amazing vacation and are feeling the withdrawl now that we are back. Just a few things disappointed us. We had to wait to get a room as we got there before checkout time (which we should have figured would happen), we were unable to exchange our beach towels with clean ones because of a problem with the one who delivers the clean ones but we were welcome to use the bathroom ones instead. One bridge is closed and the other ones need to be redone as the boards are looking worn which I'm sure will be done soon. We never fell through so don't worry too much. One day they had no oil for the french fries but it came soon enough, this upset my son more than us...LOL. Oh and the bathroom by the main pool was sometimes out of toilet paper and one stall was missing a seat but our room was close by so we could always go there too.

As others mentioned this resort is geared towards families so it was great for us but we did see couples there without any kids. It's a small resort compared to others but big enough for us. We wouldn't want any bigger. As it was a 10 minute walk from the beach to the children's pool which are at the 2 ends of the resort.

On a final note, I left my son at the Baby Club a couple of times to have free time with my boyfriend and he had a great time. Great staff that is good with kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2562 which was perfect as we were a 5 minute walk to the beach and just a 2 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squisha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, Director Residente at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Squisha76,
Greetings from Meliá Península!!!
First of all thank you for selected our hotel for to spend your holidays. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a fabulous vacation during your stay in our beautiful resort.
We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service we offer.
Specializing in families, weddings and honeymoons, Meliá Península Varadero seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighborhood paradise.
Your remarks about beach towels and toilet paper is been discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently.
About the bridge, I would like to inform you about the renovation program will take place for the next high season 2014‐2015, the main pool will be renovated and we will continue rooms updating. We are confident that these works will have a positive impact in the quality of our tourist product.
We really appreciated your comments about Baby Club, food, beach and pools, and especially about our staff that works every day in order to provide a memorable stay to our customers.

Thank you very much for your review and do not hesitate in contact us before your next visit.

Hopping to meet you in the next time.

Raúl Ariza
Director Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We've been to Cuba 6 times and this was the best resort we've been to so far. I did a lot of research and wanted something nice for us and our 3 teens (ages 14,16 & 17). Some resorts have more of a 'modern hotel/high rise' feel, but we wanted a more traditional, colonial plantation style with 2-3 story bungalow, which is exactly what this resort offered us.
Staff: Friendly, courteous, professional and always smiling and helpful. Every time we ordered food or drinks, we were offered a seat and they would bring it to us at our table.
Grounds: Groomed daily and lovingly tended to as well as the beach. Huge majestic palms with lush gardens and green everywhere. The only downfall was the lagoon area around the main lobby/buffet area...the hydraulic system is not working, but they work hard trying to keep it clean. So close your eyes at it during the day, but enjoy it at night when the lights reflect and mirror the sky off it.
Our Room: Large, bright and cheery with wicker furniture. Very clean, air conditioning worked great as well as good water pressure in shower. Our kids were in the room next door. Each had walk in closet. It's my understanding that this resort boasts the largest in Varadero. We had beer, pop and water stocked daily. Each room has a balcony. There are no ocean views at this resort as there is a little buffer area of trees between the beach and the bungalows. Maids were pleasant and did do towel art for us and wrote us little notes sometimes.
Beach: Beautiful! with white sand and blue water. However, it was the most narrow of the beaches on the strip probably...when I say narrow, it's still wide enough to accommodate 3 rows of palapas (tons of 'em) and beach volleyball nets. Some reviewers mention the drop/step down to the water from the beach, this is really not an issue, but it's true that it exists. Kind of like a mini cliff which is the size of a step.
Atmosphere: This is a family/couple resort in a nice quiet upscale tranquil surrounding. There isn't constant Latin music playing around the pool. They only do that around 3pm when the animation crew starts. Otherwise, it's a very relaxed place, not a party place for teens that's for sure. There is a disco in the main part of the hotel, but it wasn't particularly lively for the most part...I guess that all depends on the guests.
Adult Pool: Huge natural shaped pool with swim up bar...also snack bar to the side. Not a lot of shade, but some and ample amount of loungers. This is not an 'adult exclusive' pool, so there will be kids in and about it.
Children's Pool: On the opposite side of the hotel, a huge beautiful naturally shallow pool for little ones with a waterfall and 2 waterslides. There's a great pirate ship playground off to the side a snack bar and the kids club all within the same area. There's even a large wading pool for babies.
Family area: On this side of the resort where the kid's pool is, there are about 5 bungalows so you can be closer. It's really an amazing area for young families with little kids! I wish I had money to take mine away when they were young. I would HIGHLY recommend this for families with younger kids, as this truly caters to them.
Buffet Restaurant: Tons of food options! Yes, it's repetitive but so many choices, you don't have to eat the same thing all the time. We brought our own seasonings but ended up not using them because we did find the food flavorful ...
Breakfast: Best croissants this side of France...crispy on outside and doughy on the inside with a chocolate sauce to poor over top if you like. Bread and toasting station, fresh fruits, marinated salads and cold cuts/charcuterie & cheese, omelette station (if you like your bacon more cooked than they do it, just bring it to the guy at the omelette station and he'll gladly cook it longer for you). Also, juices and yogurts (liquid kind). I even saw soy milk! Mini crepes, sometimes waffles, lots of sausage and meat type stews with beans. Any kind of egg you want..poached, soft or hard boiled, scrambled etc. Coffee is not great here, but get a wonderful cappuccino in the lobby bar before coming in!
Lunch & dinner: Lots of meat and seafood options, marinated vegetables, fresh veggies, cold cuts & cheese, hamburgers, steaks, stews, rice dishes, pasta bars, chicken croquettes to name a few. Also ice cream bar for desserts. Cookies, squares, rice pudding and cakes.
The a la carte restaurants impressed us so much! I don't normally love them, but they know what they're doing here. Granted it isn't fine dining, but the service and attentiveness give you that impression. Your water or wine will always be filled. We were spoiled and got to try all 4 of them. The Japanese Sakura that everyone raves about is really good. It's more about the show than the food though...cute and interactive with photo ops. Great stir fried rice, veggies, beef, chicken, shrimp and calamari.
The French Bistro is the prettiest and food was lovely, although not authentic French food obviously. It has white tufted benches and a crystal chandelier in the middle of room. French onion soup is more an onion broth than the traditional gratinée Lyonnaise, but still tasty.
The Cuban Tocororo impressed us so much and was surprisingly our favorite. With a huge cloth-like chandelier dominating the center of the ceiling and painted frescos on the wall, it's elegant. The dishes were nothing like what was served at the buffet. I had a wonderful black bean soup and the tastiest shredded beef dish! Yummy!
The Italian Gondola was good, but probably least favorite of mine. It too was pretty with frescos but I found the food was a little plain. Service amazing though.
The Laguna lunch buffet offered an amazing paella daily with some great grilled options as a guy cooked it all right there...pineapples, tomatoes, steaks, burgers etc. Inside is another build your own pasta and some of the same dishes offered at the main buffet. Again, tons of food options, you can't go hungry.
The pool snack bar always offers juicy hamburgers, hot dogs were 'ok', and sometimes fries and other times homemade chips. There are pizzas available at various times tool. Staff here is lovely.
Drinks: I NEVER found our drinks watered down. On the contrary, they use a lot of rum! Delicious pina coladas, bahama mamas. Mojitos were better at the lobby bar.
Lobby bar also makes a wonderful iced coffee!
When night falls at the resort, it takes on an elegant, upscale atmosphere with it's piano playing in the lobby and pretty lights around the lagoon/deck area. They try really hard to put on great shows for everyone's enjoyment. Personally, I am so tired I have a hard time keeping awake for them. A different show every night beginning with kids entertainment nightly with a clown etc.
This is a really relaxed place and if you want to go for a swim at night, nobody will stop you.
We stayed in the middle of the resort in block 1600 which is about a 2 minute walk to the beach, pool or main buffet and hotel lobby area. There is one beach disco night during the week which was fun. The DJ and animation staff take the music to the beach area so you can drink and dance with sand between your toes.
Some people make claims that the resort is HUGE. It is very large, but it doesn't take 10 minutes from one end to the other. I would say maybe 5 minutes. We were also never bothered by bugs or mosquitos except one night there were a few.
Don't forget your sunscreen, we ran out and were stuck paying an obscene $18CAD for some!
My husband and I were delighted with this property but I think our teens were a little disappointed that it wasn't a little more lively. My youngest was thrilled to play volleyball on the beach every day.
Don't forget, YOU make the choice to have a good holiday or not, it isn't the responsibility of the hotel or staff. You cannot go on vacation and expect the same customs and quality as we have in Canada. Where else in the world can you go for $800 that includes your flight, accommodations, drinks and food and live like a king for a week?
This is a wonderful resort and I would highly recommend it. Make sure you know what you're looking for in a resort when you're booking. Make a list and do your research.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank petitecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director_general_mpv, at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Petitecritique,

Greetings from Meliá Península!!!
First of all thank you for selected our hotel for to spend your holidays. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a fabulous vacation during your stay in our beautiful resort.
We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service we offer.

Specializing in families, weddings and honeymoons, Meliá Península Varadero seeks the dreams of friends, people who want good service, quiet fun, relaxing, while tasting of the sea, the breeze, the neighborhood paradise.

We really appreciated your comments about food, beach and pools, and especially about our staff that works every day in order to provide a memorable stay to our customers.

I would like to inform you about the renovation program will take place for the next high season 2014‐2015, the main pool will be renovated and we will continue rooms updating. We are confident that these works will have a positive impact in the quality of our tourist product.

We appreciate very much guests like you, who are fond of our tropical paradise and consider a second chance to value our services.
Thank you very much for your review and do not hesitate in contact us before your next visit.

Hopping to meet you in the next time…

Raúl Ariza
Director Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed 1 week in July.Booked last minute through Air Transat. Reserved the junior suite elegance club.Included other than the norm with the elegance club were the following: À la carte dinners (3 guaranteed reservations/week, reservations required) VERY EASY TO BOOK AND LOTS OF AVAILABILITY;Bathrobes and slippers in room;Beach towels in room;Concierge service (9 am to 1 pm);Cool Towel upon arrival NOT ENOUGH FOR THE WHOLE GROUP;Dedicated room location LUCKED OUT WITH A ROOM BY THE BEACH;Massage discount (20% once/person/stay);Mini-bar restocked daily (water, soft drinks and beer);Welcome cocktail upon arrival ONLY 3 COCKTAILS FOR A GROUP OF APPROX.15.
Resort is quite small with only 2 pools with one being the children's pool.Of no concern to us as we always prefer the beach.As usual with Cuba, beautiful beach. Alot of lounge chairs available no matter what time of day which is a first for having travelled south many times.Very easy to walk around the resort being smaller.The food is usual as per Cuba.Buffet had alot of choices.Went to 2 a la carte restaurants,Cuban and Italian.Both just OK. Room/bathroom were large and clean.Service was fair to good.Main lobby bar is quite busy.The staff don't stop but would need more staff during peak periods to keep up with the demand and provide better service.Smaller outdoor Caney bar is very pleasant and comfortable.But seats only 28 people.If no seat available,still able to get service at the bar and go sit elsewhere.But,on day 4,the bartender decided would not serve anyone unless you had a seat.Which then impacted the main lobby bar which was already busy,which affected the quality of the service even more.The lobby is plain,lacking atmosphere and VERY warm.No ventilation with only a few patio doors at the front and back for air flow. ALOT of families and therefore, children while we were there.Would not recommend if you are looking for a quiet getaway.Lastly,we paid 30 CUC with our Air Transat rep. at the hotel to receive VIP at the airport for departure.You skip the lines for check in;to pay 25 CUC for departure and for customs.The whole process took only 5 min. Then, you are escorted to a VIP lounge with air conditioning;open bar and are served a good ham & cheese sandwich.Definitely worth the 30 CUC p.p for the comfort for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliedalyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_DirComercial, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear jdcanada022:

We appreciate you have taken your time to share your impression with the travelers. Thanks for choosing Meliá Península Varadero as your holidays destination and consider it as a good place to stay.
It is a pleasure to know you have measured all the information we offer in the Elegance Club package. About this point, we are deeply sorry that you were unable to enjoy all the featuring. Your remarks about cold towels and welcome cocktail is been discussed with the heads of each Department involved to guarantee that our guest’s wishes and requests are fulfilled efficiently.

Fortunately by this period we are having a really good occupation but during peak times lot of people come to enjoy the service at the main bar. That is why we have the Caney (outdoor bar) and a new bar at the lobby available until 23:00 hours. Anyhow, our bartenders are said to assist all customers around and it is unusual that they just took commands from some people sitting in. We will check it us, since this is important to give a good service.

As we are an ecological resort, the Lobby is open air and we have many doors to let air flows. This summer has been really hot and we are considering some resources as ceiling fans to lessen this situation. Unfortunately, at this moment we have no solutions for that. That is why in the hottest nights many people decide to come out and have a sit at the big terrace.

I hope to have the satisfaction to welcoming you at Meliá Península Varadero in the future.
Cordial greetings,

Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A couple of things.....firstly ignore the negative reviews, we went 11/7/2014 - 25/07/2014 stayed in room 1716. I have literally been back 2 days and i miss the place. I went with my lovely friend, and we had a ball.

Food - Of an evening there is a meat grill, fish grill, pasta and pizza station, a salad bar, a Cuban type grill that had pork (yum) and paella, there was a cheese station, fruit station then there was the other grill that hosted fried rice! - Breakfast were AMAZING Isel the Omelette angel, always remembered your order and it was perfectly cooked. The choice of food is outstanding those who are picky and want bangers and mash or a roast...you wont get it...this is Cuba!

The staff work extremely hard, and this shows by the service we received. Our absolute two favorites were Michael and Juan Christopher. Michael was the bar man in the small bar near the main entrance, we loved him. We gave him free reign with the cocktails and he never ever disappointed.He was quick, courteous, professional and hospitable...GIVE THAT MAN A RAISE!
The other staff, Gustavo (the cleaning man in the buffet), Judith, Arelias, yoyo! all amazing, our cleaner Mercedes was so very very polite and lovely.

I was particularly upset at the level of some of the tips given to the staff by large parties.These people work long hours, and giving them 1 peso (CUC) as a tip from a family of 6 is disappointing and discourteous. We gave 10 pesos per tip an equivalent of £5 GBP, which meant a lot to them but little to us.

Beach was clean, and beach like.....there is nothing more to say about that, it had glorious blue water and white sand - the sunbed man looked after you and he was lovely too.

There is a review from someone here saying that there were plates scattered around the resort, this is simply not the case. At the end of each block there is a white box where you can put glasses and plates from the day so that they can be picked up. its efficient and clever!

The ONLY negative point was my bed. I hated it my sheets wouldn't stay on but that's because i am a wriggler ;-)

I had an amazing time, and i thoroughly recommend it, it not a hotel that has been built in the last 5 years, thus it is tired in some places, but they are amending that. I would definitely recommend it, ignore the others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LibbieLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPV_DirComercial, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Libbie Lewis:

It is Cuba! And we welcome your review. I agree with you: every comment is important, but sometimes people focused their opinion on experiences they have had before, in comparison to other destinations. As everyplace is different, this practice could damage the sincere appreciation and some points of view could be mislaid or omitted.

Thanks for all your valued comments, which we will chare with the entire management staff.

About the negative point you mentioned, the mattress and bed have normally the standardization of hotels in this category. However, you can let us know your preference before coming back, and it will be our pleasure to assist you with.
Hoping to meet you soon, cordially,

Fabrizio Testoni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.9 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,392 reviews
4.8 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,898 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
5.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 63 in Varadero
4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Property: Melia Peninsula Varadero
Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#27 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing