We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Be Live Experience Varadero
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

1.10.13
just got back from cuba had to change hotel
villa cuba had cockroach in dinner hall
and you had to jump over them at night by the pool
the worst hotel ever don't go
aircon leaking in the two rooms we had so we had to change
rooms
in the end got fed up and changed to another hotel
also its not by the town its 20min walk

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    710
    524
    258
    210
See reviews for
340
636
132
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went back for 2 weeks starting September 7, 2013. The hotel is still a great location and great value for your money. The beach is just amazing and I like the fact that the huts are closer to the beach not like all other hotels which have them more inland.

Food was plentiful, yes there was always something to eat and just keep in mind that it is a very controlled country with an embargo so mostly local food items. Love the fresh papaya, mango and pineapples!!!

I know most workers are very friendly although there are a few exceptions but for the two weeks we were there they did not bug us for tips although at the end we did leave them a little something.

Room Tip: Rooms in the shorter hotel building have been renovated in the last couple of years so they are in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at villa cuba from September 3-17th, 2013. Way too many stray cats. I stayed in a villa and it wasn't bad except the maid service was awful, I had to beg her for 3 days just to get a bottle of water. The pool bar staff ( Yoanka ) and 9th floor bar staff were awesome. The buffet wasn't bad but had a sickening odor. You can't get better than location, bank right next door and a 2 minute taxi ride into Varadero. I will return to this hotel again. I stayed in room 4302 , I recommend this room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was surprised by how nice this place was. I had read mixed reviews, but for the price of the package (800) I was willing to take a chance. Beautiful lobby/public areas, decent pool, and clean beach. Apparently a lot of the rooms had been renovated, and ours was spacious, bright, and spotless. the staff is exceptional, smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: we were in the 5 section of the main building. It all depends on what side you are on because our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vuffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel has a cult like following. Many people from all over the world have been visiting this hotel a couple of times a year for 15 - 20 years. Others go once and vow never to return. I love this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and I feel very much at home here. Most of the staff are awesome and the ones who aren't, I avoid. It's not hard to do.
This resort is owned by the Cuban government so that is why the standards are perhaps a little lower than the chain hotels like Barceló and Melia. They probably can't get their hands on a lot of the items that a foreign run hotel has access to.
The food is not too bad. I always feel great when I'm there because everything is fresh and not from a package. The chicken and fish are really good and even the pasta is nice. There is always fruit available and lots of cheese and bread. The Mariposa and Bamboo restaurants are really good and are worth the wait for reservations. The Bamboo has the most delicious spring rolls and the cream of chicken soup is really good. The Mariposa has an awesome shrimp cocktail and an amazing onion soup. The pork and the chicken are really good. The portions are generous and I usually can't finish it. The chocolate mousse is a must have. If I could just eat that I would be a happy girl!! The buffet is nice and has a lot of choices every night. Unless you are an extremely picky eater, you should find something here to make you happy. Leo, one of the waiters is such a sweetheart. He always greets you with a smile and is quick to get you a drink, which is so nice. There are a few others who work really hard but he stands out for some reason. He is just a lovely person.
The beach is gorgeous. The animation team don't really engage the guests to participate in activities on the beach. They play volleyball and that is about it. They don't even play music anymore so make sure you bring something to amuse yourself with. The nightly shows are nice but they have been the same for years so once you've seen them a few times you lose interest quickly. The magic shows are the best. I watch them again and again. The 9th floor bar has a nice atmosphere and the view is beautiful. They don't serve beer at the lobby bar anymore which is too bad because it is a nice place to spend a few hours, You can sit outside and watch the pool area or inside and watch the lobby or the TV. They sometimes have a band playing at the bar but if you drink beer you have to get it from the pool bar and bring it with you. Not a big deal but it would be nice to just get a beer and sit down.
My room was clean when I arrived and the maid Carmita left it sparkling everyday. I had plenty of towels and they were changed daily. I didn't see many ants but I was careful to not leave anything around that would attract them. They do seem to come out of nowhere to find one crumb!
I always have a great time at this hotel. Read the reviews before you go but keep in mind that some people are a little more high maintenance than others. They are expecting way too much for what they paid and I suspect that is the reason they are not happy. You have to remember you are travelling to a third world county and they really don't have a lot to start with. People who stayed at a five star hotel were complaining on the bus ride to the airport that the place was terrible, food was lousy, entertainment sucked..... and on and on. Others who stayed at the same hotel only had good things to say about it. So, if you go with the right attitude and the right information, you will have a good time wherever you decide to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool can be a little noisy at night. Villa rooms haven't been renovated yet bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank OnedayIllflyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Overall good accomodation.
Prime location, very close to the city centre.
Rooms are spacious and cozy.
Buffet restaurants are average and pool cafe has good food.

Beach is great but the bar is far. Make sure you get enough drinks to last a few hours on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fokopsanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My party of 6 stayed at Villa Cuba from August 25-September 1. Having been our 3rd time in Cuba we knew not to expect a lot, but we were quite surprised with the quality of the hotel.

We stayed in the main building on the second floor. One of the rooms had bedbugs and after sleeping in the bed for 2 days, we switched rooms without any problems. Not only were there bedbugs but all rooms were infested with ants if there was any trace of food in the room. The beds were extremely firm for those who like a softer mattress. The shower was protected by a half piece of swivel glass which did not stop the water from completely flooding your bathroom floor.

The food offered at the resort was the worst I have ever tried in Cuba. The odour coming from buffet restaurant was absolutely pungent, almost unbelievably so. 5 out of 6 people got sick the first night from eating here, and we refused to go there again causing us to spend quite a bit of money by eating outside of the resort. The snack bar was open until 4am but they only offered ham and cheese sandwiches and hotdogs (if available). Lunch buffet was decent but we ended up eating personal pizzas only with cheese and shredded hotdogs. The Asian restaurant was delicious and we wished we were able to get reservations every day but you have to be waiting at 8am to write your name down then sit at the table for 2 hours until 10am when the woman showed up and called your name. If you were not present for this, your name would be tossed away. The international restaurant was decent but not as good as the Asian.

The beach was spectacular as it is everywhere in Cuba, the only dissappointment was that the beach bar was located at quite the distance from the beach. Making the trip back and forth to get drinks or even water was difficult and trays were not provided. The pool bar closes at midnight, the 9th floor bar closes at 1am and the disco bar closes at 2am but you are not allowed to leave the premise with alcohol. Because of this, the resort was really dead and quite after 1am for those looking to party hard.

Lastly, the staff was most pleasant. There's nothing bad I can really say about the service offered. I only recommend you exchange money outside of the resort, because the front desk staff charges 5 pesos "service fee" to exchange your money even tho this is not written anywhere. We were extremely ripped off.

Would not ever go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Some rooms in main bundling are located beside the water heaters and tank. Consecutive noise coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jovana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.9 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
4.1 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#35 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,861 reviews
4.7 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#23 of 63 in Varadero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Varadero

Property: Be Live Experience Varadero
Address: Reparto La Torre Ave Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#19 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Experience Varadero is an All Inclusive Hotel in Varadero which offers exclusive services to travellers looking for an unbeatable location, in front of a stunning beach of crystal clear waters and white fine sand. Enviable weather, personalised attention, direct access to the beach, variety of accommodation options, All Inclusive service... Come and discover the Be Live Experience Varadero, an All Inclusive hotel in Cuba. Located 30 km away from the airport, the Be Live Experience Varadero Hotel allows you to enjoy the best entertainment and rest. It has a privileged central location between the traditional and the modern Varadero, near the Golf Club and at the seafront of the best beach area. Come and discover it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Live Experience Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varadero Cuba
Cuba Hotel Varadero
Villa Cuba Varadero
Villa Cuba Resort
Hotel Villa Cuba Varadero
Cuba Deals
Hotel Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing