We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the start of the canal opens at the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BelleVue Playa Caleta
Ranked #47 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the start of the canal opens at the beach”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have to say over all, it wasn't bad...we went as a group of seven, ages 20 to 35. We found everything we needed, food was better then expected for Cuba and You have the use of both resorts... i have to say, the caleta sides buffet was much better. the beach at night, was full of jellyfish, I believe its because the opening of the canal is right beside the resorts beach. The beach is nice, clean and a decent size as you have use of both resorts. The rooms are dated, the resort is having many upgrades done. i would recommend this hotel as "more for the older crowd" For the right price i would go back, however i am in the upper part of our age group ;)

Room Tip: room upgrade and the buffet is way better on the caleta side. stay away from the ala cart restaraunt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    538
    315
    174
    144
See reviews for
245
449
100
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was my 3rd time at Playa Caleta. It has now merged with with the Puntaarena which is the next door resort. Guests can now use amenities at either hotel which I really enjoyed since the scenery doesn't get as stale.

I personally thought the buffet and bar at Playa Caleta had better service, was also glad to see that the old Playa Caleta staff are still around.

Had issues exchanging money this time around, they ran out of CUC and I had to go into town. Was not really happy about this since you need to give a 10 CUC deposit for the beach towel, hotel should have been able to adapt and be more accommodating considering this, also one of the 3 elevators in Puntaarena was out for the entire duration of the trip which created a bit of a hassle with elevator waiting times.

Regardless, as always this was a great bang for your buck experience, as I go to Cuba for the beach and nothing else. Will for sure be returning here during one of my future trips back to Cuba.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always great for the additional 5 CUC/ per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

March 22-29 2014 Had a great time!!! Food was a little so-so for the first couple of days but we warmed up to it. Repetitive Food and Bar-Great being able to go to both Puntarena and Caleta choice of buffets, late night snacks by swim up bar, beach bar had great pizza at lunch. Casablanca and chinese ala carte awesome. Varieties of bars to go to. Variety shows each night put on in theatre and disco. We had fantastic view of the ocean. Room 1529. Elevators iffy but worked. Not a 4 star but if you want that -don't go to Cuba. Bartenders great. Everything within easy walk, beach is great-watch for the first dip. Change your money at airport or Varadero--no bank at hotel.

Room Tip: Oceanview above 5th floor. Bring ketchup, facecloths, big cups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorieTupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Food was very good! My daughter had a lot of fun. Dakira from the kids club is really good with kids! It was cheaper than the other hotels and I was very satisfied with what I paid. I would like to send a gift to someone who works there. Please contact me if you go to Playa Caleta or Club Puntarena.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varadero
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I dont know who put the stars on this hotel, the lady w glasses at the front desk just plain rude, the property deteriorated, the big swiming pool closed due to an issue with the filters, no lights on the hallway for our room, the cafe at the beach always had an issue,people was rude and the waiting time for a simple cheese pizza 1hour,issues w the kitchen so one day one did not open at all and the other one had no soup and for all it was ok to have an excuse, the ketchup was out every other day, ridiculous.. I mean if you are gping to charge like a 4 star at least then give a 4 star service.
Seriously pay a little bit more and go to a different hotel or jus simply go to Mexico or Dominican republic

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I went into this assuming we'd be eating in the town every day, that there would be one or 2 days we'd get sick.
but this hotel surprised me. Food was pretty decent. we ate for every meal & no one left hungry or sick. Take advantage of snack bars & the pizzeria :)
The hotel grounds were a little run down, but the pool & beach were nice.
we were close enough to walk into town, which is nice.
However, the front desk staff wasn't very helpful. Our flight was delayed and no one knew about it. They never had Pesos to change, which left us having to go into the bank in town and no one told us to bring a passport to change our money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JesscuhMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you're looking for a cheap vacation with a gorgeous beach, lots of booze but not much else, this place is for you. The food is sub-par throughout all of Cuba (we tried it at 10 resorts and it was bad everywhere, not just here). The staff were excellent and the area was very safe. It was a fun trip to go with a group of guys that were looking just to have a week long party. Traveled April 2011.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxwellsmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.1 mi away
BelleVue BeachFun4Life Puntarena
1.7 mi away
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Hotel Roc Barlovento
#22 of 64 in Varadero
1,895 reviews
12.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
Brisas del Caribe Hotel
#27 of 64 in Varadero
3,861 reviews
9.7 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#25 of 64 in Varadero
833 reviews
4.5 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelleVue Playa Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelleVue Playa Caleta

Property: BelleVue Playa Caleta
Address: Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Bellevue Puntanera Playa Caleta)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BelleVue Playa Caleta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your BelleVue Playa Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Caleta Varadero
Playa Caleta Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing