We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2014”
Review of IBEROSTAR Tainos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Tainos
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Iberostar Tainos This is our 2nd trip to this resort, going for 2 weeks this time around. Had a 2nd floor bungalow close to the beach and pool Building # 28. Great location close to everything. Thing to note about the room being the farthest from the main building the air conditioning in the summer months is a little weak, so if you need it freezing in your room, not going to happen. Was not a problem for us. Another tip, place a towel by the front door since there is a small gap there. Keeps the lizards out. We ate at both restaurants food was fine. Buffet was ok lots of pork and fish. Never went hungry. Beach is perfect. Went out to the reef to snorkel 20cuc per person. Book at the beach. This was one of our highlights of the trip. Other than that this resort has a great kids club, Lucy is the best, the kids just love her. She remembered my son from last year by name!!! Most of the staff was awesome not tip drivin' One negative thing there are lots of uneven tiles in the bottom of the pool My buddy from T.O cut his foot on the bottom and the staff did not have a plan in place to help while he was bleeding at the pool side. So don't get hurt and you should have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tainos and for sharing your experience with the Tripdavisor community. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your comments in regards to our Animation for kids.

We hope you decide to come back for another visit to our hotel.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,096)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Tainos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Best family holiday ever. A small and friendly resort with great courteous and helpful staff. The food was DELICIOUS with a lot of variety. There is great entertainment all day around the pool on the fun side, but over the pool bridge it is quieter if that's what you want. We never had trouble finding somewhere to sit around the pool. The bungalows are pleasant and are cleaned every day. There is the most perfect beach. We WILL be back. Thank you everyone at Iberostar Tainos.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Siswanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have hosted you on your recent cuban vacation. We appreciate that you took the time to provide a review of your trip. Your kind compliments are encouraging us to keep working hard. And we will be waiting for you in the near future!


Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A warning to all future vacationers of Iberostar Tanius Varadero, Cuba!

While walking in the main and only pool, I seriously cut the bottom of my foot on uneven pool tiles. The extent of the resorts assistance was to call me an ambulance to travel to the nearby hospital as I required stitches to stop the bleeding. Wait, I must thank the resort for advising me that I would need money to pay for the pending medical attention.

The Iberostar Tanius Varadero Resort never apologized or accepted responsibility for my injury. To add insult to injury - and the direct reason as to why I am writing this review - the resort insisted that I complete an Accident Report. The report directed me to "release the hotel from moral and economic responsibility" for the injury. When I questioned the resort manager as to why this statement was included in an Accident Report, she downplayed the phrase and stated that it was standard procedure following an accident.

This resort had numerous shortcomings for an all-inclusive 4-star resort:
1. Rooms with poor air-conditioning
2. No snacks after 10 pm
3. Poor quality and variety of food even by Cuban standards
4. Entertainment staff simply going through the process - no enthusiasm or excitement.
5. Refused to allow vacationers the use of any balls for pool activities.

And I can go on..........

It you are considering this resort, please read the reviews carefully and put aside the fact that you might be saving some money.

Finally, don't go barefoot in the pool.

Will not return to this amateur resort.

Happy Holidays

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

WE had the chance to meet during your stay in Tainos and once again please take our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that our approach to the accident (the staff and me personally almost daily after the accident had conversations with you, your wife and also your sister in law, the one actually that came to me at the day of the accident,) but even after our apologies we never received a request or complaint from your part, the opposite, the answers were always that you were ok. The report the hotel requested you to fill in is an incident report and it is a standard procedure when an accident is involved, and you were free to agree or not, as you didn’t.

We are really sad that we couldn’t be of any assistant while you were here, and we are frustrated to receive your dissatisfaction only in this review. Please feel free to contact us directly for any further information or assistance, secretaria@ibstain.gca.tur.cu.


Best Regards,
General Manager Iberostar Tainos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned to Manchester yesterday 5th July and to Northern Ireland today 6th July after a fantastic two weeks at Iberostar Tainos. We stayed in room 2411. This was our third visit to this hotel and loved every minute. The staff of this hotel make the holiday....nothing is a problem, they are all very polite and extremely helpful in particular Elvis, Giselle, George, Sandy. As returning guests many of the staff remembered us and this was very warming. Alot of changes have been made to this hotel and to Cuba itself. It was two years since we where last in Cuba and Wow what a difference from arriving at the airport, to the hotel, trips etc...all for the good. We found that the food in this hotel has greatly improved and as I am a very picky eater I found the food very good. I cannot understand some of the bad reports this hotel gets...yes some of the furniture is a little dated, towels worn, but I dont go on holiday to inspect the furniture, and with the amount of people using towels I dont expect fluffy towels...people remember this is Cuba, not America, Europe etc. We will definately be returning again to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. If you want to ask me any questions please feel free to ask. THANK YOU to all Tainos staff for making this a brilliant holiday. xx

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 2411 and would highly recommend it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bridgenetemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripdavisor community. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your third stay with us. Thank you for your comments and to go to the detail.

We hope to welcome you back and enjoy another memorable stay with us very soon.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Have to admit that when arriving at the hotel first impressions were not good. The reception is busy and a little untidy and the corridors in the main hotel look like something from a 70’s hospital block. Rooms are fairly large but very basic and tired. Towels and bedding are clean but old, and furnishing is barely adequate but functional.

The gardens and pools are very nice and easily exceed the expectations that you have after seeing the rooms. However at times the pool area can be a little loud (music) so if you are looking for some peace and quiet then the beach may well be a better option. The beach is superb and the hotel beach bar is a nice place to be.

Food - all inclusive and fairly basic. Rather than eat in the buffet in the evenings I would strongly suggest that you attempt to book a table in either the Cuban or Japanese restaurant where a more intimate eating experience can be achieved. However, the standard of the food wherever you eat within the complex is average at best, but by Cuban standards it isn't that bad (do not expect great food if visiting Cuba).

Most staff are very friendly and happy to help. Ultimately i got the feel of a glorified Butlin’s and for this reason I would not recommend this hotel to friends and would also not return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest,

WE are sorry to hear we couldn’t provide the vacation you expected. We are taking your comments into consideration in order to improve our services maintaining the Iberostar standards that are high in quality and recognized worldiwide.

Since last year we have renovations going on at the hotel that will be completed in 2015, and we invite you to come back in second visit to check personally the improvements at the hotel in general.

Best regrads,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband were part of the wedding party that have put on the last few reviews.

The hotel is really good value for money. We have stayed in a 5 star hotel in Cuba previously which was far more expensive and there really wasn't much difference in quality.

The staff are a real credit to the hotel and do everything to make your stay special.

The rooms were very clean although the furniture was a little tatty, but that is no surprise in Cuba as it is a very poor country.

The food was good, there was always something to eat although it does get a bit samey towards the end of the holiday.

It is a small resort and as such is excellent for families, however as it is so small there are limited options e.g only 2 al la carte restaurants.

The wedding was amazing and the staff couldn't do enough for our friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Parretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay at the Iberostar Tainos. It was our pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable vacation.

We trust that as you reminisce on your visit you will remember us and not hesitate to make plans to visit with us again. It would be our pleasure to serve you again.


Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visited for two weeks with family and friends for hols and sons wedding. After reading mixed reviews went with an open mind. After a few hiccups regarding the rooms we had requested by day two everyone had settled down and began to enjoy the stay. The tainos has a great reputation regarding its staff and rightly so. They go out of their way to look after you and always pleased to welcome you. They are never looking for a tip as previous reviewers have said. I like to tip for a good service and found myself giving out the odd peso here and there because I wanted to not because I felt I had to. The food at the buffet does become a little repetitive after two weeks but always found something to eat. Breakfast omletts made by papa are lovely. We always had a smile from the waiters and they even got to know which drinks we liked and sometimes they were ready for when we were seated.lunch at pool good piella/burgers/ grilled pork or go to buffet for a change. Always live music at lunch by the pool. Annimation team were always around, some of the lads from our party enjoyed playing football or polo with julio ceaser and sparked a good friendship with him. Likewise lucy and joanna looked after the little ones and kept them entertained for parts of the day. They really looked forward to seeing them. Entertainment at night was good with some good shows. Some of the littleones in our group took part in them . Elvis was always there to make you laugh and fernando became a good friend also. The courtyard had live music evey evening great for dancing and salsa. The wedding day arrived, what a beautiful day we all had. Giselle on hand to make sure everything went well. She is an asset to the hotel for which she must be rewarded. Ana the manager is very aproachable and on hand to listen to your thoughts. She sorted out our problems and went above and behond to put things right thankyou. Overall tainos is a very nice hotel, maybe a little tatty round the edges but with a little more refurbishment it will be right up to date along side other hotels on the island. Tainos is not about the decor but its beach/ambience and most of all its wonderful staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank kay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGIberostarTainos, Manager at IBEROSTAR Tainos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Tainos and for sharing your experience with the Tripdavisor community. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for your comments in regards the service, food, restaurants and from our Animation team. We will keep working hard to improve some of the estructure of the hotel so we can provide even a better stay for our clients.

We really appreciate all your comments!

We hope to welcome you back and enjoy another stay with us.

Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
2.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
#28 of 64 in Varadero
7,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#7 of 64 in Varadero
6,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Tainos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Tainos

Address: Las Morlas, Km. 12.5, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Varadero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £104 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Tainos 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine sandy beach of Varadero. Tropical gardens. Water sports galore. A Caribbean village. Colourful, Cuban atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Tainos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Tainos Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Hotel Tainos
Iberostar Hotel Varadero
Iberostar Tainos Cuba
Iberostar Tainos Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing