We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone!”
Review of Coral Beach

Coral Beach
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you travel to Cuba and visit Varadero, the best option we recommend you is snorkel or dive in Playa Coral, we have a group of highly experienced professionals every year we serve more than 2000 clients who had never done the activity. We hope you on your vacation, you will not regret it I assure you. Snorkeling at Coral Beach or Coral Beach: The snorkeling at Coral Beach or Playa Coral is fr
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for everyone!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Avoid if the ocean is the least bit rough. For those that are first time snorkle people, it makes it very difficult to learn and do with water pushing you all over!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    271
    102
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great place to snorkell”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I came here to snorkell and was not left disappointed. So many different fish and corals to look at! Would highly recommend snorkelling or scuba diving here! Remember to bring your camera to capture the beautiful reef!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for beginners.”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We took a scooter out here so we could have all the time we wanted without a tour. You can either hit the Laguna de Maya snorkel company and pay 10 cuc to go with the guides, or drive another 500m and do the same thing independently. My girlfriend decided her swimming ability wasn't strong enough to go alone so we paid.

With the company, life jackets are mandatory and you basically follow the guide out to the Coral without much stopping time, then turn back.

There isn't a large variety of fish but the guides do draw a feeding frenzy with some food, which was pretty cool.

We got there as another tour of about 15 people were setting out so in the end, we basically were taking a tour instead of the independent swim I had originally sought out. You end up bumping into others often. I think they said it was an hour swim. We had set out for more, but really there wasn't enough to see to make a day of it.

If you scooter to their lot, a security guy will tell you that the lot is safe and watched, but they don't tell you if there is a cost (I don't think they get many visitors outside of the Jeep/bus tours). When we left, the guard stood there in silence until I gave him 1.50 cuc (I only had enough cash for the highway toll back) and he seemed satisfied with that.

If you are a competent swimmer/snorkeler, pass by Laguna de Maya and swim alone for free. Otherwise, it is safer to go with the guides, and not a terrible value for the price as a novice.



Visited March 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
373 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Some of the best snorkelling in Cuba”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

You don't really come here for the beach, but for the coral and fish. Take an hour or two and go swimming, this is some of the best snorkelling in Cuba. Be careful of the reef when swimming over, the stuff is very sharp and hurts if you hit it. If you have an underwater camera, DO bring it. Don't leave your GoPro back at the hotel like I did.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nic7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great. BUT...”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

dont go out if its wavy. suggest paying the extra to go scuba if its really wavy as snorkling is a bit much during 1-2 foot waves in a reef

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Kirk_Kaminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Beach also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing