We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$204
US$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$151
US$104
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$143
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,821)
Filter reviews
5,821 results
Traveller rating
2,917
1,447
777
403
277
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,917
1,447
777
403
277
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily conciergeroyal serviceoutdoor showerbella mara la carte restaurantsroyal sectionfishmain sectionromantic restaurantjunior suitebutler servicebuffet restaurantromantico restaurantpool barmain buffetdinner reservationsthe main hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,076 - 2,081 of 5,821 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We got given a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival! The food (we were very impressed with the japanese restaurant) is much better than other hotels in Cuba as well as the cocktails. Several activities were included in our stay including scuba diving, snorkeling and archery! We got a sea view room which was great but it was the furthest away from the main building. All the staff were very welcoming.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are furthest from the lobby, restaurants and pools.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled to hear you had such an amazing stay. We aim to please our guests, through an excellent service and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

14 of us went over to Cuba for a wedding & holiday - ages ranging from 9 to 71 - and we all thought the Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa was outstanding.

The resort itself was beautiful, manicured & spacious, situated in a perfectly enclosed part of the peninsula giving it a lovely private feel whilst benefitting from a stunning wide white sandy section of the beach. The pool was clean & vast with plenty of space (even thought the hotel was at capacity) with lots of sun-loungers & shade.

All of the hotel areas such as the reception, dining area, bars, restaurants & walkways were modern, clean & comfortable allowing for a relaxed atmosphere.
There were also lots of extras too such as a games room, sports, internet, theatre, shop, money exchange, gym, spa and free scuba diving all to try & fit in!

On the room front we elected for the non-royal service section due to family size/ages and we weren’t disappointed. Yes, the Royal Service rooms + extras were of a better standard, but for us it didn’t outweigh being close to the beach, amenities & cost saving - which all got better spent on seeing a bit of Cuba (Cayo Blanco, Havana & the 3 cities tour were all out of this world).

All our rooms were big, modern, bright, clean, had air con, LCD TV, hot water 99% of the day – unless you caught a time when lots of other people were showering - clean linen and a much needed fridge re-stocked daily. We were lucky enough to get a sea view and it was a pleasure to wake up every day. The only piece of constructive criticism I would give on the rooms are that the bathrooms are getting close to needing an upgrade… but all-in-all the room quality was good & definitely value for money.

The food side of things was ridiculous, you could snack whenever you wanted 24/7 ranging from free room service, snack bars, beach bbq’s, cakes, coconuts etc. The main buffet area was also great, lots of space, variety and optional extras which would get cooked up for you there & then. We also tried all of the additional restaurants which were a bit more special, especially the Italian & Romantica.

Our wedding day itself was exactly as we’d envisaged, relaxed, overlooking the ocean & with a few personal touches thrown in. Nothing was too much trouble for the wedding coordinator & her team who worked tirelessly to ensure that the extras & changes we wanted were accommodated and that the day ran perfectly. – Thank you.

But what makes this place so good (above all the other hotels we’ve been to in Cuba), is the people who work there. Every single person from the maintenance to the management couldn’t do enough for you. It feels unfair to single out certain people as everyone was at such a high level but the following were just in a different league (Mohamad the General Manager, Miguel & Romilio in Customer Relations, Yuri the Wedding Coordinator, Mairelyse, Sheyla & Idolfo working the bars/restaurants and Luis Alberto… the BBQ king! Thank you all for making our stay so memorable.

See you again some time in the future no doubt…

Room Tip: Ocean view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl_Munro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

We aim to awaken all the senses of our guests. All our team has taken care of every detail to make this an unsurpassed experience. We are pleased to know that your wedding was an unforgettable experience and we hope to see you soon in the…. Paradisus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed in the Paradisus Varadero hotel in the beginning of April. It was such a great stay! The room was very big and clean and had everything I needed. The room was very close to the beach, which was just wonderful. The only disadvantage is that it was not close to the pool, but who needs a pool when you’re so close to the sea! The bathroom was a bit old-fashioned, but it didn’t bother me. There were are all-in bars at the beach, so you don’t have to worry about carrying money with you to buy drinks. You don’t have to walk for a long time to find a bar either. The buffet restaurant was also very good with a large choice of food. I’ve been in two à la carte-restaurants: Romantico and Italian. The Romantico restaurant was a bit disappointing, the food was really not good. But the Italian restaurant was very good, from the first course to the dessert! And we were served very quickly too. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HannaStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Hanna, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a good time in our hotel. We are going to review and to study your comments in order to offer you a much better experience in your next visit. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this vacation and choice of hotel from Trip Advisor Reviews for our 20 year Anniversary. Thanks for everyone for your reviews.
From the time we arrived till departure it was a great vacation. The room was exceptional, we had Oceanview, with everything we needed and more. We thoroughly enjoyed our front yard for the week sitting or lying on the Balinese bed on the outside patio with an expansive view of the ocean. We were in Rm 1132. The outdoor shower was amazing and a unique touch to the Rm. The maid service during the day and night turn down service was very good.
Having Kenai and Zuri as Bulters was so convienent and made our vacation the best it could be. Whatever we wanted or simply needed a question answered, they were there with a smile and very pleased to assist you. They really are gifted people and do their work with pride. Our coffee pot was not working in the Rm. and it was changed up twice, and still did not work. Kenai then said, just call me and I will bring you a pot in the a.m. whenever you are up...and she did. The Rm. Service was exceptional and a nice touch for those a.m.'s or late night munchies. The food at the hotel was very good. Did not have the experience that others we talked to vacationing in other hotels in Cuba about the food. If fact I think Lobster is Cuba's white meat. The Drink selection was amazing too. The Mojitos were our favorite along with many brands of Beer sampled. The a la carte Restuarants were all typical for Resorts and very good.The Royal Service Restuarant and Bar were very good with no compliants at all. Internet service was unlimited free use for Royal Service guests.
We did not hit any of the pools in the Resort, they were all big and beautiful. In Royal Service, the Beds were nice have at poolside. We are beach people, and spent our time there. There was more than enough chairs and for Royal Service patrons there were Balinese Beds on the main beach. We walked along the other Resort beaches quite a way and the Paradisus is simply the best beach on the strip. We did not mind not having sandy beach outside our Rm. in Royal Service, it is a short 5 min walk. Enjoyed the splashing up on the rock and coral very day.
We took a few excursions outside the Hotel. We hired a taxi/guide into Havana and that was well worth it. Havana is a must to really understand why the Cuban people are so proud of their accomplishments. Wish we had another couple of days there to soak it all in. So much to see.We went Snorkelling to Cayo Blanco and then to the Cenotes, half day tour. Both were worth it. Saw a few new fish at this reef. We took in the only 18 holes golf course in Cuba and it was good to. The views on some of the holes were amazing.
We took in the Spa for a few hours and it started with a couples massage and wow it was wonderful massage and the whole atmosphere was quiet and relaxing. Well worth the CUC's spent there.
There is a bank on the resort so this was convienent for exchanging money. A taxi ride into the town of Varadero was 15.00 CUC's one way from the Resort. Car rentals are very affordable and it would be easy to drive around in Cuba, so will do that next time.
The only thing we really wanted to do and didn't simply because there was not good communication on what time churches services were. Kenai tried her best but could not connect with the Varadero church to get church service time. It was Holy Week and really should have attended church.
All in all was a Perfect Vacation and would return without hestation and highly reccomending it to our friends if they want to vacation in Varadero. The Cuban people I really enjoyed, beautiful people, thank you for that.

Room Tip: Had a Ground level Oceanview and it was private, quiet and entertaining with watching the passer-by's walking the beach
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks you for you review. We aim to show the best of Cuba to all our guests. It was a pleasure having you with us in your 20th Anniversary celebration. We are happy to know you enjoyed the services and gastronomy. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel ending my week holiday in Cuba. First stayed 3 nights at Melia Las Americas in Varadero ( see review on TA) and one night at Iberostar Parque Central Havana Vieja ( see review on TA).Paid 70$ more a night for this hotel than the Melia so exspected to stay in an upgraded hotel.Quite disappointed about;
ROOM first night block 33 , old, not very clean, far away from the pool area Changed onto block 24 was renovated and front line beach! So better but still expensive for what you get! Don't understand why they don't give imm their best rooms to get satisfied clients!
FOOD food presentation on the buffet and beach restaurant was quite rough an not very inviting to taste. Had seen better at the other hotel! What annoyed me the most was that at the beach restaurant the people worked in the hotel , garderers, cleaning people, even a guy seliing cd's on the beach could pass the bbq and pick up ( with their hands!) iwhat they wanted A shame! OK food enough but offer this separate to the hotelstaff!!!
Romantico restaurant was just ok , italian really not eatable for us! Japanese was fully booked.
POOLbig pool very central on the resort, so if you have a room at block 35 or further quite a walk.
Didn't saw a lot of cleaning of these pools during my 3 day stay
BEACH quite some stones in the sand and the first 20 meters to get into the water. Better at the central beach area
In general very big hotel, running on automatic pilot, and much overpriced for what you get!
this away

Room Tip: Block 24 frontline beach
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PETER46Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Peter, we sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments and feedback. They help us improve our service about the points you speak about, as we look forward to offer an outstanding service in the heart of Cuba. Hope to see you again! The ParadisusTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews