We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our first trip to Cuba and certainly exceeded our expectations. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the Royal Service which gave us a fabulous room and butler service. The butlers Alex and Osmany couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. They would reserve a cabana around the pool, stock your mini bar with preferred drinks, make sure any laundry was ready within 24hrs, etc. nothing was too much trouble. Yesmeiny the restaurant manager in the Bella Mara, also could not do enough to ensure you received exceptional service and always had a welcoming smile. The beach in the Royal Service area doesn't look too impressive at first (a bit rocky ) , but the sea is exquisite and the reefs make snorkelling a must. The food in the buffet is a bit uninteresting but that is Cuba for you, still plenty of choice. It was a week of total relaxation in the sun.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth booking the Royal Service as an upgrade if you like individual service and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank YoungyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

We are delighted to read that you found the Hotel welcoming and you were delighted by the service provided by our Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Paradisus in the not to distant future.
With our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 5,441 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

First time visit to Cuba, and after a busy few days in Havana, Paradisus was the perfect way to relax and enjoy the Cuban sunshine. The Hotel is located in a quiet private area but yet within minutes driving distance of Varadero, or by catching tourist bus at nearby bus stop (5CUC return).

First impressions were definitely good with a beautiful reception / entrance area with open roof, ponds and plants. Reception staff were very helpful, on arrival we were given a comfy couch and a glass of champagne as they took care of everything.

Our room (Junior Suite) was great, clean, and with a nice terrace overlooking the grounds. The rooms had a large seating area to relax watching the new flat screen tv. The mini-bar was re-stocked daily with water, minerals and beer. The bathrooms were clean but a little dated and not quite 5 star standard. However, don't let this put you off, I am very fussy about bathrooms and was ok to use this.

The rooms are in small blocks of maybe 8 apartments, ours was located close to the restaurants and just across from the beach and a quick stroll from the bar, buffet and pool area. Pools were top class, as was the beach, sun loungers and shaded areas (umbrella or trees) were never a problem to find. There was a nice mix of couples, singles, groups and parties, particularly weddings; and also a great mix of nationalities.

The food was overall quite good, however we actually preferred to eat at the buffet rather than the restaurants. We tried 2 of the restaurants, Italian and Romantico, and it's worth going on along just to avoid being in the buffet at every meal. Buffet choice (breakfast, lunch & dinner) was great.We also went along to the British night (even though we're Irish) for pool-side dinner, this was definitely worth it, and was followed by a great aquatic ballet show in the pool. All our dinner reservations were made on our behalf on arrival by Hector in Guest relations, which was great.

Overall staff were great, the bar & dining staff were overall very friendly and the maids and maintenance staff were also great, always greeting you with a smile and making sure the hotel was kept spotless. We didn't head along to the spa but they had a good service menu.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel, from what we saw along the way this was the most impressive looking from the entrance and I imagine the same inside. A perfect relaxing 7 night break in Varadero - as the Hotel logo says 'Paradise exists'.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dawnq02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a good time in our hotel. We expect that the experience of staying in The Paradisus will be so rewarding that you will turn into a frequent client.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was our first trip to CUBA. WE had been told that if food was a priority we should not go. The food was excellent and we had many good choices. (We are spoiled and our standards are high) Even with the various restaurants to choose from (which you should make reservations for the day you arrive!) we ended up eating often in the main dining room which had a very big choice of different foods. Not french cuisine, but still I found it very good.

Our room was perfectly located on the beach front and we discovered that this was the only hotel that was actually directly on the beachfront. (all other hotels were on the other side of a large hedge or a dense strip of trees) We could watch the ocean from our balcony. This is a big reason for me not to go to another hotel. If I'm not on the waterfront, then I can stay in town for half the price.
Thank god there were no jet skis and sometimes the water aerobics were done in the ocean. We also used the cayaks and rented a catamaran.

The garden and pool view rooms were nicely located as well and if you can't afford beach front, I recommend pool view, because this is close to the beach as well. The pool is very large and beautiful. Lots of chairs and a swim-up bar.
We did not stay in the Royal Service side and if you are not using the spa and I find the other side as good and the beach much better. Royal service has no beach, just rocks and giant waves (when we were there) however a spectacular pool and spa area and gorgeous rooms and it is has a beautiful setting. Would not recommend Royal service for a family. Great for couples.

We had 2 teenagers along that played beach volleyball several times a day. The "animation" around the beach was maybe a bit weak/quiet, however I enjoyed not having to listen to someone yell all day long that the next activity was happening. Yoga and water aerobics could have been pushed a bit more, to get people involved. The evening entertainement - shows were very enjoyable. We did not try the disco.

We also found that the lobby area was great. Its very inviting and its nice to just sit and people watch. Good place for an apero before dinner and also immediately after dinner.

This hotel is great for families and couples, singles might find it does not have enough action.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpfull and if you wanted something special, you just had to ask. Its nice to be served with a smile.

We have travelled very much to warm destinations and others and we enjoyed Cuba more than many other places, also because it is different. Keep that always in mind.
I would go back any time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 14loon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review. Our goal is an all encompassing experience, including healthy gourmet meals, very comfortable rooms and the best activities available enjoying in one of the best beaches of the world. We hope to see you again! The ParadisusTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was our best holiday ever. We have been previously to Antigua and found it to be a slum basically.... Glad we decided to try Cuba... If you have not been you MUST go before it is destroyed.

The hotel itself was lovely and clean, the staff excellent. I suspect the fact that they get a lot of Americans there (via Canada of course) means the standards have to be high... cos the Americans simply will not put up with rubbish. Lots of Germans and thankfully not so many Brits (they use the cheaper places down the coast... thankfully). Entertainment was a bit naff but the staff (who all seem to chip in) did their best and all were in constant good humour.

None of your cheap local drinks either. We went 'all inclusive' and all the drinks were top brands. There was a choice of restaurants and I have to say the food was really very good. Of course there is always the awful Brit complaining he has no fish knife with his crab or the 'bacon is not like at home' but by any reasonable measure, on an inclusive holiday the food was very good.

The beach is like something from a post card... Just lovely. We are not big beach types but did spend a good deal of time just relaxing and reading there.

Went during what they call the thunder season but to be honest we hardly noticed... The storms seemed to be at night and they stayed out at sea.. Got to swim with dolphins, motor boat through mango swamps, dive and snorkel... Even dived on a Russian Gunboat. You have to be qualified for this though.

The only gripe is the other Brits. Tattooed middle aged women intent on spilling their folds of flesh in your face at every opportunity... They and their husbands (partners?) ignoring their screaming ill bred brats whilst quaffing Bacardi and coke in the pool before 11:00 am... Apparently they can not read the sign which says 'No swimwear in restaurant'... even with the poor staff constantly and politely reminding them... Jesus it is embarrassing to be British sometimes.... Thankfully such types stayed by the pool most of the time, presumably they had spent all of their Job Seeker's Allowance's on getting to Cuba so off camp we saw little of them.. God damn those pesky cheap airlines!

A Tip... Definitely go to Havana and if you do hire a car and driver for the day.... Don't hire a self drive car in Cuba!! Really do not unless yo are Stig... Make sure it's a proper taxi and not one offered on the side... No safety belts is common in such cars... A car and driver for the day is very reasonable. Also buy you cigars in town... The hotel has a cigar shop and so does the cigar factory but the good deals are to be had in the various cigar shops in town... KEEP you receipt... and do not go over your allowance... they DO check in the airport.

Another tip. On arriving and getting your first drink give the bar staff a good tip... I mean £50 (between them). Much to the annoyance of other guests ( who claim the will leave a tip on departure and never do) we were served first... always... even from the back of the queue... Sure there were the under-breath comments from the Brits too spineless or stupid to say anything but that made the drinks all the more enjoyable! The waitress was at our table before we sat down... It was fab.... Heck it is only logical to get the benefits of tipping as opposed to tipping on departure... Have you any idea how much £50 is to a Cuban waitress or barman? It is money well spent and will improve your holiday experience... I guarantee it.

If I go again I would consider a few days in Havana and then a beach resort. Havana is brilliant. The official guided tours of the cigar factories are not to be missed... If you can drag yourself away from the Bacardi at poolside at 11:00am and can put some modest clothes on that is.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank f04222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you like the concept of our resort and had a relaxing stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Paradisus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just returned from the Paradisus from a 3/7 day split Havana/Varadero holiday.

Cant really explain what a great time we both had as it matched and exceeded our requirements which was to relax and not have to complain.

On arrival we were led to the main hotel reception (very impressive with fresh water fish filled pools surrounding the complete area) which initially looked larger and therefore less personal than we would have liked with numerous rows of beach beds etc, however to our joy we were informed that we were booked into Royal Service, prompmtly we were transferred to this reception and the size and furnishing/decor were very tasteful and well presented.

Having been informed by reception of our entitlements regarding Royal Service, Ashley (the man to talk to regarding any internal/external activities/restaurants etc) took our baggage and escorted to our room which was as good as any we have ever stayed in before if not better and as highlighted by many other reviews regarding this hotel (my wife made me take loads of photo's just to prove it to family and friends).

The pool area was perfect, we normally only go to the beach and use the pool on our way back to eat, however we spent most of our time poolside as it was so tranquil & picturesque with the palm roof covered balinese beds, the chlorine levels were not extreme but monitored daily and also cleaned/maintained daily without intrusion.

The Royal Service area beach was not so good, well the beach was but to get to the sea was rocky and if not a confident swimmer it would be unsuitable, however a slow 15 minute walk along the front brings you to the main resort beach where my fear of hundreds of beach beds lined up and overpopulated were proved a misconception, yes there were numerous beds but most were vacant and unreserved, it would appear they had just laid out options of where to "hang out".

All the staff were very helpful, polite, proffesional we were never ignored and all requests were dealt with promptly, the girls running the pool bar were good fun, we learnt some Spanish and they English, they persistantly covered not only the pool area but the local beach asking for requirements and delivering without hesitation, they never stopped working or smiling.

Overall the food was as good as you can get in Cuba, they have limited resources and the Paradisus did as good as it could and was well presented (just a tip for future travellers, if your a foodie don't go to Cuba). the main restaurants were very well presented, clean and service immaculate, the buffet was not so great but then again I don't find them good anywhere in the world.

Food and drink were available 24/7, there were a couple of times we felt hungry at 03:00 hrs and a phone call to room service promptly delivered burgers, cheese tray, whine and beer which was devoured on our room veranda how good is that, there is a complete menu available not just burgers.

The mini bar was restocked daily & should you run out between a call to room service would rectify at once, whilst on the subject of alcohol most A.I's only include local drinks any other is at a cost, at the Royal Service bars apart from 50 year old Brandy/Scotch these are included as well as drinks consumed from the mini bar.

This really is a holiday/location for those requiring total relaxation, it is located nearer the far end of the peninsula where there are only complexes therefore should this be your dream then you will be treated Royally.

Having been to Cuba before we know how tipping works, in fact not just Cuba but most of the world and built this into our budget, regardless I saw numerous people not tipping and they received no less of a service than us, it was our decision to tip for what we thought was excellent service as we would in the U.K.

However if the odd night out to a restaurant/bar is on your agenda then be prepared for a taxi ride as most of these are nearer the mainland end of Varadero, we went out to a couple of private restaurants and were prepared for the taxi fares having been 4 years before, I would highly recommend the extra cost just to enjoy some local hostelry and unique atmosphere where the evening is shared with locals.

The day trips are a little disappointing and in my view overpriced, the only one we enjoyed was to Cayo Blanco where you can walk out in the sea for over 100 yards and still only up to your waist with plenty of sea life to view.

Bad Points

The only points that could be improved are the reservations of balinese/sun beds and restaurants, these were not made clear from the start & frequent visitors had booked these 7 days in advance, it took us a couple of days to "work this one out", however I did like the fact that if these pre booked items were not used by 10:00 they were free to takeover but again not before we asked a few questions.

Not a resort for 18/30's.

The coffee machine in our room did not work and the towel rail fell of the wall, he ho we were having such a good time we did not like to complain, anyway just phoned room service, quicker than making it ourselves.

Room Tip: Ground floor quieter, beach side views better and rear of complex building/road work noise, A/C unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Victor, thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor, it was a pleasure to have you with us in Paradisus Varadero on your last trip. It’s great to read how you describe about our property and more importantly that you had an enjoyable stay with us thoroughly. We sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments and feedback. They help us improve our service about the points you speak about.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My friends and I just returned from another fantastic 11 day stay with the Paradisus Varadero. We are drawn to this resort because of the beautiful surroundings, the most amazing beach, but mostly because of the people, and the friends we have made every time we go. If you understand the Cuban lifestyle, and the Cuban people, you will love this resort. Working as a Sales Manager for a major hotel chain I am very aware of what it takes to bring guests in, and have them return. The Paradisus in my opinion has done their job!

I have stayed on the Junior side and the Royal Service side. I will admit the Junior side needs some work in the bathrooms but it was still clean and comfortable. I did see a section of Junior Suites being worked on this time, so renovations are active and happening on that side.
The luxury of the outdoor shower on the Royal Service side was invigorating. To be able to look up at the blue sky, or across at your palm tree in your garden every morning was a treat for me. The room is spacious, and every view I have had on either side was great!!

The food is good/okay for the most part. I love the coconut cookies always a favorite. Thank goodness for the walk to dinner from my room and back…lol
Is there room for improvements??…sure, but again you’re not in Turks and Caicos. I do believe there is something for everyone.
My friends and I would love to see them have an authentic Cuban night at the buffet. Let us have the all around experience. Something to think about.

Oh and big tip, if you go in May bring repellent. Mosquitoes are not kind to the tourists…lol…but they never stopped us from enjoying are evenings.

The beach is wonderful. In the ocean you can walk so far out, we liked that. Never a problem with getting a lounger, but if you are feeling a little lazy Eddy, and Orlando are always there to pull one over for you.

Which brings me back to the reason my girlfriends and I go to the Paradisus. Everyone we have ever encountered are always so friendly. I have read some reviews that say the staff were not willing to help, or they were not friendly. REALLY??? Are you sure it was at the Paradisus?! My friends and I cannot say one bad thing about the willingness to help or friendliness(especially the staff in the buffet) of the employees at the Paradisus or the people of Cuba for that matter. I find many similarities between Cuban people and Canadian people. Maybe that’s my connection.

The Animation Team always kept things lively during the day and the night. It’s a real shame Yandi and Tito from the team will not be there next time we visit. They always had smiles, always friendly, and always took the time to make sure our stay was going well. I would hire them for my hotel in a minute. I wish them the best on their new journeys! I do wish they would have the evening shows back where the stage is again. They did in April but November and now May they don’t. The lobby is great and brings everyone together but it’s not a lot of room for everyone. Especially when the team involves the guests in dancing. We love to get up and dance with everyone but more room is needed. There really should be an option of sitting in the lobby having a drink with friends or checking out the show. Trust me , I think it will work…smile.

Overall this trip as left us excited to book again…and we will. Thank you Itmi for all your hard work, you are our Wonderwoman. Yasel we couldn’t have made a better friend in you. To everyone else, we’ll see you next round!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear good comments of the hotel and the service and make us proud to serve you. We are very grateful for your kind words, suggestions and the time you spent on this review. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Paradisus in the not to distant future.
With my best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Definitely worth a visit. the pool is a very unusual and amazing in appearance. The hotel is very good value money for westerners. Staff are very attentive particularly to children. To phone UK costs 3 pounds per minute and to get a pair of underpants washed was 2 pounds each! Communal areas are beautiful and the beach is excellent. Private tours to Havana organised by the hotel are cheaper than the tour operators and you can go in a 1959 Chevrolet! Overall a four star holiday for two star prices!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aranveda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sw1963, Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had such a good time in our hotel. We expect that the experience of staying in The Paradisus will be so rewarding that you will turn into a frequent client.
Hope to see you again! The ParadisusTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
3.1 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#12 of 64 in Varadero
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
6,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,594 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
6,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Family Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#7 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £172 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing