We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Very nice location, beautiful sand beaches and very friendly staff. Cocktail bars conveniently located at the beach. Lunch time bbq with Cuban music - a must! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very good food in the main restaurant and the 5 additional restaurants (don't forget to reserve a spot when you arrive). Even though it is all inclusive you don't have to wear plastic wrist bands and cocktails are served in proper glasses and not plastic glasses in the main bars. A wonderful vacation!!!

Definitely recommend to undertake a snorkeling trip to the close reef which is an amazing experience, feels like diving in an aquarium. Also very happy with the other water sports offers such as kayak and wind surfing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L4r5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, Gerente at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sylvia E,
Thank you for your awesome description of our property. It captures the spirit of Paradisus Varadero- excellent service, great location, and friendly staff.
It was lovely having you all stay with us, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Darío Fernández
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 5,419 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed nearly 3 weeks in this most friendly hotel. The Cuban people are so friendly, helpful and thoughtful. The Restaurants were good but we thought the Romantica. the Japanese and the Italian were the best. The lunchtime bar-b-q restaurant was very good with live music and wonderful kind staff. We had several days touring inland which were experiences not to miss as we learnt so much about the history and geography of the Island. Like all places we had a few little niggles but these are not worth mentioning as the holiday was so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Let the management know exactly what you want and they will try and help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 99jilld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear 99jilld,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time here in Paradisus Varadero!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service, especially Romantic, Italian and Japanese a-la-carte restaurants.
We do agree on your tip: “Let the management know exactly what you want and they will try and help”.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again and visit us from your beautiful island too, United Kingdom.
Kind regards,
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were very disappointed with this hotel. What made the week go well is the Cuban people who are the most welcoming, courteous and appreciative for whatever you do for them. I felt the hotel was quite old and there were many things that we weren't too happy with. Oceanview room not available upon arrival, very dark in the evening to walk to our complex, hair dryer, shower never worked and the stopper for the bath was also not working. No paper tissues, no coffee or water and fridge never replenished, even though we let the customer service rep know about this. We had to buy three big bottles of water everyday even though water was supposed to be available in the fridge everyday. As far as we are concerned, it was way too expensive for what you got.

Room Tip: I hated having steps between the bedroom area and the living area. It was easy to fall and be hurt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank linamooreAncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear linamooreAncaster,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed our services. We will take your suggestions into consideration to keep improving day by day. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Our best regards from Paradisus Varadero
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in the 'Butler' area of the resort for one night as part of a tour. It was lovely. The room was wonderful, and the service was very good. I also had a massage in the spa with was very good. There was a pool right by our room, and limited to the butlered area.

Room Tip: Choose the Butlered area. Lovely personal decks and balconies, and good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatherineK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear KatherineK54,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again!
Kind regards.,
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 8 nights here on honeymoon and absolutely loved the place! Complete paradise! The beach was beautiful, white sand turquoise water! Lovely beach bar with nice cocktails and BBQ lunch! The pool was lovely too not too busy and we enjoyed relaxing at the swim up pool! There was a great selection of food and we ate somewhere different almost every night! The staff were so friendly and very attentive! I honestly couldn't say a bad word about the place! It's beautiful and I hope to visit again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Laura C,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, by the sounds of it you had a great time! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future again!
Kind regards.
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having had a tour of Cuba we decided to ‘recuperate’ at this hotel in Varadero We chose to treat ourselves to Royal Service Master Junior Suite Ocean View and were not disappointed with the room. The view of the ocean was spectacular and only a few metres away with plenty of shady sunbeds which was more than could be said of the Royal Service pool area which was rather crowded with little shade and an early morning battle for the cabanas. Needless to say we were always too late. I normally enjoy my days by the pool but spent them by the sea this time!
The room was spectacular and delivered what it says on the tin. Our butlers Yadil and Rolando catered for our every need and soon knew that we required ice at 6.30pm as well as promptly providing everything else we needed. Our maid Yaseika kept it spotless with fresh towels and bedding every day. The only disappointment was the lack of consistent turndown service (3times in 8 days at most) which meant that Yaseika had to work doubly hard in the morning to wash our glasses etc from the previous evening.
Unfortunately we had heavy rain one evening but luckily we were in the room at the time as the rain rushed into the room quicker than we could roll up the carpet and move the furniture We accepted that this is Cuba but more concerning was the fact that during a night time trip to the bathroom we discovered a huge puddle on the marble bathroom floor - a dangerous slip hazard and water all over the left hand washbasin area including all over my toothbrush and toiletries to the level of about 1cm in the holders & ashtray. This was quickly dried out when reported but is potentially an accident waiting to happen especially in the dark!
One major advantage of Royal Service was that Yadil had booked our restaurants in advance. This was a real bonus as the only alternative was the main buffet which was hectic and noisy. Having stayed ‘Club’ before we wrongly assumed that there was an evening Royal Service buffet like the breakfast & lunch service although the service at these times was a bit disorganised. Don’t expect everything on the breakfast menu to be available on any particular day nor the empty dishes on the buffet to be automatically replaced unless you ask. Birds were a problem in all the restaurants including breakfast at Royal Service where they especially enjoyed pecking the pastries before the guests had time to select them The sparrows also enjoyed the bread rolls and salad at the beach restaurant May I suggest that the hotel considers its food hygiene policy and that guests only take bread etc from the bottom of the pile to minimise the risk of contamination.
Having said all this, which is constructive criticism, we really enjoyed our time in Varadero which was enriched by the superb butler service and the friendliness and efficiency of our maid. If you can afford it choose Royal Service.

Room Tip: If you can afford it treat yourself to an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Littleval57,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are pleased to know that overall you have enjoyed our services. We will take your suggestions into consideration to keep improving day by day. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Our best regards from Paradisus Varadero
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've visited paradisus at the end of feb 2014. At first my friend and I loved the nature and the layout of this resort, however, the fact our room is infested with cockroaches ruined our impression of this hotel. We lived on the first floor in one of the houses by the beach. On the first night of arrival, we had already found 2 cockroaches by the balcony door area, made a fuss killing the bugs, and we called room service to bring in some bug spray, only to find that their service is as bad as their hygiene-- we waited nearly 2hrs til two house keeping ladies came in with a perfume like bug spray. It smelled like perfume too. Upon dissatisfaction, we requested to change our room the next day, and the answer we received was that there are no available rooms left in the resort. So we had to live with it. What's worse? Finally on the last night of our vocation, as I was taking a shower, a cockroach crawled into the bathtub and scarring the hell out of me, and another one came in as I was just finished up the shower. Both my friend and I were girls so we were scared as hell. And this time again, we waited 2-3 hours for the room service people to come in with a bug spray. Perhaps I sounded more angry on the phone, they finally came in with a real bug spray instead of a tiny bottle of perfume. After spraying the room, my friend and I went out for a walk to avoid the toxicants. And an hour later we came back to our room, found nearly a dozen cockroaches in our room after the spray, dead and alive crawling all over the floor and our belongings (yuck!) finally we couldn't take it. And demanded a room change! Upon discussion with the front desk, they finally offered another room on the second floor, but by the time we could finally rest it was already 2am. I cannot stress how struck I was by the fact that there were this many bugs in their rooms. For I've never visited any hotel that is like this! I will never return and please, I hope that you consider carefully if you decide to visit paradisus for your vocation, it's not a good idea.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentmanagerPVA, General Manager at Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Helen L,
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very worried about the pictures and information you describe in your comment. We would like to apologize for it and inform you that we are doing a detailed investigation on it.
As you mentioned, you liked the hotel because of its layout and ecological set up. We have had couple of situations with insects but never so big as you explain in your comment.
We hope to welcome you and your family in the future to offer you an amazing holiday as expected.
Kind regards
Dario Fernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
1.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & SPA
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Frances, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Varadero
#2 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#3 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#12 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £193 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Rincon Francés, part of the Varadero ecological reserve. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 510 rooms. This charming world is privileged with elegance, refinement and privacy, especially its Royal Service. Recommended for families, weddings, honeymoons, incentives and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Varadero Resort And Spa
Paradisus Varadero Hotel Varadero
Varadero Paradisus
Paradisus Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing