We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
357
550
407
196
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
550
407
196
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean luc de oro bbq lunch live band spanish coffee pork house band pool games hot sauce small resort entertainment staff pool view magic show the cuban a la carte amazing beach every evening dance lessons
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My wife and I waited for the New Year in this resort. This was our fifth consecutive stay in this hotel. If health is in our side, we definitely will go back next year.
Staff; very kind, helpful and polite.
Our room had a beautiful view to the swimming pool area, receiving sun just about all day; the ladies in charge of our room were very nice and polite, All the facilities in our room worked properly.
Food was very good and with many choices. We enjoyed the different varieties of pasta. Helpful and kind staff.
Coffee shop. That was a very good idea. We enjoyed it when the weather was fresh.
Bar: Nice staff, clean and careful personal appearance. Good beer, wine, mojitos, piña colada, cubatas, cubas libre, etc.
Reception: Excellent, fast and providing helpful directions.
In general, we are happy and willing to go back.
We recommend this hotel.
Even with the embargo situation that they confront, they provide the best with kindness and friendship.
GARDENS: We have always been impressed with the well maintained and beautiful gardens. Congratulations to the staff taking care of them.
We will see you again next year.

Sergio and Sonia Quezada
Regina - Saskatchewan, Canadá

Room tip: A good view, accescibility.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank quezada1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We would like to THANK YOU for such a beautiful Christmas dinner by the ocean(food was fantastic, grilled lobsters, shrimps, very delicious desserts etc) and a beautiful concert in the lobbi. Staff was very friendly. Coffee is so delicious! Hotel is trying their best to provide unforgettable vacation for their guests(water ballet twice, singers, opera, live band (Cuban music), Cuban dancers etc), also live band at lunch and dinner every day!!! Activity with kids, aqua gym, salsa dance on the beach, games, disco, kids club, nice new playground for kids etc! Thank you Playa de Oro!

PS Bring your (natural)bug repellent and apply it all the time. Sand bugs bites are very itchy!!!
Rooms are average, don't expect fancy rooms.
Please tip the stuff, they work hard and long hours for nothing.

Room tip: ask for room on the sunny side of hotel(not one facing the pool) it should be quieter and it should not smell from mold.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Hotel is run down and needs lots of repairs. Rooms are okay, but there is no way to control the AC (its either on or off). They expect one roll of toilet paper a day for three people to be enough. I asked for another from reception and she said that's all you get and they will have the room "cleaned' by 5pm each day. Their "cleaning" leaves a lot to be desired. Whole resort was filthy. The bathrooms in the lobby smelled like piss as soon as you walked in the door.
The food was what was to be expected, but it would have been nice to have something hot. Everything was lukewarm or cold.
The pool area was nice but the swim up bar isn't open anymore and the jacuzzi doesn't work.
The entertainment at night was good. Hard to get a good sleep with kids and drunks slamming doors all hours of the night.
The bartenders, dining room staff and bellhops were great. The beach was beautiful.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank justsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Our family has been traveling in Cuba over the holidays and mostly stayed in airbnbs or casas. We had to give up on our trip to Santiago de Cuba because we couldn't find transportation at a decent price and decided to extend our stay in Varadero for two nights. We had originally stayed at Retiro El Eden in Varadero with Manuel and loved it, but he had other guests coming. - So, we booked two nights in the Playa de Oro Hotel. The only lucky thing is that we did not have to pay for the kids as they were free, otherwise this place would have been hard to stomach.

We arrived and after putting our stuff into our two rooms which were roomy we went for lunch in the palappa restaurant by the beach. I have honestly never seen grosser food in my life. The flies were everywhere and the food was a brown-black unrecognizable mush! Yuck!

Bar: They did not have a blender, so everything was on the rocks, even the daiquiri. The majority of the drinks advertised on the menu were not available for a reason or another. One time they didn't have mint for the mojitos.

Food was generally disgusting. The most bearable was the breakfast. They did have pretty good variety but everything was just gross! On the 2nd day, my boy ordered a hot dog on the bar by the pool and there was a snail in it. After that I couldn't eat anymore!

One of our rooms never had hot water and the other did not have electricity on the 2nd day. On both of our nights there was a disco at the beach that played very VERY loud music with strong base from 10PM until past 3AM. Thank god we had ear plugs. It was awful! - There was a sing for windsurfing but when I asked, the staff said they had no surf boards...

The staff was pretty friendly and there was a coffee bar in the lobby which served good cappuccinos. The beach was beautiful, but you can get the same pretty beach and a better hotel in many other locations around the world!

Room tip: Choose a different hotel
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Calisurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Went to this hotel between Christmas and New Year. Hotel does need a bit more TLC - and that's generally - but not that uncommon for Varadero. Staff were generally quite friendly and very helpful. Forgot something in the Coffee Bar one night and they had it behind the bar for me the next morning. Beds were comfortable enough - typically of a Cuban stay. No issues with getting warm water in the shower. Food was good and plentiful, with the buffets generally having a lot of variety. Coffee bar just off the main lobby was very good with very efficient staff. No real issues with hustlers on the beach.
The resort is showing some significant wearing, but we did seem them replacing balcony railings and painting rooms. We've stayed at better and worse places, but we don't travel for the hotel (just want food and a place to sleep). Playa de Ora was just fine.

Room tip: The two main buildings overlook the central pool area. Rooms on the pool side may be a bit noisier and less private.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Burnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews