We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveller rating
357
550
407
196
177
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
550
407
196
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean luc de oro bbq lunch live band spanish coffee pork house band pool games hot sauce small resort entertainment staff pool view magic show the cuban a la carte amazing beach every evening dance lessons
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Travelled over New years 2017/2018.
This was our 3rd visit to Varadero, first to this resort.
Weather was unseasonally cool but we had enough sunshine and beachtime for a good a vacation.
The facility was definitely rundown and needs a lot of updating. It is a small resort and easy to get around.
Our room was fine and thankfully we had hot water, although other visitors complained that they had none. I believe this was a problem in the east building.
We had a small fridge in the room but it was not stocked. We received only the 1 bottle of water and they expect you to either buy your own or have it filled up at the bar.
We've been to a few all inclusives and this is the first resort that does not stock anything in the fridge.
The pool deck was in need of refinishing, and you really needed to watch where you stepped. Many hazards around the resort, especially if you've had something to drink. Watch where you step!
The coffee bar was a real hit, and the staff did their best to accomodate everyone on those cool days.
The lifeguards and security were mostly available if you wanted to buy cigars or excursions to Havana.
The entertainment was really good at this resort. Was not expecting that level of entertainment.
We never really had to wait for service at the bars and the workers were friendly for the most part.
The food at the buffet was average, and there were long waits for the pasta bar.
Sometimes had to wait to just get into the buffet room.
Get there early for breakfast if you want any of those awesome croissants.
The 3 a la cartes were okay, but we usually went to the buffet for deserts, which were really good.
Overall, we had a good time at this resort but would probably try a different one if we decide to go back to Varadero. We were told that March and April is probably the best time to visit Cuba, weather wise.
Use the room safe for your valuables as there were complaints of theft from rooms.

Room tip: 4th floor, west building, had hot water...and view of the ocean. We were told that the first floor rooms smelled of mould and mildew
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VlastaS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

If your looking for sun, great beach, good food and to relax this is a great get away for your dollar,

not overly fun, lacking pool entertainment, but overall a nice vacation

Food was fine, I'm picky and I ate well,

I would return,

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great family vacation! Excellent place for the money. We would definitely go back. Foodnwas good and the place was clean. We loved the beach. There were always chairs available. I would recomend this hotel!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This was our first visit to Cuba and Hotel Playa de Oro. We had a fabulous experience mostly because of the highly relational staff. Our days on the beautiful beaches were relaxing and fun due mostly in part to the recreational and entertainment staff: Hebert, Ali, and Yamir. Hebert is a natural at connecting with guests and getting everyone involved. He will make you laugh, and is exceptional at drawing people into activities. We had a blast with beach volleyball, aquacize in the ocean, salsa dancing lessons from Ali and Yamir, crazy games and more. This staff group made our week. The resort itself is dated but very clean. The food was plentiful and always lots of options at the buffet. Our favorite was the outdoor lunch buffet where the food is all made fresh and hot. Icecream was served at every lunch and dinner meal. I don't eat a lot of ice cream at home, but this icecream kept me coming back for more. Lively atmosphere and very friendly staff. We would visit here again.

Date of stay: January 2018
3  Thank ShirleyB1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 8 (family/friends) who stayed Jan 16-23 at Playa de Oro. This was our third visit and it was terrific! (Yes the rooms are dated and have a musty smell but we bring an air freshener and are out having fun and only sleep in the rooms) The staff work hard to make sure you are enjoying your vacation from the maids to the servers to the animation. We ate omelettes and donuts for breakfast, bbq down at the beach grill for lunch and dined at both a la cartes and the buffet for supper. We played games like ping pong and musical chairs throughout the day. The lobby band at night is excellent and we enjoyed the shows like the water ballet and the magic night. The beach is beautiful and it’s just a short walk from the hotel. We hope to travel back to this resort next January to see our new friends Ivan, Allie and Jesus!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank daylea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews