We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We loved the staff at this resort! So friendly and helpful. We are planning on returning to this resort as loved everything about it except the elevator broke down a few times.
They love Canadians at this resort and were so well received by all staff we met. We cannot say enough good things about the staff!! The pool was so close to the beautiful beach. Pool bar was wonderful and bar on way to beach with a barbeque stand also fantastic. The adult only hotel suited us to a tee and wouldn't chose anywhere else in Varadero.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view 4th or 5th floor facing pool was fantastic!. Do not book rooms above lobby bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Helen P,
We want to thank you for this special review about the staff at Meliá Las Antillas. We are happy to know you enjoyed the adult´s only concept, as well as the pool and beach area. Concerning the elevators, we want to inform you that we are giving almost daily maintenance, until we can carry out a general repair already approved by the property for the mid of year.
We are confident we will able to see you again in Melia Las Antillas.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,433
    1,625
    625
    281
    148
See reviews for
387
2,377
181
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Don't look at the average of all reviews, those 1 star reviews are all true!. We just came back from this 7 day all-inclusive vacation. If you are like me, you would want to pay more to get a superior ocean view room and upgraded service, but I wouldn't recommend it. These are the exact words when I booked this room, and they are mostly lies or you have to fight to get it.
These amenities are available only with the Junior Suite Superior Ocean View room category.

Inclusions:
• Lounge with Concierge service ---------- the lady named Naidelys is very kind and helpful, but has no power. She had to fight very hard for us to get anything we paid for.
• Wet hand towel ---------- never showed up???
• Welcome gift with letter from General Manager ---------- letter only. Asked twice, no one has any idea what the gift was.
• 4 Guaranteed reservations in a-la-carte restaurants for stays of 7 days ---------- no choice, prearranged and hard to change even a-la-cartes are not even 50% full.
• Exclusive breakfast ---------- lol, it's a joke. Just go to Taino buffet restaurant.
• Guaranteed late check out till 15:00 hrs ---------- just a lie, triple confirm and check with 3 people, it doesn't exist!
• Minibar refilled daily refreshment drinks/beers/water bottle ---------- hahaha, just another joke, just go to the downstairs bar.
• VIP amenities in bathroom (on arrival) ---------- Oblivious, I don't know where this came from???
• Electric coffeemaker with tea and coffee ---------- You have to ask for it, and they only supply when you ask. You asked once, it show up once, not everyday.
• Bathrobe and Slippers ---------- have to ask, it won't show up (make sure they are clean, before you put it on, lol)
• Oceanview Guaranteed ---------- You get a very thin line of oceanview if you have a 4th floor room, better at 5th floor. However, elevator malfunctions everyday. I had to rescue a couple who had been stuck in the elevator for 15 mins. People were complain about the elevators, but no one cared. I asked someone who has been to the hotel several times before, they said it always like this.
• Welcome cocktail
• Private Check-in until 23:00 ---------- there is no such thing, double checked.
• Lobster dinner (Once per stay)
• Beach towels in room ---------- first time only
• Daily turndown service
• In and out Express delivery and pick-up of luggage
• Rum, Whisky, Gin and Cava bottles upon arrival ---------- after we asked, two bottles of Rum, and one bottle of Whisky appeared.

One of the mattresses is a joke! The Mattress covers are of such poor quality that the coils actually poke through the mattress covering and jab into your body. Had to change room to get a better mattress and get away from the ants. The shower head is clogged, not enough water was coming out.
The front desk woman Las Ang gave us a very hard time about changing rooms, we have to run back and forth several times and suffer from her attitude and mean face to get it done. However, 90% of those employees are friendly and hard workers.
The shows and activities are good or acceptable. The beach is good. Food is enough, but not great.

Room Tip: Don't choose upgraded room, not worth it. Avoid deal with Los Ang at the front desk, if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear guest,
We want to thank you for use part of your valuable time to share details of your stay in our hotel.
Your comments are really important to us to improve our services, in this case, we noted that you have not fully enjoyed the inclusions of the Junior Suite Superior Ocean View Rooms. We have identified your room and we are checking and taking the properly actions to avoid these things you have pointed out happen to other guests.
I know it is difficult to ask you to give us another opportunity to be your hosts again, but in case you decide to come to our hotel, I will personally take care of everything to be sure this time we fulfill your expectations during your stay in Meliá Las Antillas.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just arrived after spending a wonderful week from the 6th to the 13th of march. It was an impressive stay in this lovely hotel. The service impeccable, the staff very welcoming and helpful and informative in case of different enquiries... special thanks to Betty, our room maid who kept our room clean and comfortable...and Alberto the best of entertainers, very cheerful and friendly and fun...The same for Theresa, who is very entertainting and positive person, always smiling, and inviting guests to participate in all sorts of activities...and the barman Ramon very helpful, very considerate, and remembers everybodys name and preferences. As for food, a great variety that suits all tastes, great accomodating service even when it is very busy, entertaining activities and shows all the time...most of all the resort is very clean, hygiene is utmost throughout our stay...It was really a week of total relaxation and fun...we are looking forward for another visit surely...highly recommended resort...Room 6110...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Leila,
I wish to thank you for so nice review. We are very happy to know you enjoyed a wonderful week of relaxation and fun at Meliá Las Antillas.
It is great to know you really feel impressed about the attitude of the staff and how friendly and professional they are. Thanks for mentioned some of them as Alberto, Theresa and Ramon.
I´m confident you will be able to see most of them on your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Travelled with my spouse Feb 19-Mar 5. This is by far the best resort we have stayed at in Cuba. The food was excellent at the buffet, beach bar grill, and the a la cartes. If you like lobster you can eat it nearly every night at this resort at no extra cost! Friday night in the buffet is lobster night and they also serve lobster at the Cuban a la carte as well as the Romantic restaurant. Couple of notes...if you go to the Romantic restaurant wear a sweater the first night we went in it was freezing. Little used restaurant....at lunch try the Italian, it is open most days at lunch and the pizza is made to order and absolutely amazing. Best service in the buffet is definitely outside on the terrace, kudos to all the waitresses out there.

If you go don't forget to look for the sharks just outside the buffet grill at the bridge only in the evenings though couldn't find them during the day.

Rooms are a little dated could use a face lift but they are clean and only for sleeping.

If we go back to Varadero would pick this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are delighted to know you visited our hotel for the first time and that you enjoyed two excellent weeks with your spouse. We are also pleased to know you encountered the food excellent at our resort and to know you liked the lobster offer in the a la carte restaurants and at the buffet on Friday night. Thank you for your time to share your impressions and please feel free to contact us for the next time.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spent 1 week at the resort at end of February - our first trip to Cuba and we were looking forward to some rest an relaxation - we found both and more at Melia Las Antillas.

The resort is VERY clean - the grounds and our room was perfectly cleaned when we arrived and throughout our stay. The pool area was great - able to find a spot whenever we showed up and never too busy to spend plenty of time swimming laps or cooling off. The other pool was busier with activities like aquarobics and volleyball. The pool bar was always accessible and the servers were quick with drinks.

The beach with calm seas was perfect for swimming and relaxing in the sun - we were always able to find shelter and loungers without any trouble, The beach bar was great for cold drinks and the bbq had tasty hot burgers straight off the grill.

3 A la Carte restaurants and the buffet restaurant for lunches were just right - lots of food choices and we were always able to find something to enjoy. Fresh fruits were wonderful and the selection of cheese always impressed.

Room Tip: Ocean view suites on floors 4 and 5 in the main hotel - the balcony allows you to listen to the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbuttress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,
We are glad to know you find what you were looking for your vacation at the Melia Las Antillas and that we have been able to meet all your expectations. Thanks for sharing with us all your impressions and we hope you can return soon.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The room was ok.

The beach was clean. The sand was spectacular!

The shows are funny and entertaining!!

The food was great!! I didn't expected to eat that well in Cuba! I ate the best orange fish!!

I small tip will assure you a wonderfull service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeMontreal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for your nice notes about your recent stay at Meliá Las Antillas. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share you’re your impressions.
Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Melia Las Antillas
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our first time at any all inclusive resort anywhere and this place met our expectations really well. Loved how close to the beach we were, loved the beach itself, pool was great, grounds were well kept, entertainment shows in the evening were great, food was plentiful and weren't starving for sure and rooms were clean and in good repair. There were 3 of the resorts employees who I think went above and beyond to make our stay more enjoyable, they were Julito who was a waiter in the Los Tainos restaurant, John Dany the awesome omelet guy and the very kind and ever smiling Norberto from the beach bbq. I only had one issue during my stay which at the time bothered me but it wasn't something that I let ruin my trip or anything, this was the fact that I hadn't received a bottle of water in my room the last four days of my seven day stay. I passed this on to guest services 4 times and they said they would resolve this but we never did, sunwing rep said at the first of the week that if we needed water we could get our bottles refilled at the bars but when we asked we were constantly told they had none to give. They did however handover the water if a tip was given. The guest services people were friendly with this matter but of no use in the end, only a minor issue to me and I would stay again at this resort for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank troy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas for the first time in an all inclusive resort. We are very happy to know we could met your expectations very well. Thanks for your recognition to the staff and for mention some of them as John Dany, Julito and Norberto. It's great to know also, that you have good memories about the beach, pool, grounds, entertainment shows, food and the rooms. We regret all the inconvenience you had with the bottle of water and how this situation was handled by our staff. At this moment we are checking daily all the reports to the guest services in order to act more quickly.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Melia Las Antillas and make your second occasion unforgettable.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#11 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing