We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible place”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“terrible place”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Was the worst holiday of our lives would never go back,terrible food,nothing near hotel.horrible smell,only good thing pool very nice,staff very friendly, good job rooms were nice,lift always broken. We lost weight as the food was awful,flies all around food

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janice c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Meliá Las Antillas Hotel and for your positive comments about the pool, rooms and the staff.
We accept your critical comments, mainly because it is your own opinion. We usually received good comments about the food offer and sometime our clients compare it with other resorts in Cuba. We are very sad to learn that you were not pleased with the variety of food offered at the restaurants. As you may know we have 1 main restaurant (buffet), 3 a la carte restaurants and a BBQ near to the beach area with a wide variety of international and national cuisines.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    1,604
    624
    279
    147
See reviews for
383
2,345
179
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I needed to get away after my car accident 21months ago, so I called my travel agent and gave her my budget . She gave me a choice of 5 places to go in Varadero & Melia Las Antillas was my choice. Upon arrival (although late at night) felt very safe getting though the airport, customs and getting my luggage..Boarded the tour bus, and was on my way to a week of relaxation in Cuba !!! Getting to the hotel, I was checked in quickly, BUT I was in a walking cast & had to walk to the end of the 4th floor (long & tiring) .. Get to my room, drop luggage & take the long walk back to the lobby 24hr bar for a refreshment .. great service from the bartenders .. stopped back at the front desk and asked if I could get a room change in the morning, put my name on a list & by 1045am the next day, I had a new room, on ground level and NO stairs to climb :o) .. Next day spent by the pool, close to the pool bar and right near the BBQ pit (best burgers ever) .. over the next couple of days, met some wonderful people from my area here in Ontario Canada, sat with them by the pool every day .. The staff WERE awesome .. Tuti Fruiti was the greatest !! Made me smile on Cuban days, fresh fruit, and great costume too !!
my week March 14-21/14 was the best experience of travelling alone .. I am going back June 7-21/14 (2 weeks again alone) & so Looking forward to it & seeing EVERYONE again !!!
also there is a group of us who met in March that are planning on coming back in March 2015 !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen8759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest,
I wish to thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay. It is great to know you really feel impressed about the attitude of the staff. I´m confident you will be able to see them on your next stay with us.
Please feel free to contact us for your next stay.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is old and tired. Stuff at the reception and guest service is difficult to deal with, very disappointing. Lobby bar serving premium drinks, service is ok. Food - better then average for Cuba 4* hotel. Beach is great!!! Catamarans at the beach wad highlight of the trip - Thank You Gustavo:)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank festinahealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you have published and shared, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Melia Las Antillas.
Thank you for your positive comments about the drinks offer at the lobby bar, as well for the food and the beach area. Certainly is a great beach.
We regret your impressions about the staff at the reception and the guest service. We work very hard to satisfy all our client’s needs and we are going to increase the supervision in this areas.
It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Once again Melia Las Antillas didn't let us down, it was a wonderful return trip, our room as always was comfortable and clean, there was always a good selection of food in the buffet you can always find something, this coming from a picky eater, the staff are what make this hotel, as a return guest the warm welcome we received from all of them makes it feel like home, and a special mention to Mairelys (buffet) who even after two years still remembered how we took our coffee, thank you, and to the Manager who was always around and assisting his staff its nice to see, the only thing that was hard to see was how other guests wood just get up and leave the pool area and leave plastic cups and plates of food laying around the pool area, these are the people that make a resort look uncared for. Will we return, can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson&Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,
We are very happy to know you had a wonderful return trip to Meliá Las Antillas. Your impressions are very important for us. Thank you for letting us know about the warm welcome you received, especially from Mairelys at the buffet restaurant.
Hooping you can return soon to our hotel.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I went with friends to this resort. It was our first time in Cuba, but their second. It started off rough, but we didn't let that ruin our holidays. The staff are very pleasant, especially the bellman, Yonlanski (or Johnny Walker as he'd have us call him). He's always smiling when you see him. Our maid, Betsy, was awesome. Always surprising us with something different with our towels and curtains each day. She's such a sweetheart. I hope that when we do visit again, we have her again. The people taking care of the daytime and evening entertainment are the best. They were great to talk to. Especially Hollywood and Nikki. They were great people to chat with when just hanging out by the pool or beach.

The food was really different then home,,, but we were prepared for that. If you expect food to be like ours, then you're going to be highly disappointed. They could use a bit more salt or seasoning, but other then that, it was pretty good. A lot of repetition though. However, for the whole week we were there, we never had any french fries. Not because we didn't order any, but because they didn't have any,,, at all!!!

All in all, we had a great time. We hope to go back and relax more on the resort.

Karen & Paul Ford

Room Tip: For the best maid,, make sure you have room 6116
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFord2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate that you decided to visit the Meliá Las Antillas in your first visit to Cuba ad to know you had a great time with us.
Thanks for your recognition to the staff and for mention some of them. We invite you to contact us before your next visit to take care about your request and to make your stay more pleasant with us.
Concerning the french fries, we had some supplies issues but we kindly inform you that is already solved.
We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The resort is in major need of renovations to most rooms......we had to request that our Sunwing rep get us a better room because the first one we were sent to was literally falling apart. We were moved the following day and although somewhat better, was still needing a fresh look. Several ppl we talked to had to do the same thing.The food was much better than a resort we had previously visited in Cuba. A la carte restaurants were very nice. The pool was great however the moat meandering throughout the grounds was oftentimes scummy and unpleasant to look at. The bartenders & the beverages they served were great!!
The public restrooms in the lobby, by the pool etc were not cleaned on a regular basis. Many times toilets wouldn't flush and the only thing available to dry your hands with was toilet paper that simply "melted" as soon as it got wet.....made me wonder how many ppl used the pool as a toilet!,

Room Tip: Request main building, concierge floor (5th) but check that you have adequate water pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing details about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased to read your comments about the food, the a la carte restaurants and beverage offer, however we regret that your impressions about the rooms were not the best.
Concerning the public restroom, we want to inform you that this is an area we will definitely improving.
We are truly sorry about any inconveniences you might have had and we want to express our sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered during your stay. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oromocti, NB, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our third stay at the Melia Las Antillas and like the previous years, everything was the best. The food was very good in both the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Love the ice cream! The staff and service were excellent and a special shout out to two waitresses - Mairelys and Dinaibis in the buffet restaurant and Kandi in public relations. All the staff were friendly and remembered us from our previous stays. All in all - a special vacation, thanks a lot to Raul Testar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice notes on your third stay at Meliá Las Antillas and for recommend some of the staff. They will be very happy to read your comments.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for the fourth time.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,838 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Property: Melia Las Antillas
Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Antillas 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing