We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Trip!”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Melia Las Antillas, Varadero from May 11th to May 18th 2014. We arrived later Sunday night and were greeted with friendly faces as per usual. We have been to Cuba before so we knew what to expect at the airport and when checking into the hotel. Upon arrival we were very impressed with the look of the hotel. It was very cute, a bit on the older side, but very well taken care of. We thought the building and the grounds were absolutely beautiful! It didn't take us long to figure out where everything was at the hotel, and everything was well laid out. Our room was just a regular junior suite and it was exactly like what the picture showed so there were no surprises. It was a nice room and perfect for a couple....our only problem was that after 3 days it started to smell like mildew and everything was very moist. Mind you, we also went at a time of the year when it is rainy and quite humid so we knew to expect that. I didn't hear of any other rooms that smelt like mildew, and I'm sure we could have asked to change but the smell came and went and we weren't in the room much. The food was great! There was quite a bit of a selection and we definitely never went hungry! The A La Carte's were phenomenal! The lobster was to die for and the shrimp cocktail was amazing! It was quite a bit of a walk to get from the main building to the beach...but it's worth it everyday! You get a little exercise while walking to the beach which is always good! The beach was stunning! Beautiful white sand and a wonderful view. We were always up early to get a place to sit in the shade. We are a younger couple and we found that there was a lot of older couples at the resort. It is an adult only resort (which we loved) but there weren't a lot of people for us to meet and hangout with. There were a lot of excursions to go on and we picked the catamaran. It was fun, not sure it was worth the $100 but it was something different and fun to do for a day. We also went into the town of Varadero to look around and do a little bit of shopping which was definitely fun and a must if you go to Varadero. The pool was also very nice. We went to the pool a couple of times when it was windy and cold by the beach. The pool area is crowded so if you want seats you have to go pretty early in the morning and put your towels down. There was also not a ton of English speaking travellers. We felt like we were the minority which can sometimes be hard. The entertainment at night was very good and lots of fun. The band that played on the patio near the lobby bar was really awesome! The hotel is in a good location as it is not far from the airport and a very short distance from the town of Varadero. Overall it was a wonderful trip and I do recommend it for couples!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Zoe G,
I wish to thank you for so nice review. We are very glad and feel in your words, that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at Meliá Las Antillas.
Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Meliá Las Antillas and for taking the time to share your comments with us. We hope you can come return soon
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,201)
There are newer reviews for Melia Las Antillas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 4,201 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

the resort its self is older, but cute. The beach is fantastic! I wouldn't have asked for more. the water had some waves, but nothing crazy. (Ii kinda wished for more) Me and my boyfriend always seemed to find a spot no matter on the time of the day we went looking. the pool was fantastic and clean, they offer board games and sports such as tennis, ping pong, a few volleyball nets and the balls.(one in the pool, one by the beach, and one on the resort), chess and checkers that are massive and fun to play. Me and my boyfriend got bitten by sand bugs that come out at night mostly and are near washed up seaweed. (they cant control that i understand that) Oraljel helps with the bites amazingly. The room was very standard, large bed but an older mattress. We stayed in the main building. the air conditioner worked well but on the last two days it would blow air smelling like piss and the room was pretty damp from it. The staff at the lobby bar i found extremely rude. but the front desk ladies were okay. the pool side bar at night had an excellent server Ramone who was beyond helpful. he would go above and beyond with his work. Roy the entertainer was extremely friendly and a great person to have a conversation with. Jorge Amaya who helped at the pool bar and the restaurant around lunch was super amazing and friendly. Our cleaning lady, no matter on how many gifts and tips we left her barely did her job, made bed and gave new towels (that were stained) is all she ever did for us (no sweeping, no restocking the fridge, etc). That was upsetting. The food on some days could be okay, breakfast was fine, Any of their meat is questionable to me, seafood was really amazing though. its typical slightly bland food compared to what im used too, little selection with fruit. a lot of fried things available. They make lots of fresh bread. The side restaurants they have are good just not a large selection. Overall it was an average trip. If you can get a really good deal i would recommend it, aside from that i would suggest looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms that you need to use the elevators they are slow.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Anita S,
Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We carefully read your review and your perspective about all the services. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the beach area, certainly it is beautiful, as well as the different activities we have programmed for all our clients. We want to thank you to for commenting about our staff, and we noted that you feel impressed with their professionalism, excepting the area you mentioned. Thank you for letting us know. We regret the different issues with your room and how the service was provided by the cleaning lady. We are going to check this matter immediately.
We are looking for welcome you again as a repeat client.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the resort Apr 30 - May 7th......When we originally looked for a place in Veradero the resort was listed on Redtag.ca as a 4.5 star, on triipcentral as a 4.5 and 5 star, and on sunwing as a 4.5. So imagine our surprise when the room we were put in smelled like a dungeon and the wood furniture was peeling. The room looked very worn. We were shown 2 other rooms which were all alike except one was in a bungalow not the main hotel and the other was on the fifth floor with concierge service and for this one you had to pay 20 pesos per night extra. the bungalow was just a little better than the first so we paid the extra for a half decent room. the room definately showed signs of wear but was not as bad as the rest, however on the second night discovered ants in the room and they would crawl on me while I was watching TV. It took the sunwing rep asking twice before anything was done. There was one bathroom between the hotel and the beach and this was for both men and women as the women's was broken. The beach was ok but you had to be careful because of the quick deep rut after you enter the water. My husband had to help me get out of the water because it was deep for me. The food was cold at the buffets and not a great selection. Iknow that Cuba is not known for great food but this was ridiculous. They had grilled chicken once on the grill at the buffet and after that mostly fish. Anything cooked on the grill was delicious and the cooks were great. Breakfast was always the best meal. The grill by the pool was good as well as the ala cartes but everything else was barely passable. Our sunwing rep was great in helping us resolve issues. We have been to Cuba twice and enjoyed our stays. When I go to a 4.5 star resort I expect more than what I got. Will not go back again to the resort or Veradero.

Room Tip: All the rooms look the same except some in better condition than the others. Higher floors you can...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear amy h,
Thank you for taking part of your valuable time to share details of your experience at Melia Las Antillas.
We regret that your expectations in our hotel were not fulfilled and we honestly apologize for this. We carefully read all your comments. Concerning the food, we are happy to read that you appreciated the food cooked at the grill area, as well for the breakfast, the a la carte restaurants and the grill by the pool, but we regret your comments about the selection of what you called everything else. We offer daily different varieties of meat and fish trying to please the most difficult tastes. We also offer lobster and sea food at the restaurant grill twice a week. We are really sorry you were not pleased with this offer and we thank you for your comments that always help us to improve. Before reading your review we are increasing the supervision at the rooms. We want to inform you that being a tropical country with a high percentage of humidity sometimes we have the presence of ants in the rooms but this can be easily solve after cleaning the rooms. Should clients have reported to our Customer Service Desk we have taken proper actions.
We would like you to know that we have taken all the necessary measures so that incidents like the ones you went through do not take place again. We sincerely appreciate your opinions because they assist us in the improvement of our services.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just returned from the Melia resort, in Varadero on Sunday. First off, this was our first trip to Cuba so we had little to no expectations and went in with an open mind. We arrived at the resort around 12noon and had to wait until 230 to check in :/ which was a tad frustrating but I suppose understandable.
The decor of the resort itself is very nice, flowers, palm trees.. beautiful! Although, the main building (and other parts of the resort) could use upgrading. There were lots of cracks in the walls and floor, they had repainted the banister on the staircase while we were there but they need more than that! Our room was alright, the setup was nice, we were on the ground floor also no problem. One not-so-great part,one evening we had a baby lizard crawling on the wall, checked underneath the tv desk and there was a hole, we blocked it off thinking that was where it came from, but it ended up coming back later (maybe from another hole or crack in the wall?):/ We eventually got it out but it was quite concerning :s
Our maid Rosa was very nice and efficient, she made lovely designs with the towels. Once or twice she forgot to refill the fridge but always came back to give us the sodas or water.

Two of my favorite parts: the pool= GREAT and the beach= AMAZING, of course we always had to search for umbrellas for both but we always ended up finding a spot :)
The worst part: The food.... It was the same thing everyday, the dishes looked steamy but the food in it was cold. Lots of different kinds of fish and meats, did not look appetizing. Neither of us are adventurous eaters but we do eat a variety of basic foods. Here, we usually stuck with rice, pasta and some days bread. Although, the omelet bar was good, we had bananas and eggs most of our trip. The drinks are pretty good, especially the Pina Coladas. Keep your pesos handy.
I do not think we would return to this resort, though the people of Cuba are very kind and the staff here are very nice. But we may return to Cuba in the future because it is beautiful.

Tip: If you are visiting this resort, please bring lots of snacks with you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianCheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear CanadianCheek,
We would like to begin by thank you for choose the Meliá Las Antillas in your first trip to Cuba. It is good to know that you appreciated some of the maintenance we are carrying on. As you mentioned, it is not enough. This is an outgoing process as we have mentioned on this site.
We are happy to know you enjoy the décor of the resort, your room, and the pool and beach area, as well your comments about the kindness of the Cuban people.
Thanks for letting us know about the temperature of the food at the buffet restaurant. We are going to check this matter closer.
It will be very nice if you decide to come again when you return to Cuba in the future.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Resort from Mar 29 to Apr 11 and had a great time. Room 6702 the best room in the resort.It was nice and quiet at night , this was a big plus. The room was kept clean and neat thanks to our maid Milayda. The beach was great as was the pool,however there could have been a few more daytime activities.The food was ok, the bbq hamburgers at the playa bar were awsome
as was the bar service mmm cold beer.We would come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lobby closer to the pool you have more open space almost like your own yard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Sherri J,
Many thanks for your positive comments about your first time at Meliá Las Antillas. We are happy to know that we fulfill your expectations and that you had a great time. Thanks for mentioned your maid Milayda. We are going to congratulate her on your behalf.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for the second time.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have been to Varadero 3 Times and this was my 4th trip. Traveled with 3 male Friends . I am used to bad hotels in Cuba so I can not really say I had a bad experience in Melia Las Antillas but given the fact that it is branded as 4+ star hotel my expectation was a bit higher. The food was no different than the 3 star hotel in which I had previously stayed. The line ups for grill, BBQ and omelet was long and many fruits like mangos would disappear in matter of minutes. The food itself was ok and I mean OK with Cuban hotel standards. However if the hotel claim it is 4+ star it really needs to be improved both the variety and quality of food. The bars and drinks were really good and they had all the drinks.
Staff were generally friendly, hardworking and helpful and we did not have any particular problems with the level of the service as they tried their best . Rooms however needed to be clean more often and thoroughly. Although the bed sheets were clean the same can not be said about bed covers which smelled funny.
The beach was nice but the week that we were there it was really windy. The space under the shades at front of beach was limited and one always had to look for empty spots. One solution for that is to add couple more rows of shades closer to the sea as to increase the number of shads.
At the end we had good time at this hotel because our expectation was average and hotel delivered that .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Aria M,
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your 4th trip to Varadero. We always liked to read positive comments about the staff and we thank you for recognized them. We appreciate all your complimentary comments and tips about the food and the shades on the beach area. This help us very much for continue improving our services.
We hope you can return to Meliá Las Antillas when planning your next vacation.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My spouse and I, along with my sister and her partner, just recently returned from this resort and we had a blast! There wasn't much of a night life when it came to the Disco or anything but the night shows were fabulous! The rooms, were, OK, but the service from the employees working in the buffet and ala-carts were amazing. We especially had an amazing interaction with one of the waitors from the buffet. We made sure to sit in his section every night for dinner just in hopes that he would be the one to help us. He was fantastic.
Shout-out to Jorge Felix Aguila. I wish I could have taken you back home with me! You were awesome and we enjoyed your company! Hope all is well, take-care.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the hotel itself, I found the room we had in one of the villas was pretty damp and m...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Jessica B,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays at Melia Las Antillas. Many thanks for your recognition to the staff, especially to Jorge Felix. He is one of our best employees and I´m confident he will be happy to read your comments.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope you can return soon.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,573 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £126 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Las Antillas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing