We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Melia Las Antillas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Las Antillas
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

After spending a week in the stunning Saratoga hotel in Havana, Melia was a bit of a shock...rated as 4/5 star it was run down. We got trapped in the glass lift for almost 10mins, on the 3rd floor and no-one bat an eyelid. Our first room stank of smoke, so we asked to change and got one of the nice villa rooms near the pool. Much better. There were numerous other troubles such as the resort running out of towels, but we ended up spending most of our time on the beach so steered clear of the hotel staff. Beach was lovely, but needed to get there early to get a shaded spot for later in the day. Entertainment and food saved the Melia for us; all day there was beach activities like volleyball, aerobics and dance classes, every evening had a show - water dance was particularly good.

Food was superb - the main restaurant had a wide variety, including fresh grills where you could choose your fish, meat etc and watch it be prepared in front of you.... Prawns were great!

In the day they had a beach BBQ serving kebabs and burgers as well as coconuts which you cohld have filled up at the bar - nice touch!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Kjr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest Kjr89,
Many thanks for sharing details about your recent experience at our hotel. We sincere apology for the issue at the lift, as well for the pre-assigned room. Your comments are very important to improve our daily services. We noted that you could chance your room quickly and we are happy to know you liked the second room at the villas area, as well the beach area and the activities program.
We appreciate your comments about the food at the main restaurant. We have made improvements in this area considering the comments referred on this site.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Melia Las Antillas and make your second occasion unforgettable.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,201)
There are newer reviews for Melia Las Antillas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 4,201 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My trip was excellent! I go away to relax and this resort is a perfect spot for this. The staff are excellent, rooms are nice, pool and beach are great. The food is good, and the selection is vast. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good, relaxing vacation. From the entertainment, to the bars, to the whole facility, it has all a person could possibly need.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjpowellmjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear client mjpowellmjp,
We are happy to know you had a relaxing trip and want to thank you for all your comments and for recommend our hotel as a relaxing resort.
Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is run down 2.5 star resort at best. We booked with Sunwing (rated 4.5 stars), wow what a disappointment....this hotel is so run down and not maintained. One elevator has not worked for weeks, if not months. That means there is only one elevator for the whole resort.
So we said, okay this is Cuba...lower your expectations and enjoy your vacation. The moment we entered the room, I noticed that there was NO A/C WORKING. There was air conditioning, just not blowing cool air.
Our first night, we slept in our own sweat...we woke up to find the bed damp. After trying 3 other rooms to find A/C that was working properly and asking every Canadian there if they had an operational A/C unit...did not find anyone....and most people I spoke to also agreed that the resort was a disappointed. I told sunwing....you find me a room with A/C or you fly my back home. The issue was resolved by the sunwing representative once they booked me at another Melia....We had to get there on our own, not customer service oriented.
In general, it will be a longtime before we return to Cuba.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Richard P,
Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share details about your recent experience in Meliá Las Antillas. We noted that your stay at the hotel was affected by the A/C at the room. We kindly inform you that we had some functioning problems with general A/C equipment during your stay with us and we want to inform you that we already solved this matter. We regret that this situation might have affected your opinion about our hotel and we sincere apology for the difficulties you encountered during your stay.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer service levels.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cuba is wonderfull, you must see Havana and other towns in Cuba. Hotel was very nice, clean. Food was excelent, we always can choose what we want- meat, fish, pasta, pizza, etc. Beach was beautiful, but we had o problem to find a free lounger. We think that people left a towel in the evening on lounger, so they reserved lounger for a next day. It was unfair! Staff, drinks, trips- very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dasenka p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear dasenka p,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel, the Meliá Las Antillas and for your nice notes. Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Melia Las Antillas.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's all about perspective I guess ... I've met a lot of people there that were very satisfied with everything and they keep coming back to this resort.

For me, I got sick like crazy and it took a month to get rid of the bug once back home ... i.e. the food was really not good.

It's not a "wanna go back" for me. Althought, some kitchen and bar staff were excellent and very customer oriented, friendly and passionnate about their job!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoyooBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest BoyooBe,
Many thanks for your time and for share your impressions and your own perspective about your stay.
Please feel free to contact us.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A wonderful resort to visit. Welcomed by warm caring people. Rooms were clean and stocked daily. I've hear a lot of negative remarks with regards to the food served in Cuba. This was my first visit and the meals served at Melia Las Antellia were fantastic! Everything was fresh and delicious. All the people working at the resort are warm, caring individuals. Meeting them and hearing their stories made my stay that much more enjoyable. I will most definitely return for a second visit. Shout outs to a few of my favs...Candido! Tutti Frutti! And most of all Roy, thanks for the laughs and good times (miss your face). It was a pleasure meeting you all. Until next year, take care xo

B

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest Brandi J,
It is good to read that you spent a wonderful holiday on your first visit to Meliá Las Antillas. We are happy to know that you appreciated the meals offer at our restaurant and all your comments about the staff. Thank you very much for this.
We will waiting for your next visit and please do not hesitate in contact us.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful Hotel and beaches. Excellent food, plenty of variety, lots of bars and places to eat open pretty late. Well maintained gardens and ponds. Nice clean pool, close to the beach. Lot of amenities and activities. Nice view from most of the rooms. Nice open floor plan, good size rooms but air-conditioning barely worked, not much of water pressure in shower, maybe because we were on top (5th.) floor. Restaurant staff was great, some bar staff okay, but front desk not very polite. Other than that great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco S, Director General at Melia Las Antillas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest Gk A,
Many thanks for your nice notes about your recent stay at Meliá Las Antillas. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all the services. We look forward to welcome you soon again.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
0.2 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.5 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,573 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Antillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Antillas

Address: Autopista Sur, Carretera Las Morlas, Km 14, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#11 Family Hotel in Varadero
#12 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: £126 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Las Antillas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four-Star Plus beach resort covering an area of 6 000 m², with rooms distributed in a modern fivestory building and thee-story bungalows.The hotel is situated beachfront, 35 km from the Varadero airport; 40 km form the city of Matanzas and the Tropicana Matanzas Cabaret; 14 km from the town center; 4.5 Km from the Plaza America Convention Center; 5 km from the Varadero Golf Club and only 100 metros from the Dolphinarium.Located in Varadero facing a fabulous strip of beach• Comfortable and cool ambience• Conceived only for adults and youths over 16 years of age.• Central building and bungalows surrounded by green areas and gardens with artificial lakes, pergolas and small wooden bridges.• Main lobby with natural hanging gardens offering a beautiful view of the second lobby on the ground floor and of the manicured hotel gardens.• Junior Suites with balconies offering views of the swimming pool and the surrounding hotel gardens.• Large swimming pool with Jacuzzi, cascades, wading area and platforms with palapas for relaxing or administering massages.• Recreation area and outdoor amphitheater, ideal for a varied cultural activities• Terraces -gardens, with promenades, pergolas, palapas, lakes and parking area for greater enjoyment of outdoor activities.• Varied culinary offers with a la carte and buffet restaurants, bars and fun pub.• VIP Area, offering exclusive services and attentions to clients accommodated in Junior Suites Superior and Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Las Antillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Antillas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Antillas
Beaches Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing