We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramon Ramon !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Sirenas Coral Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ramon Ramon !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I was very impressed with the customer service that we received from Ramon he made us feel comfortable from the day that we arrived.answering all of our questions he was very professional and a great asset to this hotel, very knowledgeable.also to the lady that was serving drinks at the beach with a flower in her hair she had a great smile and was always glad to serve you. The coconut man Manuel so genuine . I would like to thank them for making my first travelling experience a positive one. Also to the room service lady with the light coloured hair I will miss her bed making and fresh laundered towels in different designs,and her smiling face..

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 2227 good average room 2106 bright spacious suite pool view 2224 ocean view no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19Carmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol C, Manager at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Ms Carmen

We are pleased to receive your valuable opinion about your experiences in our Hotel, thank you very much for letting us know, it is a very important tool to keep working with high standards.

Is great to know you have left our hotel happy and satisfied, that’s the main objective of our staff. For sure we will let Ramon and Manuel know about your review.
Sol Sirenas Coral family will love to have you back in your next visit to Varadero.

My best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,523
    1,062
    640
    525
See reviews for
1,263
1,752
230
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Sol Sirenas-Coral. The service on the Coral side was so great last year we couldn't wait to return this year. There were 5 adults in our group (parents and children) and we traveled January 31- February 8, 2014 via WestJet Vacations. Overall we had another excellent vacation. The service on the Coral side of the resort continues to far exceed that of the Sirenas side, from the front desk to the bar service and restaurant (Elise) the Coral staff could not have been more helpful even though we were technically booked through Sirenas. The Sirenas staff could learn a lot from them. Olga & Adis from the pool bar and Damien, Enrique & Panchero from the lobby bar deserve special mention. Thank you to Ekaterina for assisting with changing our room accommodations to a family suite with 2 members booked into the concierge hotel, Casa de los Cosmonautas. The staff at the Cosmonautas could not do enough to make us feel welcome when we visited our family members there. Special mention to Analise/Alexis and Tania/Hanoii for this welcome. Rosaria from the concierge desk of Coral was extremely helpful throughout our stay, thank you. I would be amiss if I didn't mention the entertainment staff. Arbey is very outgoing and great at engaging the guests around the pool in the afternoons. We always looked forward to his activities and his happy contagious manner. While Arbey was missed on his day off, Danielle made an admirable effort to fill in. We already miss this mid afternoon break. The food this year was a step up from last year and we had no complaints. We will definitely look at this resort next year when booking our winter get-away, possibly 2 weeks instead of 1. The beaches of Varadero are the best we have ever seen. I know my husband & I are looking forward to booking into the Casa de los Cosmonautas in 2015 for our 30th anniversary. Wishing we were still there!

Room Tip: Family suites have a small living room/kitchenette area with a full bedroom on either side, each wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol C, Manager at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Christine C

A warm hello from Cuba and beautiful Varadero.
On behalf of all of us at Sol Sirenas Coral I would like to thank you for your very nice comments and feedback. We have shared your comments with all our staff and it really encourage us to continue to do better.
we are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay, I have passed your regards and compliments to all staff at Cosmonautas as well.

With warmest regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Was our first time to Cuba and will definitely not be our last. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a junior suite which was a short walk to beach and all amenities.
There were so many choices at the restaurants that I can't understand all the negative comments about the food. We even had all you can eat grilled lobster and crab one night !!!
The staff at the resort was excellent from the front desk to the waitresses, bartenders, maids and the grounds keepers. I have found that Cubans are some of the friendliest people in the world. Nightly entertainment and music all day was a nice touch.
Overall stay was excellent. Resort could use some cosmetic work but it didn't bother me for the 2 weeks I was there.

Don't listen to very negative people and their comments. They obviously expected 4 or 5 star Canadian style and of course didn't get it as they were in Cuba. I went with no expectations and came away with a beautiful experience not to mention an excellent relaxing holiday.
Stayed in room 4111 from Jan.22 thru Feb.5 2014.
Thanks to all the Staff and Management for making my visit a great one.

Ken

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ken525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Director General at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear ken525. Thank you for your visit and your recommendation and grettings to my team, we have been very busy and your words help us to keep working hard. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I am a Senior and vacationed with my Adult son. Upon arrival we asked for an upgrade to a Junior suite for more privacy and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful. Our room # 4111 was clean ,comfortable, and quiet.
The Buffet had a wide selection of food, from salads, fruit, pasta,chicken, fish, pork, beef, assorted veggies, beans and fresh bread and rolls.One night we had grilled Lobster and Crab which was delicious.
I have read the negative comments made by a few other tourists and can't believe we are talking about the same hotel, in summing up I would like to say that we had a wonderful stay at your hotel and found all the staff to be very courteous, friendly and helpful.
We hope to be able to go back again.
Sincerely
Joan and Ken S.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorRSSC, Director General at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Joan S. Thank you for your visit and your compliments. We work for many different nationalities and we try to offer intentational food, I am happy you enjoyed our services. Kind regards. Manuel Vazquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just came back from Sol Sirenas Coral hotel. The hotel is certainly not four stars, but it is good in terms of location, and value for the money. Food was average due to the fact that the selection was not that great, but nobody was hungry. The beach was great and the water crystal clear, and that was what we were looking for. The whole resort was overall clean, but needed some more detailed maintenance. Room was just ok, we had a fridge, safe, ac, tv...enough of what we needed. What we truly disliked were smokers everywhere and check out time at noon, since we had to wait 13 hours with bags out of our room. Overall, average to good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dare888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The good reviews here are well deserved and I'd like to add some comments from my recent trip last week. The property is called Sol Sirenis Coral but it's composed of 3 parts - Coral, Cosmonautas, Sirenis which all share the same grounds but the Cosmonautas being one white building between the Coral and Sirenas complexes.

The Cosmonautas section is the higher end facility with concierge services, private dining areas and reserved beach umbrellas and chairs that are not accessible by guests of the Serenis and Coral in general (we were chased away by a valet from the empty umbrellas reserved for this facility as they are not clearly marked)

The Coral section is where we stayed in one of the older villas, closest to the beach (the one that houses the Club House beach towel, swap booth) where in general all the buildings, entrance, main buffet restaurant show more of their age than either the Serenis or Cosmonautas areas.

Our building needed a paint job with many large patches of peeled paint, warped or missing ceiling sections and a portion of the building closed off - for much needed renovations. There are no elevators in this building - the exercise up the stairs is much appreciated but be prepared to haul your suitcases up several flights of stairs if you don't have a porter. Also this building is the darkest at night (meaning not well lit, dark entrance and hallways) compared to all the other sections. The room we had on the top floor was clean but very drab, which was not a problem as you don't really spend the time in the rooms. We got a 1.5L bottle of water per day - all other drinks and alcohol served at the various bars. Some days there was no hot water (for our building) but the 'cold' water is generally luke warm so it wasn't a hardship when the hotter water wasn't availble.

The Sirenas side appears to be much newer both on the interior and exterior, with better lighting (meaning fewer dark areas, and no missing bulbs) and finishes, fresh paint, impressive entrance lobby and bar areas, cleaner look and nicer rooms. The buffet in this section serves nearly the same food as the Coral buffet but there is greater attention to the presentation and layout of the dishes on the Sirenas side, which makes it feel more like a restaurant and less like a cafeteria (which is the feeling I got eating in Coral buffet). I tasted practically everything and I never got sick. In general the food is bland but there is a wide selection and some items are tasty.

The staff in general are friendly but some are more attentive than others in the restaurants. We tipped (1 - 2 CUC - Cuban Convertible Pesos) at every meal to the more attentive servers but its up to you. We tried to give tips to other staff but all the people who work behind the scenes (cooks and chefs, gardener, the guys who stack the beach chairs) are far less visible and we didn't know how / where to approach them to offer something.

At times some of the grounds staff will approach you - They start by asking you where you're from then they make a simple request. We assumed they would be asking for money but in each case the requests were much more basic: one asked for toothpaste (for whatever remained in the tube at the end of our stay), another asked for gum, another asked for clothes and one guy asked if we would give him the equivalent CUC in exchange for a $5 Canadian bill that someone gave him as a tip.

We learned that there are 2 types of currency - the Pesos that Cubans use and the CUC Cuban Convertible Pesos that tourists use. But the locals cannot buy all of their products with the local Cuban currency - they must use CUC ('tourist' currency) to buy many other products like meat, etc. Since they earn regular pesos and the conversion of those to CUC is far too costly, receiving tips from tourists is the only practical way to get CUC pesos.

Enterainment - on the Coral side there is a stage where there is nightly entertainment singing, dancing, etc. Many of the shows in my opinion were very good - professional performers and entertaining shows. A few of them were like talent shows with audience participation, which were not worth the time so on those nights you might go off resort.

Internet - there is limited internet access available in a business room on the Sirenas side of the complex. Two computers available and you must buy an access card with login/password combo good for 30 min of internet (about 6 CUC). But the hotels get a limited supply of internet access cards from the provider so they 'run out' of internet later in the week, We tried to buy cards on Friday, Sat and Sun with no success. There is no wifi.

Airport (Varadero) - when departing you provide your tourist VISA to the ticket agent to get your boarding pass, then you line up in a separate queue to pay the airport departure tax (25 CUC), then you clear customs (verification of your passport, boarding pass and stamp saying you paid the departure tax), then you clear security (metal detectors etc.). After security you will be in the departure area where you can exchange money (convert the last of your CUC to your home currency), buy souvenirs and drinks / food. Note that the food selection is really limited in the departure area of the Varadero airport - sandwiches such as ham+cheese, tuna (about 4.5 CUC), Pringles (6 CUC - $7 CAD) for a can, and drinks - that's it. I didn't see any hot food of any kind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Serenas section of this facility if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited Varadero 7 times since 2001, and this was our 7th time at this hotel complex as well. Four times we stayed in the Coral as a couple but since our daughter was born we stayed at Sirenas 3 times because it is more family-friendly. My mother also traveled with us (the last 3 times), and since she is 78 years old Sirenas is definitely better for us (more even ground, less steps and stairs). This time we were in rooms 7534 and 7536, had a very nice view of the mini-disco area and partial ocean view. It is true that hotel is dated and some rooms have various issues on malfunctioning doors or bathroom elements, but overall it is good. Our room was maintained very clean, made did a very good job, always bottled water in the room, and fresh clean towels. Previous years several times we had issues with rooms, but staff was always accommodating, and we were happy even if we had to change the room.

Overall, this hotel offers excellent value for the money. The hotel grounds are very well maintained, palm trees regularly trimmed, grass perfectly cut, not a little piece of litter around. The landscaping layout is very pleasing with palm trees around the pool. A very good change is the addition of tables, chairs and parasols to the area at the beach restaurant at Sirenas side, I like it very much!
The food was excellent as always with huge variety to choose from:

Breakfast - 3 kinds of cheese, at least three kinds of sandwich-ready deli meats, fruits in syrup, condiments, salads, donuts, milk yogurt, pancakes made on the spot, French toast, omelette station where they make you an omelette of your choice, poached eggs, boiled eggs, steamed veggies, quiche, French fries, beef, wieners, pineapple/w ham, meat balls, cooked beans, fried bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs. There’s also a coffee station where you can make your own coffee, coffee/w milk, cappuccino, hot chocolate or tea. There is at least 3 kinds of fruits, 5 kinds of cereal, variety of sweet pastries and a selection of breads.

There is an excellent offer for lunch and dinner as well:

Dinner – 8 kinds of cheese, deli meats, chicken soup, 8 kinds of seafood salad, pasta station where pasta is prepared on site, ready pasta, 5 kinds of pickles, variety of pizzas, 5 kinds of fresh fish + calamari to choose from and they grill it for you on the spot, paella, fresh hamburgers, sausages & other meat prepared to your taste on site, rice, pork, 2 kinds of ready fish, excellent cassava root, plantains, beans, green peas, beef stew, white rice, eggplant, various greens, phenomenal chicken which actually has texture (compared to even organic chicken in Canada that doesn’t have that kind of texture), crab meat dish, variety of breads, 6 kinds of fruit, 10 kinds of cake and pastry, 10 kinds of cold salads, 4 kinds of ice-cream/ w choice of chocolate, caramel, strawberry or vanilla syrup to drizzle it with!

I’m sure I missed to mention something but this is like “average” food selection for you to indulge in, and there are still A la carte restaurants you can enjoy as well.
If you don’t feel like going to restaurant for lunch, you can just grab paella, roasted pork or chicken at the beach bar just beside the beach.

Yaima and Yuleidys took good care of us just to mention them among all other waiters and waitresses who all did an excellent job.
“Animacion” team is great as well, they are doing very good job every day in animating guests, they teach you salsa on the beach, play volleyball or doing aqua-gym. Some of those people you can see in the evening as well taking part in night teather show which means they work from early morning to late night! There is people on the beach to help you in bringing and setting up a chairs on the beach.
All in all, I can’t praise this hotel enough, it is really good value for the money. People are different and have different expectations and if you are not terribly picky about the room, if you are looking for amazing beach and crystal blue warm waters and great food and great people - than this is a place for you. If you have problem with the room, just ask and they’ll do everything to accommodate your needs. If anything is broken they send technician within minutes to repair it.

The only thing that would be nice is to be able to reserve Sirenas rooms in advance, at this point, at least for us in Toronto, we can only make a request to stay in Sirenas, and then they give us a room when we arrive, but frequently the first night we stay in Coral and change room the next day, this is the only drawback at this point.

Anyway, we will be back for the 8th time this coming April! Hasta la vista, Viva la Cuba :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sol C, General Manager at Sol Sirenas Coral Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Sirenas Coral again.

Cordially.
Lati Naimi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1231.2 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1247.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Sirenas Coral Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Sirenas Coral Resort

Property: Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Address: Las Americas Ave. and K St., Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#30 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Sirenas Coral Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four Star resort with 651 rooms. Located alongside the beach in Varadero. Hotel complex surrounded by tropical gardens which convey an informal atmosphere. The property excels for its superb entertainment program. Recommended for families traveling with children.Guest Rooms651 rooms: 505 Standard, 63 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior, 55 Junior Suite, 6 Suite, 12 Family SuiteDining7 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 8 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Sirenas Coral Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Sirenas Coral Hotel Varadero
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Varadero
Sol Sirenas Coral Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing